Access iSight with iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by keith28, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. keith28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #1
    I have an old iMac with external iSight suction cupped to it.

    I want to keep an eye on my dog while out or at work.

    I would like to access the isight using my iPhone.

    Can anyone make some suggestions?
     
  2. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #3
    thanks for the link, but

    "If you want to access your computer from outside of your local network, you may need to configure your router or firewall to support it."

    Do you know where I can find direction for configuring my Airport Extreme base station?
     
  3. sunday888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  4. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #5
    the good link is down.

    i don't see any information showing what to set up on the airport extreme.

    anyone step my step instructions to set up my imac remotely from iphone outside the local network?
     
  5. 103734 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #6
    just use a website to check your computers IP then set up port forwarding on your router
     
  6. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #7
    only thing I see is port mapping under advanced settings

    public port numbers:______
    private IP: 10.0.1.201
    private port numbers:_____
     
  7. 103734 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #8
    humm if you AIM me at SUPERSTEVE9219

    I might be able to help more
     
  8. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #9
    Hey please do post the help here. I wanna see how you guys do it. :)
     
  9. RottenAppple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #10
    Disappoi9nted in CA

    I am a very disappointed with the service and support of the iPhone. I have owned the iPhone for 20 days and was really hoping to make it work. Between the excessive number of dropped calls and poor phone functionality, I am fed up. I went to the Apple store, ATT store and called Apple Tech Support. Apple would blame ATT and ATT did the same. I am surprised that two large organizations do not understand or care about taking responsibility.

    I spent several hours getting nowhere with Apple support staff (Leah #40169 - Manager, Mike- Product Support, Paul- Product Support, and Julia- Customer Relations). At this point, I have wasted over $900 (phone, peripherals and service) with two companies that I will never do business with again. I have since switched my service to a provider with less dropped calls and would not recommend an iPhone to my worst enemy.

    I hope no one else experiences the pain of being an Apple or ATT customer.

    Sincerely,

    Apple Case # 81782791 :mad:
     
  10. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #11
    I'm sorry I dont have AIM
     
  11. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #12
    WTF!
     
  12. bluedevil14 macrumors regular

    bluedevil14

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAHAH some one is just trying F--- with us
     
  13. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #14
    More than obvious TROLL. :mad:

    Not only is he a newbie, but he registered TODAY and THAT is his SINGLE post to these forums. What a friggin loser. :rolleyes:
     
  14. sunday888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #15
    You want to access your iSight camera using your iPhone from outside your home (presumably)? If you read the thread I posted earlier, you will find the instructions you need to set up your Airport Extreme and your iMac firewall settings.
     
  15. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #16
    wow, you must really love your dog?? may i ask why you want to keep an eye on your dog???
     
  16. 103734 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #17
    Ok open your router settings and go to port forwarding and put in the IP of the computer your trying to connect to, you can get your IP from alot of websites just google it, then it will ask for port numbers I think the defult port for telekenisis is 5010 and 5012 or something so in your router set it to cover from 5008 to 5014 as long as one number is lower and one number is higher.
     
  17. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #18
    where in Airport will I set these settings?
     
  18. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #19
    WTF this is hardly the right place.
     
  19. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #20
    My dog is a puppy and she is a real chewer.
    She must have chewed up $400 worth of computer wires and equipment on me.

    yes i love my dog.

    i have a crate i keep her in now, but she chews on the metal now.
    unreal...
     
  20. 103734 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #21
    im sorry but I dont have a airport and I have no idea where you will find these, just look for something that says port forwarding I guess, thats what it is on most routers


    Also what if you see your dog chewing something up? How will you stop it? You'll be stuck there watching your dog chew up all your stuff.
     
  21. severe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #22
    See ya!
     
  22. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #23
    only thing i can find is port mapping.
    is this the same thing?
     
  23. sunday888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #24
    Yes, that's exactly it.
     
  24. keith28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #25
    Can you tell me what to fill in?

    Description:
    Public Port Number:
    Private IP Address: 10.0.1.201
    Private Port Numbers:
     

Share This Page