64GB RAM Specs for Mac Pro 3,1 early 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by eos1x, Dec 23, 2015.

  1. eos1x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I'm hoping I can get a little help here.

    I have seen in the forum that a number of people are using 64GB of RAM in Mac Pro 3,1.

    I am trying to figure out the exact specs needed to do so.

    I have done multiple searches and I understand the ram is 667Mhz and must be 2RX4 PC2 5300F.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/64gb-ram-in-2006-mac-pro-2-1.1939624/#post-22279890

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/8gb-fb-dimms-for-2006-2008-mac-pro-which-ones-work.1549628/

    My question is should it be 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300F 555-11 or 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300F 555-12. Perhaps both 11 and 12 work?

    For example, would this work

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Kit-of-64GB...476102?hash=item5b1df2cfc6:g:JUIAAOSwu4BVsrBp

    If anyone who has done this upgrade would be willing to share the exact specs to help find the appropriate modules on ebay I would be very grateful.

    Thanks in advance,
    Rory
     
  2. jmp473 macrumors newbie

    jmp473

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Have had some of the same questions myself. But, could only afford to fill the 4 empty slots in my 3,1 . Anyway! I Just now decided I'd better take a chance on these 4 (low-buck) 4x8GB's: http://alturl.com/7egaq (wish me luck o_O)

    Some of the 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300 555-12's I've seen listed were actually 5300P's - but wasn't able to confirm anything from a reliable source.
     
  3. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #3
  4. eos1x, Dec 24, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015

    eos1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #4
    Thanks nigelbb and jmp473.
    Good luck! jmp473. I'd be really interested to know how you fair with your purchase. Do you have the ram in hand or are you still waiting for it?
     
  5. eos1x, Dec 25, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2015

    eos1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #5
    I have another question. I am seeing ram listed on ebay as 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300F 555-11- AC or 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300F 555-11 D0 or 8GB 2RX4 PC2 5300F 555-11 J0. Are the two last digits of any relevance here?

    Happy Holidays Everyone!!
     
  6. jmp473, Dec 30, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015

    jmp473 macrumors newbie

    jmp473

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    The RAM arrived Monday. Looked new. I installed it yesterday, it showed up correctly 36 GB (new 32 + old 4) and today has passed all Rember tests.
    So far so good!!! I couldn't be happier! especially considering the price.

    All RAM is listed at 667MHz (down from 800 MHz) but there's a definite speed increase and with just 4 GB I was having some crashes - none since. Apple says 2 GB RAM is minimum for El Capitan. But, regular with use of just Safari alone and in fact right now, Activity Monitor is showing 7+ GB being used. 4 GB for me was obviously not enough.

    Also, there's been no noticeable increase in fan or heat (but it has only been about 70° F inside and it is still early days. Still... the RAM was shipped promptly, came well packaged, package has this on outside: "Something Wrong? Let us make it right!" "Your 100% satisfaction is our goal" - with their eBay ID etc. and a number to call. That's great to see on a budget item.
     
  7. eos1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #7
    Glad to hear it all worked out for you jmp473. It's encouraging to know that those specs work well.
     
  8. eos1x, Jan 4, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2016

    eos1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #8

Share This Page