9 to 5 mac leaks some mini specs

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by philipma1957, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #1
  2. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    If that middle model is still $799, it's very, very tempting.
     
  3. iamsen47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Location:
    Kobe, Japan
    #3
    I wonder how they're going to differentiate between the mid and the server models if both are using the same quad core chips. Been itching to get one since July. So glad I waited.
     
  4. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #4
    So how does the new base model compare to last years base model
     
  5. jdryyz macrumors regular

    jdryyz

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #5
    I was expecting 500GB in the mid-range model. If it is true that it will be in the base unit, that is great. No mention if there will be a dedicated GPU, however. That will decide if I go for the $799 model.

    Assuming they will maintain the same form factor as the 2011 (and I'm sure they will) does anyone think the ability to add a second internal drive will exist without the need to get the special cable pictured here:

    http://www.tested.com/news/news/2743-ifixit-offers-mac-mini-dual-hard-drive-kit-for-70/
     
  6. rangers12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #6
    Looking at the leaked specs, do you think they will have quad core i5 in the mid-level version, and a quad i7 in the server? Then keep the dedicated gpu just in the mid-level version like the current models?
     
  7. Kryptik.Kode macrumors member

    Kryptik.Kode

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    I was going to get the 599$ model but with the 799$ model getting quad-core I think I may be going for that one instead. Depending what dedicated GPU they put in it, it may make my decision easier.
     
  8. thestickman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #8
    Purchased a mid-level mini last Saturday as a hedge against Apple removing firewire from the refresh. I'm looking forward to the 2.3 quad. Pro Tools should love it as well :)
     
  9. theRAMman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    The Moon.
    #9
    Thank god apple has moved away from the stupidity of 2gb of ram :D
     
  10. BeatCrazy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #10
    I think I will wait for a Haswell version to update my current 2011 2.3GHz base model.
     
  11. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #11
    Could be the 640m and with quad core its almost a dream to me:D
     
  12. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #12
    No more dedicated gpu for any of the Mac minis. As a 2.3 quad uses way to much juice to put a gpu on as well. Makes sense though with what intel has planned for Haswell and beyond.
     
  13. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #13
    Doesn't make any sense two quad core with similar specs.
    one must be different in something ,this case a gpu.
     
  14. fig macrumors 6502a

    fig

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #14
    I would buy that in a heartbeat.

    Well, technically in a month or two when I had the cash, but still :)
     
  15. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #15
    Well unless they change the case there is no way to get a quad core and a 640m in. There is just not enough cooling and the psu is probably to small too. Also nvidia GPUs are expensive combined with an i7 quad, for 799 no way:)
    Just trying to be realistic.

    The server version has 2 disks and an OSX server version. Enough to set it apart.
     
  16. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #16
    Which is the 6630 Tdp compared to 640m?

    ----------

    Its not enough..its just a mini "server" mini,not enough.
     
  17. ugadawgs311 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    #17
    How much better is the quad-core vs. the dual core? I purchased a new MBP about a week ago with 2.5 dual-core, but I'm considering returning it for the better quad-cor Mini. Thoughts?
     
  18. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #18
    Anybody ?
     
  19. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #19
    Think about 80% more CPU performance.
    Also if these spec are true the CPU is the i7 3610 which is 45 watt TDP. No chance of getting a dedicated GPU at least if they don't change the case.
     
  20. virtu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Brazil
    #20
    No SSD option in the new models?
    Please Apple... please... give us that option, please =)
     
  21. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #21
    No i suppose we will see the 3612,3632 Qm which are 35W
    6630 its 15 watt while 640m is 35 with mxm and ram..
    so having 10watt less in cpu ,while before was 45+15
    now would be 35+35...not impossible..
     
  22. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #22
    Alas there is no 35w 2.3 ghz quad core. Only a 45 watt one. 2.2 is the fastest 35w one. What you should also know is that the realistic TDP of the dual core CPUs is closer to 25w then 35w. Especially when you don't use the integrated cpu. That is actually why there is a special dual core i7 with an extra meg of l3
     
  23. HurryKayne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #23
    Are you sure?Did you see this?
    We are talking about Ivy Bridge,not Sandy.
    http://www.nordichardware.com/news/...ivy-bridge-at-35w-for-notebooks-revealed.html
    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-cpu-ivy-bridge,18574.html
     
  24. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #24
  25. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #25
    It would be impossible for Apple to sell a machine with Mountain Lion with 2 GB of RAM. They were skating on thin ice selling a machine with Lion with 2 GB. 4 GB is now the minimum.
     

Share This Page