Activate on one machine, sync on another?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NewtypeCJ, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. NewtypeCJ macrumors 6502

    NewtypeCJ

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #1
    Perhaps a stupid question, but I'll ask anyway --

    I'm gonna be traveling out of state on Friday. I'll be in reach of both an Apple and AT&T store. But that's the thing, I'll be traveling so I'll only have my iBook with me--not my desktop which is where I have my main iTunes library sync'd, etc. (though I'll probably sync that to .Mac so I can at least get my address book and email off).

    The question is, if I activate and sync it with that iBook...can I break the iPhone's ties to the laptop and sync it to my iMac from then on when I get home for the music, video and other media?
     
  2. applehero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    29º 25' 26"N, 95º 29' 36"W
    #2
    I would think so, I mean, what would happen if you bought a new computer?? You'd have to re-establish the sync, so I wouldn't think it would be a problem. I'm in the same boat, I'll be traveling with my PB and use my iMac for primary iTunes. I think we're fine.
     
  3. thuff13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #3
    I would guess that it works the same as the iPod. I believe with iPods you have to reformat it to synch it with a new computer.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    iTunes will alert you and ask if you would like to replace the iPod's contents with the new computer's. Doesn't have to do a restore (although, the end result is essentially the same).
     
  5. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #5
    The phone isn't linked to a computer, rather to an iTMS account. By activating it on another computer, that computer will now be one of the 5 that can play the music you've bought on the iTMS. You may want to deactivate it after you get home.
     
  6. Nagooya macrumors 6502

    Nagooya

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Wouldn't you like to know?
    #6
    I'm in the same situation, i'll get the iPhone in Las Vegas on friday, then sync it with my brother's MBP just so i can have an operating iPhone. When i get home i'll re-sync to my iMac. But, do you sync all iPhone's in a family plan to the same computer and select family plan somehom via iTunes?
     
  7. scootermafia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #7
    When you activate it, you activate it on that computer, that's a one time deal. It will then "tie" it to that computer. You then plug it into a different computer later and it says hurr do you want to sync your ipod with this library and replace everything (like an Ipod) since this doesn't change anything essential about your phone/plan, all it changes is what personal data is on the iPhone, and that changes every time you get a new computer, etc.
     
  8. Nagooya macrumors 6502

    Nagooya

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Wouldn't you like to know?
    #8
    Okay, that's good to know. Thanks!:D
     

Share This Page