3 Beeps after inserting Crucial Memory 4x2gb Mac Mini Server

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Sibbe.85, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. Sibbe.85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #1
    So - Before I read about the issue, I though buying the Memory from Crucial would be a good choice.

    But now I´m not too sure, I keep getting these beeps after inserting the memory. Has many experianced this?

    Corsair I hear is not good either - What do I do now? Samsung?
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Make sure the memory is seated properly.

    Does the memory configuration window pop up when you boot up to the desktop ?
     
  3. Sibbe.85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #3
    I inserted the memory the first thing i did, as in first boot I had with the computer. Is this the issue?

    ----------

    No screen - just beeps
     
  4. Funkatronic macrumors 6502

    Funkatronic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #4
    Here's a link for the POST beep codes: Link

    3 beeps mean you probably haven't seated the RAM correctly, so just re-seat the RAM and you should be good to go. Should being the operative word here.

    If that doesn't work, try switching memory slots, and/or running Apple Hardware Test.
     
  5. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    I second that. When I upgraded my ram, apparently one was not quite seated all the way. After profiler failed to recognize all the ram I checked the ram again. To my surprise one was not fully seated and I remember being amazed at how tightly it fit in the slot. I know being new it may be tighter than what is expected but mine was very tight.

    @Apple
    BTW Apple, my power cord could barely be inserted with a lot of force. Too tight you silly, product designers. You are aware there are tools in Seimens NX CAD to check for part clearances, aren't you?
     
  6. Sibbe.85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #6
    i tried putting it back in a couple of times - still beeping, when i put in the original then there isnt any beeps.

    Is the curcial memory more sensitive when u install it? Do u have to be more careful?
     
  7. trevolly, Sep 19, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2011

    trevolly macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #7
    Faulty memory?? Try putting the memory in one chip at a time, booting each time. It's worth trying the memory in the different banks as well, I've had it once that a chip wouldn't work in a certain memory bank.

    Crucial memory is good memory - no more sensitive than any other memory I always recommend it.
     
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    if this is a 2010 mini crucial is so so in fact corsair is so so .

    if it is a 2011 mini gskill from newegg has been very good. I do alot of mini ram upgrades scores in fact. I have found the 2010 mini to be the pickiest of all minis.


    For the 2011 if the crucial does not work try gksill from newegg
     
  9. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #9
    it could be that either you didn't put it in all the way, or that they don't work btw. so if you can put the old ones in and it works, and you did your best to make the new ones work a couple of times, it sounds like if you have faulty RAM.

    Or wrong RAM, like higher speeds than the motherboard can handle
     
  10. Vermifuge macrumors 6502

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #10
    Are you kidding me? I have 6 sticks of Crucial DDR3 PC3-8500 Used in 2010 mins. Each one has installed and tested without issue. They have been running for nearly a year with this configuration.

    IMO that's not "so so" performance.
     
  11. Perihelion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #11
    Have you tried seating them in other slots? This happened to me once on a PC and all it took was to swap the chips into other slots and everything was fine afterwards.
     
  12. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #12
    I just installed some Corsair RAM in my MBP. My MBP had the 4GB DDR3 1067, and I updated it with the Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333 kit, no problems yet.
     
  13. wallstreetcrash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Not in properly I reckon, put back in your old ones to see if they work and mind the way you put it in.
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    I have used lots of sticks in the 2010 mac mini the micron/crucials that I received all did the 3 beep and f you move that the op is talking about. yet as I type this on my 2009 c2d iMac the 4 sticks of crucial work. That is so so to me. The only ram I found to be flawless in a 2010 mini has been samsung.

    now for 2010 minis I did less upgrades then either 2009 or 2011 minis. btw both the 2009 and 2011 minis have handled most any ram I have used. I can only speak for my experiences and I can say that 4 cruical/micron 4gb sticks did not work in any 2010 mini I used to test them with.
     

Share This Page