5.1.1 installed

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by OldRhodie, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. OldRhodie macrumors member

    OldRhodie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Location:
    Belfast
    #1
    Waiting to see what it has fixed and what it has broken!
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2018 ---
    upload_2018-11-5_22-52-29.png
     
  2. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #2
    So am I. That’s why I haven’t installed it yet.:D
     
  3. TomH TX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #3
    I had gotten the original version of 5.1 installed without issue. Have now also done 5.1.1 without issue. Since I had no problem, I can not help you with what is fixed, but can let you know that it installed correctly, at least for me. AW3 Nike cellular.
     
  4. StaceyMJ86 macrumors 65816

    StaceyMJ86

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    I was able to upgrade to 5.1 with no issue before Apple pulled it last week. I haven’t had the chance to update to 5.1.1 yet.
     
  5. Jason Hensley macrumors 6502

    Jason Hensley

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    #5
    Just got done installing 5.1.1 with no issues so far.
     
  6. BillGates1969 macrumors 6502

    BillGates1969

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth
  7. planetf1 macrumors 6502

    planetf1

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #7
    Anyone updated an s2?

    My update went well but force touch isn't working even after full reset.

    Probably hardware but just checking!
     
  8. newellj macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #8
    S4. Speedy, no issues. But 5.1 also installed speedily with no issues for me...
     
  9. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Installed for me fine on S4 cellular. Only remaining issue is the Earth complication still doesn’t automatically update.
     
  10. staggerlee41 macrumors 6502

    staggerlee41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #10
    I updated my S2 and force touch is working just fine, sorry to hear of your troubles!
     
  11. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #11
    lol people that had no issues updating to 5.1 are updating to 5.1.1 which is basically 5.1 without the brick feature.

    People who tried to get 5.1 and wound up with a brick are still on 5.0.1 and afraid to upgrade to 5.1.1 in order to maintain their non brick status.

    I know I’m not updating until almost everyone on here that had a bricked watch successfully updates.

    Fun stuff.
     
  12. Mikeeee macrumors 6502

    Mikeeee

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    #12
    Series 4 SS. I didn't upgrade to 5.1 (thanks to this forum) but I did update to 5.1.1. No problems. Was able to check out the new Color faces. Meh.
     
  13. JuanGuapo macrumors 6502a

    JuanGuapo

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    S2 Nike 42mm. No issues with 5.1 or 5.1.1 and force touch.
     
  14. testcard macrumors 68040

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northumbria, UK
    #14
    S2 5.1 > 5.1.1 without any issues so far.
     
  15. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #15
    5.1.1 fine here on my S4 & wife's S3.
     
  16. chanerz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
  17. planetf1 macrumors 6502

    planetf1

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #17
    OK thanks all. Sticking on official release and contacting apple support as we speak
     
  18. rbart macrumors regular

    rbart

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Location:
    France
    #18
    No problem on my S2 with 5.1.1 (updated from 5.0.1)
     
  19. DVD Plaza macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Location:
    adelaide.sa.au
    #19
    I didn't install 5.1.0 on my S2, I waited for 5.1.1

    Since doing that an hour ago my Apple Watch has crashed, as in COMPLETELY DEAD AND REBOOTED, five times at current count.

    Combined with email notifications not working throughout the beta and into 5.0, 5.1, and 5.1.1 - and that the new email grouping on both iPhone and Apple Watch stays on regardless if you turn it off - and how abysmally by S2 has suddenly been performing with 5 after being so insanely fast until now... and yet not evening counting the bricking because I've always avoid it - I'm horrified at Apple's quality as of late, what a mess :(
     
  20. testcard macrumors 68040

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northumbria, UK
    #20
    Did you try re-pairing?
     
  21. planetf1 macrumors 6502

    planetf1

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #21
    Yes.. Both unpair then restore, and unpair then new. Looking more likely it's the hw sensor
     
  22. testcard macrumors 68040

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northumbria, UK
    #22
    That’s a pity. When you’ve exhausted all the software options, you’re left with a hardware issue. Good luck and hope you get it sorted quickly.
     
  23. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #23
    I just started the download, everything working well, until the download paused and said I can resume when I'm connected to a wifi network. I am connected, as you can see by the attached photo. My phone is working normally with wifi, my watch is on the charging stand and seated correctly, but I can't finish the download. Any suggestions?

    [​IMG]
     
  24. staggerlee41 macrumors 6502

    staggerlee41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #24
    Interesting. Upon hitting download, I received message about this very thing last night when I updated two watches to 5.1.1. I don't recall receiving that warning with previous versions of Watch OS. It makes me wonder if this had anything to do with the issues some were having?
     
  25. Azathoth123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Location:
    Fountain City
    #25
    @hologram, I’d try later - I believe that you can be connected to your WiFi router but if your carrier is having problems, you may not be connected to the internet. One way to test is try something else like a web browser, YT app, and see if they work.
     

Share This Page