3D Touch makes it hard to open links

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by J.C, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. J.C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #1
    Unless I turn 3D Touch off I find that half of the time when I tap a link it doesn't open. A tap is registered but it's seen as a very light press unless I'm really really deliberate. I've tried adjusting the sensitivity but the only way I can reliably open links is to turn 3D Touch off completely.

    Is this a common issue? I've tried the public betas to see if there is s software fix but nothing has changed. Perhaps it's actually a hardware problem with my 6S Plus?

    My Touch ID also randomly changes from working perfectly to not working at all. When it stops working I can't even set up a new fingerprint. The phone literally phone register a print at all.
     
  2. TonyC28, Nov 6, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015

    TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I'm experiencing this as well. The tap is registered because I get the visual feedback on the screen but I have to tap on the link several times before it opens. And I naturally push harder after the first or second try and then get a 3D Touch action.
     
  3. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
  4. vlinkz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #4
    I've had this happen too but really it's just because I am actually pressing harder. It's something I needed to do on older phones and has carried over to this.

    To fix it, just tap lightly...

    But don't you guys use 3D Touch a lot more than opening the link outright? I'm happy I can just peak into stuff.
     
  5. J.C thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #5
    It's definitely not from pressing too hard with my phone. I tap super lightly. No press at all. Still happens constantly. I hardly ever use the peak function. I wish it could be turned off.
     
  6. rijc99 macrumors 6502a

    rijc99

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    FEMA Region 9
    #6
    Why not turn the 3D Touch off then? Or adjust the sensitivity?

    It's in the accessibilities menu.
     
  7. J.C thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #7
    I think you didn't read my original post. Adjusting the sensitively makes no difference.

    Peek/pop isn't the only function of 3D Touch so I'd prefer not to turn it off. I particularly like the keyboard trackpad.
     
  8. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    It definitely happens to me a lot as well. I'm learning to just tap lighter. I think after not too long the muscle memory will set this straight.
     
  9. J.C thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #9
    That's why I'm thinking I could have a hardware issue. When this is happening I can very deliberately tap a link as lightly as humanly possible (only *just* making contact with the display) over and over again and the link still won't open.
     
  10. rotobadger macrumors 65816

    rotobadger

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #10
    Same problem here. Glad to hear it's not just me. I thought maybe something was wrong with my screen. Sometimes I have to touch a link three or four times to get it to register.
     
  11. nigameash macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Space: The Final Frontier
    #11
    I've experienced this too. I guess we're all just "tapping it wrong" :p
     
  12. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #12
    On a newspaper site that I visit the link will light up/highlight, so it's obvious that my screen press has registered. I then have to press it again in order to open the link. Before 3D Touch the link would have opened with one press. It doesn't happen all the time though and I can't say that it bothers me unduly.
     
  13. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #13
    Same. I just keep taping it over and over until it works.
     
  14. IphoneIssues macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #14
    Well, the problem might be that you shouldn't "tap" it. I always think of it as "touching" the links. When I think about tapping, I imagine a little more pressure.
     
  15. J.C thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #15
    You didn't read the post about tapping the link as lightly as humanly possible?
     
  16. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #16
    Yeah, this happens to me too. It's a mild annoyance as I'm sitting there dumb while waiting for nothing to happen. I've always thought it was because I set the 3D Touch sensitivity to the lightest setting.

    I have a theory: the 3D Touch system is a combination of both the minute deformation of the screen and accelerometer input. So, it's possible that occasionally the accelerometer readings will trigger a 3D Touch? Think of how the GarageBand instruments used to work previously (they can be played louder by pressing harder).

    Semantics. And I actually think of it being the other way around. A tap (think tap dancer) vs a touch which has a lingering component to it.
     
  17. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    I agree that there are numerous times when the tap registered as a 3D Touch and I had to tap again to get to the link. @OP, from your post it sound like you have an over sensitive 3D Touch that is ruining the whole experience, I'd definitely change my phone if 3D Touch is registering at the lightest of humanly possible touch
     
  18. J.C thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #18
    So I took my phone to Apple and they said something was definitely wrong. They replaced the phone and the replacement does the exact same thing. The issue is worst when I 3D Touch on an image in the browser or email, or press on the keyboard for the track pad. The trackpad comes up about 1 in 10 times. I have to press super hard on images before they peek/pop. But Live Photos that I take work perfectly. This must be a software issue.
     
  19. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #19
    I don't have this problem. I would recommend replacing it again.
     
  20. Rufuss Sewell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    You could peek and pop into every link. I do it just for fun ;)
     
  21. ianrip macrumors 6502

    ianrip

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    work:Oyu Tolgio, Home:LOS, From Scotland G15
    #21
    3D touch is great for some features, I like to quick launch/Peek apps,Multi task switching is excellent and the keyboard is great, but I don’t use it for opening links, it seems to take longer, I’ve tried the peek & pop, and I don’t like pressing it.
    Some customisation would help
     
  22. tmanto02 macrumors 65816

    tmanto02

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    Me too. Must all be tapping it wrong
     
  23. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    I do believe the pressure sensitivity on every iPhone is different to a certain extent. TS if the replacement is still troubling you, get it changed again..

    Dude? Wrong thread or?
     
  24. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #24
    I find peeking in links mostly useless because on most sites half the preview window is the site's logo and menu bar and maybe a sentence or two of the actual article can be seen.

    Love the feature everywhere else though.
     
  25. xsimplyjosh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #25
    For those having trouble with 3D touch.

    1) Put your finger on the link until you see a highlight
    2) After you see the link highlight or change slightly in color/appearance, then push a bit harder

    I noticed when I try to force press a link direct from the air to contact screen, it sometimes doesn't work too. Try the above hope it helps :)
     

Share This Page