4'000 $ Best buy gift card, what to do !?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by charlieroberts, Apr 23, 2009.

1. charlieroberts macrumors 6502a

charlieroberts

Hi, maybe someone has had a similar experience ?

I've been buying best buy gift cards for over two years now, totaling in 4'000 dlls.

Now I have a giant 4'000 dlls giftcard, and I want a mac pro !
    The problem is, I would love one of the BTO options...
    Can someone think of a way to buy this through best buy ??? They only list the base configurations, I don't mind anything else but the processors, from what I've heard are not easy at all to replace...

So any advice ? What would you do ?

2. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

Sorry to not answer your question, but why have you been collecting Best Buy cards? Do you get a deal when you buy them (say $15 buys you a $20 card?)

3. ButtUglyJeff macrumors 6502a

ButtUglyJeff

You know Apple has gift cards? Only Apple does custom configs, and maybe some local Authorized Dealers.....

4. theMaccer macrumors 6502a

theMaccer

I assume OP has been taking advantage of live.com's cashback promotion, but its only been going on for less than one year.

5. charlieroberts thread starter macrumors 6502a

charlieroberts

ok

The thing is, I buy them at my local Randall's, they don't sell Apple gift cards. And neither do any of the supermarket I shop in.

Why do I HAVE to buy them at a supermarket ?
    Well, I pay regular price, but I can disguise the purchase as a grocery purchase. Which my wife won't give me trouble about.

Don't judge, but that is the reason :)

6. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

SaSaSushi

No judgement at all but isn't your wife going to wonder where the brand new Mac Pro came from and how/how much you paid for it?? :p

7. charlieroberts thread starter macrumors 6502a

charlieroberts

well she's not very computer savvy, so it might go a little like this;

Me:Hey honey ! my old computer just died :confused: . I might have to buy a new one !