Activating Phone Sim in 3.0 (I am a registered developer not a thief!)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Farfooz, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. Farfooz macrumors member

    Farfooz

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone! i posted this in two places because i did not know which section it would go into. Plus ive been trying to fix this ALL day. Alright so i have an iPhone 2G Unlocked fw 3.0 Beta 1, and its not activated with my sim. I inserted my AT&T sim and i can use the phone, i live in the UAE tho, so i need my etisalat sim, when i insert my sim it gives me "Different SIM detected" error. But when i look in the corner it says Etisalat with 5 full signal bars. How can i activate my phone? I am a developer and i paid the 99 dollars, i find it frustrating i can't use my iphone to develop or make calls now. Anyone got any ideas? (yes i put the UUID on my developer page and yes i did everything right) when i updated my phone, i updated it from 2.2.1 unlocked/jailbroken/activated. ive been at this ALL day. Please someone help me out there :)
     
  2. lakaiordie macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #2
    when you update to 3.0 beta your unlock from before goes away. simply put.
     
  3. Farfooz thread starter macrumors member

    Farfooz

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #3
    Not true

    Thats not true cuz my phone is unlocked as i can see in the corner it says my service provider, im just asking if theres a way for me to activate it or get past the activation?
     
  4. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #4
    Unless you had a factory unlocked phone - which it sounds like you didn't, then when you installed 3.0 you also installed the new baseband which has locked your phone again.

    So, I'm with lakaiordie on this one.

    You are now SOL.
     
  5. Farfooz thread starter macrumors member

    Farfooz

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #5
    no no you guys dont get it lol, i have the FIRST iphone, not the 3G one. and now i just downgraded it to 2.2.1 until i hear of a solution to my problem. my phone is staying permanantly unlocked every time after i restore, i was just seeking a way to activate it, usually quickpwn does the trick but there is no quickpwn for 3.0 . Do u now understand what i mean?
     
  6. Liam8 macrumors 6502

    Liam8

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    iphone

    Does anyone know the email of the guy giving away spots on his dev account for iPhone OS 3.0?:confused:
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Simple you need your UIUD from your Dev Center in order to activate the phone thru iTunes.
     
  8. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #8
    No no no, YOU don't get it. :) You loaded a stock firmware that won't unlock your iPhone, Original or 3G. If QuickPwn or Pwnage Tool does work (doubtful but it may), then you should use it with the 3.0 beta and unlock your phone. Otherwise you can't use the 3.0 where you are until 1. It's official release, 2. Dev Team has updated their tools to work with the newly released firmware.
     
  9. Farfooz thread starter macrumors member

    Farfooz

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #9
    Activation Problem Solution!!

    Actually you all were wrong :) i found a way to do it, i installed a 2.2.1 pwned firmware, then i updated and success!! I guess it was because i was using quickpwn, oh well learned my lesson now :) so what to do if you are locked out because of your sim card:

    1) If you were using quickpwn for your previous software i found out it only activates the current firmware, not ur phone entirely, so go search online for your previous software .IPSW (Iphone software update file) and MAKE SURE ITS PWNED! (for instance im updating to 3.0, so i want to find a pwned 2.2.1 firmware)

    2) Restore to that software, make sure its not the Stock apple software, then your phone should be unlocked and activated when boots up to home screen.

    3) Update to your desired firmware (in my case i took the pwned 2.2.1 firmware, installed it then i updated to 3.0 beta)

    4) Your done :)

    NOTE: THIS ONLY WORKS ON IPHONE 2G! THIS DOES NOT WORK ON THE IPHONE 3G!
     
  10. phrequenc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #10
    you dont know that yet!
     
  11. diemos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #11
    thief? lol thats a bit harsh, no? No one is actually stealing anything.
     
  12. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #12
    Farfooz, you are awesome. I've been looking for the answer everywhere, and it was right here all the time. I'm going to try upgrading to 3.0 when I get home tonight. (I love having friends in the Dev program. :D) Thanks again!
     

Share This Page