About to buy a new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DjSnert, Feb 14, 2014.

1. DjSnert macrumors newbie

So the time has come where my old mid 2010 MBP must be retired and I am looking at getting a fully tricked out 15" MBP with the newest Intel i7, 1TB HD...pretty much the works. My only concern is, is it worth the hefty price tag and/or should I wait?

I am an audio engineer and Dj. So I need all the power I can get. Since I already max out my old MBP working on new tracks, recording sessions and also I do mix HD video at some of my shows. I'm kind of stuck between a rock and hard place and most likely will go with what available now but I would still like to hear some opinions on the matter. Thanks!

2. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

Barney63

Off topic, but, what music program do you use for DJing?

Barney

3. DjSnert, Feb 14, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2014

DjSnert thread starter macrumors newbie

Mainly Ableton

Edit: Sorry I read it wrong. For Dj'ing I use both Serato and Traktor. Depending on the gig. Serato for more of the mainstream clubs that want video and Traktor for the sexy late night music.

4. bigjnyc macrumors 601

bigjnyc

There's usually a minor bump around Feb-March on MBP's so if you can wait just a little then wait for that. However if you desperately need a new computer now and your DJ work depends on it then its not worth waiting.

I am going to wait because my 2009 MBP is getting a little long in the tooth but still performs adequately, and I dont use it for work just personal.

5. augustya macrumors 68000

augustya

I was playing around with a Trial Version of Ableton on a 13" rMBP with 8GB RAM and 128GB SSD. Worked Pretty well for me ! No issues at all !

Also tried Traktor No issues iwth that aswell...

----------