8GB isn't enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maplingstorie, Nov 2, 2013.

  1. maplingstorie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #1
    really?? are you seriously kidding me? What's up with Mavericks? :confused: 8 Tabs of Safari (no flash related), a movie running and app store open.


    P.S 'purge' command in terminal does no justice.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jah2013 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    #2
    Flash ? In that case, get a flash blocker (not adblocker).
     
  3. adildacoolset macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
    #3
    3.36 GB inactive? That's not normal. Try restarting your computer.
     
  4. radiohead14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    nyc
    #4
    i've been seeing a few posters noting this with safari. might wanna give chrome a try. i'm not having memory issues with it.
     
  5. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #5
    On my rMBP 15" 16GB ram Mavericks, the ram was fully occupied and even had page outs when I was editing a 5 minute 720p video. At first, I would never have imagined 16GB RAM would not be enough until I found out after experiencing a horrible system lag like video playback delays, crashes, and unresponsive clicks. (Only FCPX running). This isn't normal right?
     
  6. Jah2013 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    #6
    No, its definitevly not. Any 3rd party stuff involved that might interfere with ur system ?
     
  7. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #7
    my rmbp does the same things.
    nothing open, still swapping like crazy and all memory occupied.
    its mavericks new memory management. i wouldn't worry.
     
  8. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #8
    I don't have my rMBP 15" with me now. It's sent for repair because of IR issues (thank goodness for Apple Care) but i'm very positive. In activity monitor, final cut pro x was using 2GB ram. And the other 14GB ram was no where to be found in Activity Monitor. My RAM fills up super quick every time I run FCPX on Mavericks. So it has to be related with FCPX. Memory leak I suppose? :eek:
     
  9. adildacoolset macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
    #9
    It looks like it. I'm not getting any leaks on my system as far as I can tell, so there may be a third party program that has the leak.
     
  10. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #10
    But it lags my system. I don't call this a proper memory management if I have to suffer in performance, experience lags and page outs. :apple:
     
  11. noodile macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    #11
    open terminal

    type

    PHP:
    Sudo purge
    and that should free your inactive memory
     
  12. actuallyinaus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #12
    as you can see from your istat you are only actually using 3.38gb

    how many times do we have to go over this:

    A) you don't want to clear you ram (you will technically make your computer slower)
    B) you want 100% ram usage (cached data makes your computer faster)
    C) the more ram you have the more programs will tend to use

    and your computer shouldn't touch swap until active goes over 8gb
     
  13. rMBP2013 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    #13
    It's designed to use as much RAM as possible. That's Mavericks for you.

    Look at the "memory pressure" graph to better get an idea of how well you're utilizing your memory.

    I wouldn't be worried about it at all.
     
  14. Jah2013 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    #14
    I dont agree with u guys. Yes, it should use all memory availabe to cache files from disk ifit still got some ram. However, it should NOT use swap for this! ( what an irony if it would cache files from disk on disk).. Something is going wrong here. For now, keep restarting from time to time to get rid of any leaks that might have occured.
     
  15. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #15
    There should be some other threads hear talking about the way Mavericks handles memory--different than previous versions. It tries to use ALL available RAM to optimize memory usage--at least that's what I got out of those other threads.
     
  16. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #16
    Yes. I agree that Mavericks is designed to use as much RAM as possible. But not until it pages out and impact my system's performance. :( that's too much.
     
  17. rMBP2013 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    #17
    I wonder if it's due to your 128 GB SSD? Can't be sure, just saying because no one else has had the same issue as you... 'cuz you're not a power user.
     
  18. mangotears macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #18
    Is it impacting performance? how can you tell?


    https://discussions.apple.com/message/22313562#22313562


    Predictive-models for memory scheduling algorithms are a big deal. Its very possible that the OS is paging frequently accessed app-memory even after it gets closed. I wouldn't be surprised if mavericks implemented it as another energy-saving measure since computational resources cost a lot more energy (and takes longer) than fetching pre-computed data from a fast SSD.
     
  19. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #19
    My safari pages load very slow. Apps open slower than usual. The performance difference is drastic and it only happens when my RAM is full and starts paging out. When I video edit on my 15" rMBP, FCPX become so unresponsive and keeps crashing when the RAM maxes out.
     
  20. rMBP2013 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    #20
    How full is your SSD?
     
  21. maplingstorie thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #21
    120.47GB, 80.02GB free
     
  22. rMBP2013 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    #22
    Hmm.. that's really bizarre.

    Have you tried re-starting the computer?
     
  23. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #23
    pirated app with memory leak could be the possible. :apple:
     
  24. mangotears macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    #24
    Yeah, that's abnormal. I'm doing chrome/photoshop/premier on 4gb and it doesn't stutter.
     
  25. Giuly, Nov 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2014

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #25
    Gentlemen, close your BitTorrent clients. [​IMG]
    Get NASsesses instead, and free gigabytes of RAM while doing it.
     

Share This Page