Activator - Slide in Gestures not working?

OnNightfall

macrumors regular
May 13, 2010
234
0
I did beta 3 and still problems... ugh! I think I'll stick with releases and not betas cause after 3 betas I still have problems. Maybe the next non beta update will fix it. Let me know if otherwise.
 

bushbabywas

macrumors member
Feb 9, 2011
92
0
not much help to those who want them for other reasons, I'm afraid, but if anyone wants to use slide-in gestures to bring up the appswitcher, you're better off using zephyr instead.

never had any problems with it, but always had problems with the slide-in gestures in Activator...
 

OnNightfall

macrumors regular
May 13, 2010
234
0
My problem with Zephyr is theirs no gesture to go back to the home screen. I want to completely abandon ever using the home button. And I can do that with Activator.
 

fpena

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2010
13
0
My problem with Zephyr is theirs no gesture to go back to the home screen. I want to completely abandon ever using the home button. And I can do that with Activator.
You can still set a couple of gestures in activator while using zephyr. They can work together.
 

iPh0n3Add!ct

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2011
10
0
Have you not noticed how the slide from bottom gesture also activateS any buttons at the bottom of apps, like the Voice Mail button in the Phone app?

Really annoying! Cause you have to end the call that was activated unexpectedly.
 
Last edited:

gimmeaipod

macrumors member
Jun 2, 2010
87
0
Have you not noticed how the slide from bottom gesture also activateS any buttons at the bottom of apps, like the Voice Mail button in the Phone app?

Really annoying! Cause you have to end the call that was activated unexpectedly.
yes, i noticed this as well
hope it gets fixed a la 1.5.8
 

Votekinky06

macrumors 6502
Jun 10, 2011
320
0
I gave up on slide in gestures altogether a long time ago. I'm sure it's just me because a lot of people like them, but I keep activating them when scrolling.
 

Laurido92

macrumors newbie
Aug 9, 2011
19
0
I was having the same issue so I decide to use the twice tap the status bar and haven't had any issues since.
 

fpena

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2010
13
0
Non-beta version is OUT!! try now...

It's seems the problem is fixed! At least for me...
 

F123D

macrumors 68040
Sep 16, 2008
3,776
16
Del Mar, CA
Not really an issue but has anyone noticed with the latest Activator update, when you swipe down for the notification center, if you begin your swipe above the status bar when swiping down, the notification center drop down will come down, then go back up right away?
 

noiceT

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2008
526
7
Catalina Wine Mixer
Not really an issue but has anyone noticed with the latest Activator update, when you swipe down for the notification center, if you begin your swipe above the status bar when swiping down, the notification center drop down will come down, then go back up right away?
Hmm, I was having that problem prior to the latest update. I use the slide down from status bar to sleep the phone. It works well now since the betas actually. If I want to bring down NC, then I swipe down from either the left or right side of the status bar; not the middle.
 

mr.shadowx

macrumors newbie
Feb 7, 2012
5
0
Have you not noticed how the slide from bottom gesture also activateS any buttons at the bottom of apps, like the Voice Mail button in the Phone app?

Really annoying! Cause you have to end the call that was activated unexpectedly.
Now that's exactly what my worst problem is. I hate accidently tapping twitter app buttons when I use Slide From Buttom gestures. I tried mailing the author but he did not respond. And I stick back to Activator version 1.5.8. Is there any fix on this issue with beta 3?
 

iPh0n3Add!ct

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2011
10
0
Now that's exactly what my worst problem is. I hate accidently tapping twitter app buttons when I use Slide From Buttom gestures. I tried mailing the author but he did not respond. And I stick back to Activator version 1.5.8. Is there any fix on this issue with beta 3?
Nothing yet....the author/developer just shrugged it off and is very ignorant about the bug.

Have been reporting this since 1.6.0, but even during beta testing of 1.6.1 and final release of 1.6.1 the author denied it being a bug.
Gave me very incorrect and lame excuses and explanations of why it is working like that currently, even though my youtube recordings show clearly what is wrong.

I also have to stick to 1.5.8 until the author sees the light.
Just hope some other developer step up and bring out something better than Activator.
 

mr.shadowx

macrumors newbie
Feb 7, 2012
5
0
he said it was the way it designed when I asked him about the bug. I thanked him for his piece of ***** design.
 

mr.shadowx

macrumors newbie
Feb 7, 2012
5
0
at least he could offer a "Switcher Delay" option as in Zephyr. That might solve our problem but I'm not sure about that.
 

