2g iphone with edge service?! wtf?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by helios16v, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. helios16v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    mkay well to start off i had an old 8gb 2g iphone i got back in august 2007, brought it to canada, unlocked and jail broke it so i knew what i was doing somewhat, then i took it apart and painted it lime green and back, about a week after i had it all back together it got stolen and that was back in january. 2008.

    i just got another 8gb 2g iphone yesterday and i now have my powerbook g4 so i can unlock 2.1 firmware.

    did that using pwnapple and now i dont know whats wrong with it.
    its..glitchy so to speak..
    on the phone icon theres the red circle that says you've missed a call but it has no number in it and when i press it the red circle is on voice mail(which im not signed up for on rogers) so i dont know how to make that go away.

    secondly i some how have edge service?!
    im also not signed up for edge service either so i dont know whats going on, weirdest part is it works, i seen the e next to my service name and i was like wtf m8? edge ?!
    so i opened safari and BAM google pops up so it is working an i remembered hearing about when the iphone first came out some guy in canada was using an iphone on rogers and he had no edge service just like i do and he hacked and unlocked it and then claimed to get a bill for in the $10,000 range because of the edge service being on non stop.
    and because he didnt have edge service before it was using his long distance like normal cell phone internet, now i know i can get unlimited internet from rogers for 8$ a month, i just need to know i this whole 10k phone bill thing is true because then im going to need to keep my phone off unless im in a wireless internet range which is useless, i could just use my home phone.

    also with 2.1 firmware i havent found an app that lets you turn edge on of off either so i think im s.o.l on this one

    plus at rogers if you bring in an iphone they ban you lol so i cant bring it in with it and be like yo wtf is this g?
    cause then they would look at me like im retarded then ban me then im s.o.l again because the only 2 services that are here are tbay tel which is cdma and rogers which is gsm so i need to find out a way, to get edge service activated on my simcard without rogers knowing its for an iphone, what other phones have edge service that ARE aloud in canada?
     
  2. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #2
    A few seconds of Googleing later, and we find this gem of a site:
    http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/

    I bet they have just about any answer you'd need.

    EDIT: Why are you using pwnapple? Pwnagetool is by and far the best unlocking solution, IMO.
     
  3. SkippyThorson macrumors 65816

    SkippyThorson

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Utica, NY
    #3
    In the settings, turn on Airplane Mode. It essentially turns your iPhone into an iPod Touch, without any connections. Everything gets turned off - as if you were in an airplane, hence the name. No connection to anything.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Use Pwnage tool. It is the original tool created by the iPhone Dev Team. Links can be found in both stickies in this forum. Use the link in my signature to get faster to one of those stickies.

    Also, Restore your whole iPhone from the ground up and set up as new. That will eliminate any settings interfering with the phones functions and also will reset whatever is wrong.
     
  5. helios16v thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    pwnapple is another name for pwnage tool
    thats why the logo is a pineapple, pwnapple, get it?
    yeah i didnt get it at first too, its a dumb joke..lol
    anywho i did that again trying to put on 2.0fw to see if there was any games or anythin for that and pwnapple kept failing at writing the 2.0 cfw for the iphone so i went back to 2.1 and i still says i have a voice mail and edge still works so nothing has changed.

    when the glue for my lcd comes in the mail im going to downgrade to 1.1.4 since that seems to be the best fw for me out of them all so far, with 2.x theres no games and i dont see how its better then 1.1.x fw since theres hundreds more free apps for the old fw.
     
  6. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    It would be strange if you had 3g service,no? 2g means edge,doesn't it?
    I don't understand your fear,is your sim not Canadian? Turn the data roaming off, on my 3g it's under settings/general/network
    And if you edit the VPN I believe it's possible you will no longer have any data.
    Turn push off, I believe that uses your data and just don't use safari/maps YouTube etc
     
  7. helios16v thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    just replying to old threads, this turned out to be edge enabled because with the new firmware 2.1 where i live in canada finally got offical service on rogers so it automatically hooked me up to there edge service when before iphones weren't aloud on rogers but i did it anyways.

    turns out they called us telling me we had an almost $3000.00 phone bill and they wanted to know if we were aware of this and we said no so they waved the bill for us and put a lock on the edge service until i got an actual iphone plan

    which i did

    -Ben
     
  8. Niicolas09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #8
    Omg!!! Same Here!!!

    Ok so I have a iphone 16GB 2G (first version) and my internet works when im on the road and everywhere... wich means it works on the 2G network of ROGERS in canada. But I do not have a data plan.. (i have a blackberry plan like bb messenger and emails) but not internet for the iphone or anything... So im not using it alot but ive used it like 5 times but not for long... (i.e. i went on facebook twice and as soon as it logged in i exit) and 2 times for a photo on a website. :S I hope im not getting a huge bill or my mom will freak out :S

    But the thing is.. isnt the iphone 2G not EDGE like rogers and fido enable? like wtf?!?!? seriously... I took the 2G over the 3G because edge wasnt working... AND NOW IT WORKS!!!!!! like wtf?!?!?

    HELPPP!!!!!!!

    And what about if i get charged... how much would it be for like 5 pages? :S
     

Share This Page