27" Retina iMac supports 64gb RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dcmontgomery, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. dcmontgomery macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #1
    Hello. Long time lurker, first time poster. Been waiting for a long time for new iMacs to come out to replace my 2009 Mac Pro.

    I've read on a few posts, but nothing in detail, that the new 27" Retina iMacs support 64GB of RAM even though the Apple store only allows you to upgrade to 32GB.

    So is this true? If I were to purchase a model with the base amount of RAM, could I buy 64GB of RAM from a 3rd party? OWC, Crucial? If so, who would you recommend and would that type of RAM be available anytime soon?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #2
    I think Skylake supports DDR4. Too bad they didn't up to that spec though I guess.
     
  3. dcmontgomery thread starter macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #3
    So you're saying Skylake supports 64GB, but the new Retina iMacs still use DDR3 meaning 64GB is not possible? Sorry if these are dumb questions. I'm looking to buy an iMac soon and max out the RAM so I'd like to know if the max is 32 or 64. Thanks!
     
  4. redheeler, Oct 13, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    Yes, the max is still 32 GB because the memory is still DDR3. Edit: The new Retina iMac supports 64 GB RAM. See http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/13/27-inch-imac-supports-64-gb-ram/
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    Last year's Retina iMac actually supports running 1866 MHz DDR3 RAM at native speed, so they really changed nothing. I too am surprised they didn't include support for DDR4 on a Skylake iMac.
     
  6. Alesc macrumors 6502

    Alesc

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #6
    Even the late 2013 non Retina supports 1866MHz memory ;)
    The memory controller is in the CPU. Haswell CPU (late 2013 gen) can handle 2400MHz RAM modules (the fastest SODIMM RAM DDR3 RAM is 2133MHz though).
    [​IMG]
    As the memory controller is still in the CPU and as DDR3 and DDR4 SODIMM modules have the same connectors, I wouldn't be surprised the last iMac supports DDR4 modules...
     
  7. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #7
  8. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    This is correct. It makes me wonder though why Apple didn't try to cash in on that though.
    http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/13/27-inch-imac-supports-64-gb-ram/
     
  9. dcmontgomery thread starter macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #9
    Woohoo! Looks like 64GB is a reality. Is Crucial offering 64GB kits for the new iMacs now? And if I wanted to pick some up, can anyone point me in the right direction or at least offer me some guidance on finding compatible memory. Thanks!
     
  10. akiraboi macrumors member

    akiraboi

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    I guess I'm wondering about the cost/benefit ratio of upgrading to 64GB of RAM, assuming it's possible in the new 27" iMacs. My gut tells me that unless you are rendering video or graphics there won't be much of a performance gain. My gut also tells me that a 64GB RAM kit will be quite expensive.

    EDIT: Just looked and OWC will sell the 64GB RAM kit for $1,195. I very much doubt anyone will see enough benefit from it to justify the cost.
     
  11. dcmontgomery thread starter macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #11
    Video, graphics and photo editing will be the primary workloads on this machine. As someone who is typing on an eight year old Mac Pro, I don't mind paying more upfront to make the machine last longer as I don't upgrade or change machines often.

    I can't imagine Crucial being near $1,200 for 64GB, but maybe I'm wrong. I thought OWC prices were at a significant premium over what Crucial sells their chips for.
     
  12. electorate macrumors member

    electorate

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    Happy to hear about the support of 64gb of RAM.. Although I'd like it to be a bit cheaper so I'm waiting to hear about anything from Crucial.
     
  13. dcmontgomery thread starter macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #14
    Crucial's compatibility checker says those chips are not compatible with the late 2015 iMacs. Is that because they have yet to do testing so all chips fall under the "non-compatible" moniker? I assume the specs from the chip you linked to would work, but before I drop a lot of monies, I just want to be sure. I suppose Crucial will be releasing compatibility data for their memory regarding these new iMacs soon?
     
  14. cariacou macrumors 6502a

    cariacou

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #15
    if you get 64gb of ram, why not getting a mac pro?
    it's probably a little more expensive, but you'll have a better overall gpu+cpu & other components instead of just 64gb of ram?
    or did the ram price just drop overnight?
     
  15. dcmontgomery thread starter macrumors newbie

    dcmontgomery

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    #16
    Even with the 64GB upgrade, it's cheaper than buying a Mac Pro, adding 64GB in RAM in aftermarket then having to go out and buy a 5K monitor. I know I don't NEED 5k, but it's really nice to have and since I'm coming from a nine year old machine, my goal is to make this last a long time so I want to have 5k now so I'm at least on par with things as screens progress to the 4k/5k levels as normal down the road.

    I also like the idea of the all-in-one as I'm really trying to reduce clutter. The back of my current Mac Pro and Cinema Display looks like a rat's nest of cords and power blocks.
     
  16. yuhong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    #17
    Yes, I believe this is probably incorrect. I am surprised they would update their site to mention it at all this soon.
     
  17. yuhong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    #18
    AFAIK the price difference between 4x16GB RDIMMs (that the Mac Pro uses) and 4x16GB UDIMM/SO-DIMMs (which the new iMac can use) seem to be $300-400 I think. The UDIMMs are more expensive as they have to use 8Gbit chips.
     

Share This Page