Accidentally scanned OSX from Bootcamp and OSX Reset

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Chross, Oct 2, 2010.

1. Chross macrumors newbie

Oh god, I've screwed up my mac beyond repair and I failed to utilize time machine based on the price of the time capsule. I'm a college student and simply cannot afford a $250 piece of hardware that I may never use. But now I'm paying for my arrogance in assuming I'd never need it. Sometimes I really hate myself.

I have, somehow, reset my entire OSX. The Dock is now huge, all of my icons are now reset to the default ones when I originally bought the Macbook Pro. The software is still there but the icons have been reset. The icon no longer bounces when I open it.

And I know exactly why. I was in Windows through bootcamp doing routine maintenance and decided to do a full scan using Microsoft Security Essentials. I forgot to have it ignore the E:/ drive which is where MacOSX installed. It must have got 25% through scanning it before I realized it. I don't even know if that can cause a problem but it obviously did. I booted into OSX just to double check everything was ok. It loaded fine, all icons where there and seemed like everything was ok. Except the icons weren't bouncing when I opened up an application even though it was checked in the preferences. This frustrated me so I rebooted again to see if that would fix the issue and now here I am. Completely back to factory defaults. My software is still there but the Dock reset itself and it seems as if other things reset. I'm doomed. So how do I start a reinstall process? Insert the Snow Leapord disk?

I'm worried because I have Parrallels 6 and if I have to reinitiate a bootcamp then I'm going to have to go buy another full non-upgrade version of Windows 7. Christ, my life really is terrible at the moment. Somebody please tell me I'm overreacting and focusing on the worst possible scenario.

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt