4GB DIMMs in 4 core 2009 MP ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kirkbross, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I bought 2x4GB DIMMs for my workplace 2009 MP 4 core (4,1) and I discovered later that 4 core 2009 Mac Pros only support 2GB sticks and a total of 8GB.

    macsale's RAM chart is misleading -- it says "8-core only" under certain upgrades, implying the other upgrades are fine for either 4 or 8 core. I should have checked Apple's website first. Arg.

    Long story short is that the box is acting odd. I have 4GB sticks in slots 1 & 3 and it registers 8GB. All is fine for a few hours but then a sudden, massive latency kicks in crippling the OS and forcing me to hard power off.

    1. Is this because I'm using 4GB sticks when it wants 2GB sticks?
    2. How in the world can a 2009 Mac support only 8GB of RAM?? Seems so... 32 bit...

    (this is my web development workplace comp and I'm reluctant to have my boss RMA the sticks for a 4x2GB upgrade).
     
  2. Tesselator, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you have your wires crossed here. The 4,1 supports 1GB, 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, and 16GB chips - just that I know of. And if I'm not mistaken (which I might be) that machine (4,1 with a single processor board) should support from 4 to 64GB total memory.

    So if your machine is acting strange it's something else. Bad RAM, RAM needs reseating, some software conflict, other?
     
  3. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #3
  4. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    I have the same machine (4,1 Mac Pro) as you, and before I even powered it on the first time, I opened it up, pulled the CPU tray, removed the 3x1GB sticks and replaced with 4x4GB sticks from OWC. Then about a year and a half ago, I sold off the 16GB kit and replaced it with a 32GB kit, also from OWC in the form of 4x8GB sticks. They all work fine.

    You may have bad RAM or some other problem. If you troubleshot the RAM sticks one by one and found a bad one, you can send it to OWC for an immediate replacement. I had one of the 4GB sticks from the 16GB kit that was bad from OWC when I first bought my Mac Pro, and they sent me a whole new set of 4x4GB sticks, letting me return the whole bad set after verifying my new set was good, so I know that OWC's customer service is excellent.
     
  5. kirkbross, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

    kirkbross thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    So does this mean 8GB "per slot" on Apple's website?

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4433#3

    EDIT: I've traced the latency problem to Apple Mail. In Activity Monitor it was building up RAM usage every time it fetched mail from my work's mail server. I had it set to check every minute and it was adding roughly 20MB every fetch, so after several hours, Mail was using up to 7.8GB of Real Memory, crippling the system.

    I deleted the com.apple.mail.plist file from user:Library:preferences and restarted Mail... now it seems to stop accumulating RAM at around 240MB.

    We'll see if that does it...
     
  6. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
  7. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    I don't go by Apple's outdated info, so I can't speak to the inaccuracies of something written before 16GB DIMMs came out. It's been proven by actual people physically using 16GB DIMMs that they work in single CPU Mac Pros. OSX only recognizes 48GB per CPU, whereas Windows will recognize and use 64GB on single CPU Mac Pros, including the 4,1 model. It's simply a fact.

    Now, I *have* heard mention that a single CPU Mac Pro might use 64GB if 16GB of it is used in a RAMdisk. I don't believe that to be true until I see evidence of it for myself.

    As far as Mail.app, well, that app was beyond annoying for me, so I deleted it. I'm a Gmail user, because it works seamlessly across my iPhone, Macs, Android and PC, even when using devices overseas. As soon as I read an email on my Android, it shows up as read on my iPhone and Macs a moment later, and vice versa. When I had Mail, it would ignore the fact that I'd read those emails already, and download/show me hundreds of unread emails in a never-ending stream of stupidity... not to mention the space it took up! I had to kill it.

    ----------

    3/6 sticks is 'triple-channel' and all that, but I find that filling the slots with more RAM is far more useful than the miniscule speed benefit of three channels over two of them.
     
  8. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #8
    correct, but you prob. wont notice a difference in day to day use.
     
  9. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #9
    4x 8GB chips works well in a single core 2009. Have been happy running at 32 for a while.
     
  10. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #10
    I have 4 x 4 GB in my Mac Pro 2009. They work without a problem. I was lucky: the invoice mentioned 1066 Mhz RAM speed but after my Hex 3.33 upgrade they show up as 1333 Mhz. :D
     
  11. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #11
    Anyone ever try 32GB dimms x 4 for a total of 128GB? I wonder if the memory controller for the single board will work with 32GB dimms?
     

Share This Page