4K TV as external Display for MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by VFRulez, Aug 19, 2017.

  1. VFRulez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I intent to get a MacBook Pro 2017 and replace my Desktop Mac with a combo out of the MacBook and an external Display. One of my ideas is to get a 4K TV for this, which would be ideal for having a huge working space and at the same time a TV/Video screen on my desk.

    It is my current understanding that a TV for gaming definitely would be to slow, but for normal desktop working, it should be fine. So it would be only important to find a TV with a proper port capable to receive a 4K 60Hz signal.

    What do you all think about this? Do you think this could be a feasible option?
    Can you recommend any specific TVs for this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    I haven't tried it, but others have.

    I think you'd need at least:
    - a 40-43" screen
    - an HDMI 2.0 port (on the tv)
    - the proper cable/adapter (USB-c to HDMI 2.0)
    - a "high-speed" HDMI cable.

    Then, you'd want to run it in "non-HiDPI" mode.
     
  3. burritolove macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #3
    i bought a 49" TCL 4k hdr set from costco for less than $350 (there is a 43" as well) and used it with my 2017 MBP, it works flawless with a hdmi 2 cable at 60hz. i used an adapter that states proper 4k 60hz output, alot of them do not hit 60hz. the 60hz makes a huge difference, i see no lag with my setup, according to rtings.com the tcl is quite good as a pc monitor. 4;4;4 4k hdr works perfect, i've even gamed on it using CSGO and its very usable. i have since though bought a 38" ultrawide instead, the 49" was great but a bit too big, using it for xbox instead.
     
  4. nola111 macrumors newbie

    nola111

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Location:
    NOLA
    #4
    Hi Fishrrman, I'm now is the same boat as the OP:

    Can you clarify what you mean by "you'd want to run it in "non-HiDPI" mode"?
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    "Can you clarify what you mean by "you'd want to run it in "non-HiDPI" mode"?"

    In HiDPI mode, every pixel that you "see" is actually composed of FOUR pixels on the display.

    In non-HiDPI mode, you are just looking at "all the pixels", no "grouping of them" as you would get in HiDPI.
     
  6. nola111 macrumors newbie

    nola111

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Location:
    NOLA
    #6
    Thanks - is this something you set in the TV, or in the Macbook Pro? Does it go by any other name? I can't find any setting called HiDPI in either the computer or TV.

    Thanks.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    "is this something you set in the TV, or in the Macbook Pro?"

    Look in the "displays" preference pane.
    Try the "scaled" option.
     
  8. nola111 macrumors newbie

    nola111

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Location:
    NOLA
    #8
    I'm assuming you mean in the Mac. Under Scaled I only see options for resolutions. Can you provide any more specific info?
     

Share This Page