A challenge for you MR dwellers. I need some help.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DryEyez, Mar 10, 2012.

1. DryEyez macrumors 6502

Hi guys,

Firstly I'll say thank you for any help you can provide. I have been doing some reading up, but I'm not very knowledgable with the older Apple machines, I use to be a windows guy, however I am looking specifically for an older Apple machine for my younger brother (he's only 14), this will be his first computer (one that he specifically owns) and so here is the criteria.

- The machine needs to be around £100-£150 (I'm only a university student so money is tight)
    - It would be beneficial to have wi-fi
    - Main uses will be very simple iTunes/web browsing/word docs
    - I'm not sure on whether desktop or mobile laptop unit would be better (Best bang for buck perhaps?)

I have looked around, from what I can see, possibly the Powermac G5? or iMac G4? Or possibly iBook? Like I said I'm not so sure!

So tell me what you think would be best here. Cheaper would be better as I work part time as much as I can, but have to do around 40 hours of uni work.

Thankyou very much for any help

2. Intell macrumors P6

Intell

A G4 iMac, eMac, newer PowerMac G4, or air cooled PowerMac G5. If you get an G4 iMac or eMac, get one with USB 2 ports. They will be much faster and support the easier to find wireless cards.

3. Bug-Creator macrumors 6502

Bug-Creator

A G4 or early Intel MacMini might also fit into that budget.

Small, relativly problem-free and WiFi included.

4. cocacolakid, Mar 10, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2012

cocacolakid macrumors 65816

cocacolakid

A G4 Powerbook should also be considered. While the G5 Power Mac's are very nice, they do consume a lot of electricity and give off a lot of heat (plus does the OP have a monitor/keyboard/mouse or will those also have to be purchased, adding to the final cost?).