3 PowerMac G4's for $300? should i buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Eric Lewis, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #1
    1. 400Mhz Hard drive 1 - 9.54 GB Hard drive 2 - 42.92 GB
    512 MB sd ram, APG Graphics, Firewire, CD Rom
    Includes USB Keyboard & Optical USB Mouse
    O/S Version 10.28 Jaguar Installed ( no monitor )
    ( Includes original O/S disk ) loaded with software.

    2. 350Mhz, G-Force 9.55 GB Hard drive, 384 MB sd ram
    CD Rom, Iomega Zip 100, O/S 10.28 Jaguar installed
    Includes Keyboard & Mouse ( no monitor )
    ( Includes original O/S disk ) loaded with software

    3. 350Mhz, G4 25.53 GB Hard drive, 320 MB sd ram
    CD Rom/DVD-RAM, Iomega Zip 100,
    O/S 10.28 Jaguar installed
    ( Includes original O/S disk ) loaded with software
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Got some plans to run Mac OS?

    Note the lack of an X.
     
  3. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #3
    this should be in the buying tips/advice thread.

    These computers should run panther/jaguar fine.

    Do you have a need for three computers? This isn't a good deal as far as I am concerned.
     
  4. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #4
    it is cnd funds? how come its not a goo deal?
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I enjoy vintage hardware as well but it's pushing 8-9 years.
     
  6. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #6
    In my mind the package is worth a max of $200... by any realistic stretch of the imagination.

    If it was my $, I'd offer to pay $80 for everything and then let them chew on the offer. I'd buy at $100 if i really needed 3 computers.
     
  7. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #7
    its cnd money
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    *shrug*

    I wouldn't spend more then $200 on those towers either.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #9
    I'm canadian too. These go for 20-50 on craigslist. trust me, unless you live in europe this is NOT a good deal.
     
  10. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #10
    he originally wanted 150 each.....but i got them 3/300...so ill keep lowering
     
  11. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #11
    there is no craiglist with any macs near me
     
  12. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #12
    Why do you need 3? If you tell us your needs perhaps we may suggest something more appropriate.
     
  13. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #13
    i plan on just playing around with them..upgrading them with spare macparts around my house

    1) load one up with Music (and use as jukebox for parties)

    2) use one for basic internet

    3) use one to hack and play around and just learn more about macs etc
     
  14. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #14

    i just plain to play and mod it etc
     
  15. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #15
    No, no, no. Waste of money, time, and effort. Oh, and electricity, too.
     
  16. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #16
    in that case just get one. Upgrade it to panther, 1 gb ram and a 7200 rpm drive and you'll be set. I did that to the imac g3 in my sig
     
  17. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #17
    so get the 400mhz?
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    Only get the Power Mac G4 AGP.
     
  19. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #19
    Agreed.
     
  20. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #20
    what monitor will work?
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    VGA and ADC to DVI.
     
  22. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #22
    They are fun for playing around for some time, but I do think that you will get power hungry after a little bit, and after the cost of upgrades and other things here and there, an entry level mac mini is well suited for almost anything and more then these are. But I guess not for tinkering too much.
     
  23. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #23
    huh? so a vga monitor wont work? or what? im so lost?
     
  24. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #24
    You can plug in a VGA monitor OR a ADC monitor. If you want to use a DVI monitor, you have to get an ADC-DVI convertor.

    These machines will not support wide-screen format 20" monitors on DVI with the stock video card.

    The AGP machine is the only one worth buying - maybe for CAN$50. The others have the Yikes PCI graphics motherboard. Even so, it is limited to IDE hard drives of 120 Gb or less (and no SATA support, obviously). Without a DVD drive it will be a pain to install new OS's.

    The 'loaded with software' should not be a factor - unless you are getting the original CDs and serials and transfer of license, then any commercial software on it will be pirated.

    (BTW what's up with insisting it's Canadian dollars, as the rate is close to par, what diff does it make?)
     
  25. iCube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #25

Share This Page