A Microcosm of the Smoking Debate

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Theophany, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Theophany macrumors 6502

Theophany

Three months ago I gave up smoking for my girlfriend.

I come from a family where most people smoke. I too smoke. Smoking is no big thing in our family, nor in our extended family, it's just seen as something that most of us do. Naturally, we have an astonishingly high cancer mortality rate in our family, but that is beside the point and not really part of my discussion here. In short, I had been smoking for five years up until the point when I gave up. I love smoking, it's really that simple for me.

My girlfriend's parents used to smoke, but gave up some years ago before she was born. They have always indoctrinated her and her siblings with the value that smoking is bad, it's addictive and should not be started. The same things that any well-meaning parent tells their children to educate them, more than to over-protect them. She hates smoking with a passion.

So I, very reluctantly, made the effort to give up for her. I first used a form of NRT - 'fake' cigarettes. Basically you 'smoke' these plastic cigarettes with an ioniser in them that turns the nicotine cartridges into steam instead of smoke. The system is that you can gradually lower your nicotine dose by removing all the tar and harmful chemicals from the act of 'smoking' whilst not having to replace having something to do with your hands.

Within a fortnight I'd given up on the NRT and gone cold-turkey. In the three months that followed I battled my addiction for the first month, but didn't once smoke a cigarette. I'm not claiming it's some great achievement, because in fairness I have only been smoking for five years. After the first month or so, the addiction faded and I didn't once feel the need to smoke as I had previously. It became easy.