4K on Old Mac Pros?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BeeRich33, Feb 19, 2014.

  1. BeeRich33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hi folks.

    Regarding this: http://tiamat.tsotech.com/4k-is-for-programmers

    4K at 39", even at 30 Hz refresh rate, is something I could use. I have a Mac Pro early 2008 that I would like to get onto this. I have two cards:

    ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
    ATI Radeon HD 4870

    The latter has shown to be able to do this with this type of 4k monitor. I am thinking the MiniDisplay Port has to be used, converting it to HDMI.

    But I am guessing. I have no idea what has to be done.

    Any insight appreciated on this. This looks pretty fantastic. Display costs are a mess right now. This thing will cost $500.

    Cheers
     
  2. handheldgames, Feb 19, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2014

    handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #2
    Amazon has the 39" seiki on sale for $400 on a regular basis.

    If you use AMD based cards, the drivers broken at the moment. You will need to make a franken cable: HDMI -> DVI Adapter to a Active DVI -> DP adapter to a DP->MDP adapter. Those are the parts I had around the studio and worked to get 30Hz # 3840x2160 working.

    The 680GTX is also a good pairing and HDMI actually works.
     
  3. BeeRich33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Hi there. I'm in Canada, so shipping something from the States can be costly on many fronts.

    Yeah, I'm interested in fudging my current card for that monitor as I'll probably be saving up for a new Mac Pro which means a move to Thunderbolt displays, which are huge costly. Franken is just fine.

    Hey thanks for the notes. I'm excited. :D

    Cheers



     
  4. BeeRich33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    OK, so I have been revisiting this option. What if I get a PCI Express video card with 1 GB VRAM with HDMI 1.4? You think this will work?

    Cheers
     
  5. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #5
    Please look at a 30Hz screen in person before. It would bother me a lot and is something that most people might be overlooking.
     
  6. BeeRich33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Sigh. This isn't for gaming. I am a developer. Real estate is what I'm after. Even 24 Hz works, much as I have seen today. Getting that resolution is the goal.
     
  7. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #7
    I don't game on my Mac either, yet 30Hz annoys me to no end (visible in on-screen transitions, mouse cursor, etc).
     
  8. thirdkind macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus
    #8
    Anybody know if 10.9.3 will support scaled resolutions when using 4K displays on old Mac Pros? I'm debating right now between a new MBP or a used, but maxed out, 5,1 Mac Pro. After using a MBP at work, I'm sold on the retina display. I'd love to get a pair of Dell UP2414Q displays and use them on the 5,1 Mac Pro, but not at the native resolution.
     
  9. BeeRich33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    I would gladly give up that little annoyance for a monitor that can give me that amount of real estate. Developers love real estate, and this massive screen is apparently very very nice.
     
  10. rdav, Apr 3, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015

    rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #10
    Seiki 40U4SEP-G02 Monitor: UHD/40"/DP.

    An alternative option? @60Hz.
    Seiki 40U4SEP-G02 [UHD/60Hz/40"/DP(1.3)/HDMI-2/VA?].
    This 40" tv/monitor should be out soon. Announcement & Specs here:
    http://techreport.com/news/26699/seiki-to-bring-4k-va-panels-to-the-desktop
    http://www.pcper.com/news/Displays/...-Ultra-HD-Monitors-HDMI-20-and-DisplayPort-13

    But it's already past the estimated release window of 2015-Q1, so we may have to wait for CE/Week(June).
    http://www.ceweekny.com - Still, interesting.
     
  11. ShawnF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    #11
    I have a 7950 and thinking of getting 4K. Does it work fine directly from mDP? I don't use HDMI.
     
  12. Pieterr, Apr 4, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015

    Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
  13. ShawnF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    #13
  14. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #15
    That Apple support document has no meaning for cMP. In Apple style thinking the 2012 MacPro stopped being built before 4K existed. Any 4K 60Hz support is a happy accident and will not be listed in any Apple support documents.

    While the Mac 7950 and the D700 are identical as far as base GPU chip, the MST support for 7950/70/R9 280/X has been "broken" on my Asus 321 ever since I updated the firmware from 1.00. It only works using Nvidia cards now, and that requires the hack I detailed in another thread. And that hack is not always stable.

    If you look at Apple's computers as a whole, many recent models have traded power in for looks. The nMP has already run out of upgrade ability with cMP able to beat it in many areas. The sealed 2014 Mini can't keep up on Multi-Core tasks when compared to 2012 4 core that was easily upgraded. The shiny new MacBook has moved BACKWARDS to 2011 era speed and requires you to unplug AC power if you wish to hook anything up with a wire.

    Precision high powered computing is being dropped in favor of Facebook friendly machines that more easily fit in a book bag. Real 4K or 5K support requires moving engineers back from designing Mickey Mouse watchbands and having them write drivers that recognize the EDID of all of the newest displays.

    Would actually be trivial for Apple but they clearly don't give a damn. The really sad thing is that this is easily proven, simply boot into Windows and most of these displays "just work".

    Does anyone else recognize how ridiculous that is? How do you run the latest and greatest display on a nMP, Apple's "flagship"? If you want 5K in the Dell UP2715K you have 2 choices, a nMP booted into Windows or a cMP running NVIDIA cards and using their "outlaw" driver that Apple can't be bothered to incorporate into the OS.

    Our only hope is that the iWatch is a mega-flop. If it takes off, watch Apple stores become even more like "Hello Kitty" shops with lots of smiling teenagers using Mom & Dad's credit cards to buy cute wristbands for $300.

    Best way to find good 4K support is to find some poor sap/brave soul who lists a SPECIFIC display and a SPECIFIC OS build and SPECIFIC drivers that works. Mimic their setup and it should be OK, just know that any update you run can break it.

    Best bet is 4K SST. GTX680 and other Kepler/Maxwell cards can do it. Note that only our Maxwell EFI cards do boot screens in this mode. GTX680 and previous Kepler cards don't have 4k SST boot screens. We have been trying to retrofit previous roms with 4K SST boot screens (Netkas) and may someday have previous gen cards that work this way.

    It's a mess and I wish that MVC could fix it but really Apple is the only one who could. The fact that a $10K nMP can't run 5K in OSX says it all I'm afraid. Keep your fingers crossed that the Iwatchs end up at TJ Maxx.
     
  16. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #16
    I have read your remarks about the nMP over time and now the iItems. You are wrong and unfair constantly! Do you remember the days when Apple computers were in CompUSA, in the back, in the corner, in the dark? Then Apple built their own stores to solve that problem. Apple is a very forward looking company and are steps ahead of you pertaining to iItems including the iWatch. They will probably leave the iItems and software in the current stores and place the computers in their own store. I just so happen to have run across the "computer only" no iItems store. One coming to your area soon! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  17. ShawnF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    #17
    Sigh. Since I have no intention of upgrading to Yosemite yet, I guess I will have to limit myself to 2K monitors for now. Hope Apple changes their stance though.
     

Share This Page