? about replacing a light fixture

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by lionheartednyhc, Jan 6, 2010.

1. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

lionheartednyhc

I plan on replacing the ceiling light in my apartment. I have never done anything electrical before, but it seems pretty straightforward. My question is, is it acceptable to use the light switch as a way to kill power to the fixture instead of going to the circuit breaker? Since Im in an apartment, access to the breaker is not exactly easy.

Thanks

2. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn

I would flip the switch on the breaker, you are one small connector away from the shock of your life otherwise. I have done it before, but I wouldn't advise it, at the very least make sure the wire is dead before you go in with your hands.

3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

No kill power at the breaker. After installing three fans all I can say is trust me.

4. Huntn Suspended

Huntn

I worked my way through college as an electrician so I know enough to answer this question. :) If you are a novice, or even if you are not, the easiest way to deal with this is to trip the circuit breaker. The reason is that some ceiling fixtures have the hot wire coming into the fixture, then run a wire down to the switch. You could still end up handling a hot wire at the fixture.

Some fixtures are wired with the hot wire coming into the switch, then a wire up and back to the switch. This would be safer to work with at the fixture, but it's easier to kill the CB.

If I was doing this job I would verify without a doubt there are no hot wires by using an inexpensive amp-meter, set it to read AC volts then test wires. If you are wondering if you are using the AC meter correctly, test it on a wall receptical, one lead into each side. It should read about 120 volts. Get the guy at the store to show you. ;)