3 weeks to decide on applecare

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MikePembo951, May 14, 2014.

1. MikePembo951 macrumors member

Hi,
    I'm still considering getting applecare for my MBA 2013 13" 8GB. I've got 3 weeks until my year of warranty is up (UK). I've had to use the warranty once to replace the entire top display part last November when the clutch cover came loose from the screen.

This has been my first mac so i've never really had much experience in terms of apple products and applecare for Macs.

As a student money is tight but as i'm studying Computer Science my laptop is pretty critical to my work and used every day.

Any thoughts? I'm stuck in two minds atm.

Thanks,
    Mike
    (UK)

2. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

You'll find many threads on this topic over the years which seem to break down fairly evenly on both sides of this debate; there are those, like me, who always insist on buying Applecare; others regard it as a waste of money and a money-making exercise on the part of Apple.

In any case, for Apple computers, and iPads, (but not iPods), I always get Applecare; I see it as giving me peace of mind for three years.

It also means that my 'buying cycle' tends to be based on a three year cycle (irrespective of what technological updates or innovations have taken place since I bought a computer).

I have found myself having to avail of it; my 2008 MBP needed repairs - the HDD died in late 2010, and Applecare dealt with that. Likewise, my 2010 MBA required both a fresh keyboard and a replacement for the Magsafe adaptor - both were dealt with under Applecare.

In fact, for me, Applecare has more than paid for itself, given the repairs that I have had done when availing of it.

This is because, Apple replacements are rather costly, should something go wrong.