8800GTS 512 Works with MAC PRO!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mac2beach, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. mac2beach macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    First wanted to say hello to everyone Awesome community here. I just got my first mac pro today. and I am moving over from PC. where I had 2 new Evga 8800GTS (G92) 512. so I desided to flash then with the EFI8800GT Bios I saw and here and Well it Works Great on my 8800GTS. So I took out that HD 2600XT and getting some 8800GTs Loving on my mac now. and I have 128Shaders so I guess I have a 8800GT now with 128 Shaders.

    Anyways Thanks everyone for all the Great Information!
     
  2. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
    oh, now I know which will be my next graphics card...
    thank you for this information!

    I wonder what's the reason for putting a MBit ROM on a GTS... Is Nvidia planning to release a mac version? or are the ROM soooo cheap?
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I do believe that in the hardware world, this is as close as one can come to a...

    BURN! :D
     
  5. David N macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    The Land of Milk & Honey
    #5
    The 512mb GTS is a new card in the 8800 line-up, and is superior to the GT. I will back that with my MBP :p
     
  6. mac2beach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #6
    thats Correct the 8800gts 512 Smokes the GT and it runs Alot cooler.. I edit the rom in Vista and reflashed it so now its runs 750Core and 2000 Memory

    also the 8800gt has 112 Shaders and 8800gts has 128shader which makes a different.

    so i basically have a 8800gt with 128 shaders runnin 750/2000 and runs very cool..
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    No, you actually have a Geforce 8800 GTS 512MB running with the Geforce 8800 GT firmware ;)
     
  8. mmccaskill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #8
    So is that to say that a GTS with GT firmware cannot perform as well as a GTS with GTS firmware?
     
  9. mac2beach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #9
    NO. when you flash the GTS with GT Firmware its Still a GTS just clocked little slower.. but I have the Fix for that already..:eek:
     
  10. mmccaskill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #10
    So what is the rough % increase a 800GTS has over a 8800GT?
     
  11. mac2beach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #11
    its about 10% Faster, and it runs ALOT cooler since it has a DUAL Slot Cooler,
     
  12. Executor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #12
    I just wanted to say thanks for your information. This is very interesting. Could you please let us know the exact model of the card you used and if at all possible post the bios you flashed?. I am looking into doing this with my mac pro. Furthermore is the card noisy?. Thanks again
     
  13. TheFuel macrumors newbie

    TheFuel

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    Bothell, WA (USA)
  14. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #14
    It's the one from this thread :)
     
  15. TheFuel macrumors newbie

    TheFuel

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    Bothell, WA (USA)
    #15
    No I'm more interested in the fixes to adjust the clock. I'll be frank I want to diff the rom files. :)
     
  16. u72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Rossendale Valley, UK
  17. mac2beach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #17
    yes thats the one.

    I got to setup Bootcamp on my Mac . I will get you the file in just a bit
     
  18. uzul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #18
    Hi,

    I successfully flashed a Leadtek 8800 GTS 512 Mo with the mac 8800 GT rom and it runs just fine.

    The only problem is that Windows XP under bootcamp doesn't seem to recognize the new Video card: I here the welcome sound of windows but the screen remains BLACK :(:(

    Does anyone have a solution for this? is it driver related and if Yes how to install the good ones when you don't see your desktop? hummm:(:(

    Thank's for the help
     
  19. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    I had the same problem with my 8800GT, so I'm not sure your problem is a direct result of using a GTS. I found two problems. One, the monitor cable needed to be screwed down VERY tight. Two, Windows was all confused because it still thought my ATI card was the primary monitor. I had to delete some monitor definitions in Windows before the other card could be used as the primary display. I'm not even sure exactly what I did, but after messing with the Display properties control panel in windows for about 15 minutes, I finally got it to recognize the other card at boot.

    Also, I installed NVidia drivers 171.17, which are still in Beta. I'm not sure if that had something to do with getting the card to work.
     
  20. GotPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    #20
    So let me get this right...

    Could I go buy a new 8800 Ultra and flash it with the 8800GT rom, with the appropriate clock rate increases... and expect much better performance???

    Just wondering... because the 8800 Ultra looks like a bada$$ card!!! :eek:
     
  21. uzul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #21
    Do you mean that i can have both cards in the Mac Pro, boot on ATI, try to "play" with resolution and then use the 8800 GTS? I will give it a try. Thank's

    I just had a few exchanges with Lionel, a MAC "Gourou" on a french forum. He sent me a new EPROM but i could'nt finish the flashing process: i get a "can't update non-boundery page" messsage :eek:

    I re-flashed the card with the 8800 GT Mac EPROM and works again in Mac. I tried to start on the FreeDOS bootable CD with the 8800 GTS plugged and i get the black screen. As i don't think there is a way for the CD to store resolution and driver informations, so i am 99% sure it has to do with the EPROM. It sounds like some code is missing (sorry for the language, i am not a specialist).

    We need an updated EPROM...
     
  22. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Sorry, no... the Ultra and the old GTS models (320MB or 640MB) use a different GPU. The new GTS (512MB) uses the same chip as the GT.

    Yes, that's what I did. But you may be right, your particular 8800GTS card may have other problems with the current GT firmware.
     
  23. uzul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #23
    Have you tested your GTS card with the MAC EPROM on a PC or windows in bootcamp and does it work? If yes would you bother uploading your EPROM.

    Thank's
     
  24. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    My card is a GT, not GTS, but yes it works in OS X and Windows, after I got the Windows display madness straightened out.

    You can get the GT firmware from the first page of the EFI64 ROM thread in this forum.
     
  25. uzul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #25
    I missunderstoud you. I thought you had a GTS. I flashed a JETWAY GT 8800 and also works like a charm in Mac AND Windows. :D
     

Share This Page