8 GB Ram=Speed difference that makes me want to cry from joy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ERIC273, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. ERIC273 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    Last week on amazon I got 8 (2*4gigs of Kingston ram (Upgrade from 2*2) for my 2.7 GHZ 500 gb 512 mb vram MBP 13.3" Early 2011 512 mb VRAM! YEsterday I installed it and I see a HUGE difference! Now I can have literally 80 tabs open with no lag at all! I would always have 400mbs left now with Techtool pro, Sustem Pref. Safari, Preview, iTunes, GrabBlue phone Elite(For taking calls on my MBP from my 4S because I have noise canceling headphones, so now my
    SCreen flashes and I can use my mic in my Beats studio for calls when they come in) AppStore, Activity monitor and Terminal open and I have 3 gbs Available :)

    Best Random Access Memory Wishes
    -Eric Lang
    -Eric273@gmail.com
     
  2. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #2
    Welcome to the club :)

    Next, get yourself a solid state drive and you will relive these feelings. :D
     
  3. palpatine macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
  4. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    Moved up to 16GB and Eclipse is suddenly no big deal! Just sayin... ;)

    Seriously though having the ability to have 8, 16GB RAM in a teensy, cool, lightweight laptop - this is testament to phenomenal technical progress.
     
  5. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #5
    I am itching to pull the trigger on 16GB but I have yet to experience a need. As classes progress this year I may upgrade :p
     
  6. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    When 16gb of ram becomes $60 bucks I will buy, If I can find a decent sized SSD for $50 I will most likely buy!
     
  7. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    Well anything on the about would be appreciate
     
  8. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #8
    I'm generally in the 100-400MB free RAM range too, and I always hear my HDD spinning. Ordered 8GB of RAM for $35. What a steal.
     
  9. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
  10. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #10
    How does your 13" have 512MB for VRAM?

    13" MacBook Pros have integrated graphics - they use the system's RAM, they don't have any dedicated VRAM.

    But yes, 8GB is very nice indeed.
     
  11. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #11
    The vram available does increase when the RAM installed increases.
     
  12. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    now when you double that and make it to 16GB.... *heart attack*
     
  13. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #13
    I keep thinking about 16GB in my MBP, but then I remember I have the Mac Pro with a ton of RAM. So, do I need 16GB in my MBP? Probably not. Do I wan't it? Yeah, I kind of do.
     
  14. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #14
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB

    Is what it says
    Sixteen GIGS is really expensive like 299 but so was 8 gb a couple years ago so I am hoping the price gets lower in between now and when I can afford a new mbp (--------/---------) !
     
  15. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Yup, 8 is the way to go if you do some heavy lifting. I'm surprised that Apple doesn't make this default on the Pro models. Anyhow, the $200 they charge is anyways absurd... got mine for $38 off Amazon.
     
  16. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #16
    That's exactly why they don't, as the upsell is huge profit for them.
     
  17. wankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #17
    Yeah there's a very small amount of people who need >4gb of ram. Sure it's nice to have, but it's not worth the cost to open the laptop and custom build you the extra ram, which is why it costs you 200 bucks instead of 40.

    I'm holding out for the macbook pro thin version without the cdrom, gonna stuff that with a 256gb SSD and 8gb of ram, and use it for 5 years lol.
     
  18. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #18
    It took me 10 minutes to do the upgrade! Than 45 minutes to find the screw I dropped :p! Also, IDK if its just the fact that I open like 20 tabs but when I am only in safari I had 120 mbs of ram left with 4gbs ! Now with 8 I have usually 3.2 gb left!
     
  19. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #19
    It's not the amount of RAM in use to worry about, it is the page outs and page ins. When they go wild it is a sign you need more ram. Management isn't like Windows usage.
     
  20. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #20
    I did it

    [​IMG]

    Kingston ValueRAM from Amazon, I had put it on my wishlist ;)
    Running Rember right now to double check that everything is fine, but I don't expect any problems.

    One observation:
    The integrated GPU now shares 512 MB RAM. Chrome does not trigger a switch to the dedicated GPU anymore. I tested with youtube 1080p HD in fullscreen, and tried opening 30 tabs, it stuck to the integrated GPU. A few other websites with video playback did manage to trigger the dedicated GPU. In that case, only killing flash would make the laptop switch back to the integrated.

    I don't see a change in battery usage due to the new RAM. Chrome is still slightly more demanding on the battery than Safari, but not by much.
     
  21. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #21
    I set my new MBP up with Max Ram + 512 GB Samsung 830 SSD.

    Result ?

    Complete and Utter NerdVana :eek:
     
  22. ERIC273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #22
    If only I had an extra 7000 I would put 16gbs and 1tb ssd and 3 ghz and 2 gb vram in a 17 "" macbook pro!
     
  23. aednichols macrumors member

    aednichols

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #23
    I just upgraded from 4 to 8 GB today. Phenomenal difference - I can run a VM and as many IDEs as I want now with no issues. Also, simple things like opening System Preferences and browsing around in Finder seem faster - probably due to the aggressive caching that OS X is doing in the background.
     

Share This Page