93 GB available on brand new 128 GB SSD Normal?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sparkie7, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Thought I would have more.. or do I need to run some software to lean up the Operating system? Because I haven't loaded Any software yet
     
  2. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #2
    I would try Monolingual first. Gets rid of languages you don't need and it's free.

    And it does free up a lot of space. Had to use it on my 80G Air.
     
  3. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #3
    i got my MBP last week and when i first started it up, it said it had 218GB or so, and the HDD is 250. I guess the OS and such takes quite a bit.
     
  4. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #4
    Please search on hard drive size discrepancies. You'll see that it's a MFG related 'issue'.

    To get a realistic hard drive size you can take your labeled drive size in GB, ie 128 * .9765 to get the formatted capacity of 124.992GB. Add operating system and whatnot and there you have it.
     
  5. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #5
    93 GB sounds a little small, unless SSD manufacturers have gone to doing what HD manufacturers have been doing for decades: reporting the size in 10-power units, rather than 2-power units. That is, you're getting 128x10^9 bytes rather than 128x2^30 (2^37), minus the space for the OS. That's really ******, especially since one of the benefits of (USB, at least) flash drives was that they reported a true size. :mad:

    On an interesting side note, there was one HD by Maxtor that did actually advertise a true size, a 300 GB drive, though it had a "bonus 20GB" sticker on the box. :rolleyes:

    EDIT: actually, that seems small even based on that, unless you have more than just the OS installed. Check Disk Utility.
     
  6. Fidgetyrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #6
    Its all in how the manufacturers label a "Gigabyte".

    For example, HDD manufacturers would treat a K as 1000 instead of 1024. Therefore, if say your HDD were 15KB in size reported by the manufacturer, it could really only hold 15000/1024=14.64KB

    Now scale that up to GB and TB sizes and the lost capacity is VERY noticeable.
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    Disk drive makers always advertise disk size in units of 1,000,000,000 bytes. This makes the disk seem larger. The OS reports units of 2^30. So even if the disk were empty the OS would report less than advertised disk size by a factor of (2^30)/(10^9)
     
  8. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #8
    With that, you get 119.2 GB. I don't think the default OS install takes up 26GB, does it?
     
  9. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #9
    My System info says..

    APPLE SSD SM128:

    Capacity: 113 GB
    Model: APPLE SSD SM128
    Revision: VAM0BA1Q
    Serial Number: DFF2Y02843EA010
    Native Command Queuing: No
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Macintosh HD:
    Capacity: 112.68 GB
    Available: 92.89 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /


    SO, capacity is only 113 GB

    False advertising by Apple?
     
  10. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #10
    No. If you take it out im sure it will say on the HDD itself that its 128GB
     
  11. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #11
    anyone can stamp or print a sticker saying 128, 256 or 1TB SSD!

    I go by the actual capacity on the drive when i get 'Info' on it
     
  12. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #12
    Click the drive in Disk Utility and look at the bottom of the window. What does it for Total Capacity, next to Disk Description?

    Also, what's the difference between that number and the number for the volume? (Macintosh HD, or whatever it's called)
     
  13. Fidgetyrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #13
    I have the 320GB HDD in my new MBP
    Mine reports Capacity of 298GB (Total capacity). This is normal and ALL computers are affected like this. Its not an Apple Conspiracy.
     
  14. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #14
    No. It's 0.93 you multiply by. Not 0.97.
     
  15. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

    tcphoto

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Madison, GA
    #15
    I always start by deleting unused Applications and drivers. You would be amazed how many unneeded printer drivers are preloaded. My 250GB HD is at 214GB of free space and that includes CS2, iLife '08, Canon DSLR applications and other photo oriented applications. I try to keep as much open space to insure optimal speed when working.
     
  16. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #16
    Disk Description : APPLE SSD SM128 Media
    Total Capacity : 113 GB (121,332,826,112 Bytes)

    and when i click on Macintosh HD i get...

    Capacity : 112.7 GB (120,988,852,224 Bytes)
    Available : 92.9 GB (99,742,187,520 Bytes)
    Used : 19.8 GB (21,246,664,704 Bytes)
    Number of Files : 512,815

    I have not loaded ANY of my files on this machine. Its fresh from the UPS man

    screen grabs..
     

    Attached Files:

  17. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #17
    I believe the 64GB first gen. Airs had the same exact issues with size discrepancies.
     
  18. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #18
    for a 320GB HDD yours sounds about right. ie. 20GB discrepancy. The larger your drive the more trade off. But in my instance its only a "128" GB SSD, I was expecting 115 GB availability

    There is no evidence that a 128 SSD is inside my machine save for the "APPLE SSD SM128" labelling under profiles. It clearly shows capacity at 113GB, with 93GB Availabllity
     
  19. pesc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    #19
    Yeah

    Bring out your calculator (or enter into spotlight):
    128000000000/1024/1024/1024 = 119.2

    Also read this article:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_prefix
     
  20. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #20
    So what were MBA 1ST Gen owners getting in terms of available space fresh out of the box?
     
  21. Phat Ham macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #21
    I did a fresh install of OS X when I put a 7200 rpm hard drive in it. The languages take up about 2 gigs and printer drivers about 3. So you can save a little over 5 gigs by not installing those. The included apps also take a up a few gigs.

    If you haven't migrated anything over to your new machine I'd recommend doing a custom install of OS X and leaving out anything you don't need.
     
  22. O. Frabjous-Dey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #22
    Do a custom install. You'll save a lot of space. The printer drivers are the biggest culprit; if you're okay with downloading them manually from the manufacturers' websites, it's an easy way to get back some space.
     
  23. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #23
    good advice guys. i'll install from the CD shipped in the box.

    i'm still puzzled by the magnitude or lack there of, of actual available space unless this is due to SSD tech characteristics
     
  24. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #24
    That's the key. The install OS typically takes up 14GB. By cutting out unused printer drivers, languages and apps (I don't use Garageband) I can get it down to around 8GB for the system.
     
  25. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #25
    i did a reinstall SANS printer drivers, languages & garage band. final drive availability went up 6GB to 99GB. better than nuttin, i guess.
    thanks for all yur responses :D
     

Share This Page