Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VikB15

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2023
Hi! I found this page looking for opinions of different ipad, and I take the opportunity to ask for help

To put a bit of context, i'm a graphic design student and I want to buy my first ipad, I have found several offers that fit my budget (about 600/700 dollars including shipping abroad), but when it comes to comparing the technical details of each i'm completely lost!

I'm between new and refurbished equipment options, not too sure if it's a good option either

The equipment I've seen (in order from lowest to highest price, if that's relevant) are:
Apple iPad Air 2 128GB - Renewed
Apple iPad 9.ª gen 64GB - New
Apple iPad Air 3 256GB - Renewed (It has a considerable price difference with the previous Air 2, I don't know if the technical differences vary a lot or if the difference in capacity influences the price so much)
Apple iPad Pro 2nd 12.9in 256GB - Renewed
Apple iPad 9.ª gen 256GB - New
Apple iPad 8.ª gen 128GB - New
Apple iPad Air 4 64GB - Renewed

I hope someone can give me some advice, thanks!

Jessica Lares

macrumors G3
Oct 31, 2009
Near Dallas, Texas, USA
I'd go for the 64GB Air 4 then. The first one with the newer design and 64GB is more than enough since you're using a laptop aswell.

We are on the 6th generation of the Pro and that 2nd doesn't get OS updates anymore. (This was wrong, see the replies below)

That Air also supports the 2nd generation Pencil.

Last edited:

Yebubbleman

macrumors 603
May 20, 2010
Los Angeles, CA
Hi! I found this page looking for opinions of different ipad, and I take the opportunity to ask for help