256GB RAM in old MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fhenry, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. fhenry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    Which model are you referring to?

    I believe the 2010-2012 models can go as high as 128GB only and that is only with Mavericks.
     
  3. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #3
    yes in theory, is it possible to install 256 GB?
     
  4. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #4
    It's not just in theory, Intel has validated 32GB RDIMMs for Westmere-EP (X5600) processors here. Just scroll down to the very bottom to see that Samasung 32GB RDIMM was tested. Since Mavericks only recognizes 128GB, what's the point to install more than that? If you plan to use more than 128GB RAM, any Windows workstation with 12 or more memory slots is a better choice.
     
  5. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #5
    it is just for my curiosity, the mac pro can hold 256 GB probably when the os will be update !
     
  6. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Where are you seeing these 32GB RDIMMs for sale?
     
  7. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #7
    Why would you need 256GB of RAM?!? Thats the size of most SSDs now. :eek:

    I thought 64GB was a lot and 128GB was overkill.
     
  8. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #8
  9. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
  10. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
  11. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #11
    I thought OS X could address 192 GB ram or something like that.
     
  12. sunsetsothickly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #12
    Does that have any implications for the 48GB limit in the single processor 4,1 and 5,1? Can we now go to 96GB?
     
  13. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #13
    The servers in my vSphere cluster are all at least 512 GiB.

    All new servers that I buy have a minimum of 128 GiB - more if the application needs it.

    I'm starting to upgrade my group's workstations to systems with 64 GiB, and option for up to 256 GiB.

    Your question is a slightly updated version of the "why would anyone need more than 640 KiB" quote wrongly attributed to Bill Gates.

    Just because you run tiny programs, doesn't mean that everyone runs tiny programs. ;)
     
  14. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #14
    Guess I was thinking of it as a personal/production computer, not a server. Now it makes sense.
     
  15. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #15
    Some of my people have 256 GiB personal systems - it depends on what you're doing.

    Which is why I've said that the 64 GiB limit for the new Mini Pro is a joke. 64 GiB - get real.
     
  16. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #16
    Probably yes, but somebody has to test it
     
  17. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #17
    From all that we know about it, I believe the CPUs memory controllers can't address more than 16GB each. one thing to test might be using a 5600 series CPU in a single socket board and seeing if they work with 4x16GB.
     
  18. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #18
    As usual your trying to sell your usual FUD about the Mac Pro which we caught caught you doing once before.

    http://blog.macsales.com/23397-owc-...-to-double-the-ram-vs-factory-maximum-offered

    It will go up to 128GB
     
  19. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #19
    Really doubt it. The 48GB limit seems to be a hardware limit for the Xeon 3500/3600 series processors, and using 32GB memory modules won't change it. Actually I'm a bit surprised no one mentioned that Intel lists the max memory size for Xeon W3680 is 24GB as specified here. So getting 48GB actual limit isn't so bad. On the other hand, Intel lists 288GB as max memory for Xeon X5680 here and 144GB for W5590 here. As Umbongo suggested, try the 5500/5600 processor in a SP system if you are curious.
     
  20. WMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #20
    What makes you say that? Mavericks raised the 96GB limit imposed by Mountain Lion, but I've never read what they raised it to. I would think they would go higher than that, for future-proofing.

    Ultimately, we'd have to have OWC or someone else test the 32GB sticks in the 4,1/5,1 models. The CPU might support it but it's unclear if the firmware does.
     
  21. rdsii64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #21
    We are having a discussion about multiple gigs of ram. I remember when 512 megs was something to brag about. We have come a long way.
     
  22. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #22
    Since Apple never published any official memory upper limit, the statement is based on this link so far. OWC is already selling the 32GB RDIMM modules for nMP. If Mavericks can go beyond 128GB, I'm pretty sure OWC would make a big deal and let us know. Or they are still in the process of testing the upper limit? Maybe I should revise my earlier statement to "Mavericks so far can recognize 128GB pending OWC's further testing and revision".
     
  23. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #23
    it can be tested with windows 8... let wait and see !
     
  24. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #24
    Not sure what you mean. Microsoft has already tested the physical memory limit on each version of Windows client and server here. Unlike OS X, there is no artificial limit imposed on the 64-bit Windows and theoretically could address 2^64 bytes, the 512GB and 4TB are the actual memory tested and guaranteed to work. If anyone wants to spend over $4,000 to find out what we already know, that's fine.
     
  25. fhenry thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #25
    may owc can do a test !
     

Share This Page