Z¡G

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
19
0
Pittsburgh, PA
Nothing yet....the author/developer just shrugged it off and is very ignorant about the bug.

Have been reporting this since 1.6.0, but even during beta testing of 1.6.1 and final release of 1.6.1 the author denied it being a bug.
Gave me very incorrect and lame excuses and explanations of why it is working like that currently, even though my youtube recordings show clearly what is wrong.

I also have to stick to 1.5.8 until the author sees the light.
Just hope some other developer step up and bring out something better than Activator.
Hey same here man. I know this thread is kinda old, but ima throw my 2 cents in.lol

So I emailed Ryan Petrich about this myself.

Of coarse I told him that the slide in gestures interfere with whatever app you are in. Especially games with the slide in gestures.

I personally use Slide up from screen bottom-right to activate the switcher. I dont want to use Zephyr because if I did, I wouldnt be able to use "slide up from screen bottom-left" to activate MC Pro, or Backgrounder. So for me Zephyer is not even an option.

Any way, After i told him that whatever my finger slides over gets activated when i go to activate the switcher and that it was driving me crazy, and i wish it was like 1.5.8 where no slide gesture activate whatever your finger goes over when using the slide gestures.......His response was pretty much this: (not exact words, but this is what I remember of the email)

"I disabled that feature intentionally to stop that from happening at all. 1.5.8. Not all apps are compatible"

Okay.......How that makes any sense i have no idea. He intentionally made the slide gestures do this to stop what it causes from happening???????????????. He said not all apps are compatible because i first brought this up with use with Terminal. Sliding up to activate the switcher(or backgrounding) would fu** up my command and drove me nuts. he pretty much told me to deal with it.

I just said screw it, and started using 1.5.8 again.

Then Activator 1.6.2 came out, I tried it, same problems (not as bad in some apps tho).

I emailed him saying the slide in gestures are still broken and it is very inconvenient.

he said this (generally):

Please stop emailing me about this issue. Activator 1.5.8 slide gestures are flawed.Activator is suppose cancel the event (button you may have slid over during the gesture) at the time the action is executed.

Which it does not. It works in the Phone.app, and a couple other apps, but that is it.

My theory:

Well I truly belive that what changed is for the better of the functionality of the tweak in general and probably does something good despite it breaking the slide gestures. He would rather have verything else be really stable then mke the slide gestures work like they did on 1.5.8.

The thing is........Is users don't give a sh** about the lines of code that are generally better to have.

I dont know if this is the case, but I would rather have a memory hogging Activator with slide gestures that dont activate any button i slide over then have a very well put together and localized Activator that activates any button i slide over during a slide in gesture.

What we need to do is get some kind of very large petition and email Ryan asking him nicely to please make slide gestures work like they use to. We need a mass amount of people to do this or the slide gestures will always remain useless. Who's in?
 

iPh0n3Add!ct

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2011
10
0
Hey same here man. I know this thread is kinda old, but ima throw my 2 cents in.lol

So I emailed Ryan Petrich about this myself.

Of coarse I told him that the slide in gestures interfere with whatever app you are in. Especially games with the slide in gestures.

I personally use Slide up from screen bottom-right to activate the switcher. I dont want to use Zephyr because if I did, I wouldnt be able to use "slide up from screen bottom-left" to activate MC Pro, or Backgrounder. So for me Zephyer is not even an option.

Any way, After i told him that whatever my finger slides over gets activated when i go to activate the switcher and that it was driving me crazy, and i wish it was like 1.5.8 where no slide gesture activate whatever your finger goes over when using the slide gestures.......His response was pretty much this: (not exact words, but this is what I remember of the email)

"I disabled that feature intentionally to stop that from happening at all. 1.5.8. Not all apps are compatible"

Okay.......How that makes any sense i have no idea. He intentionally made the slide gestures do this to stop what it causes from happening???????????????. He said not all apps are compatible because i first brought this up with use with Terminal. Sliding up to activate the switcher(or backgrounding) would fu** up my command and drove me nuts. he pretty much told me to deal with it.

I just said screw it, and started using 1.5.8 again.

Then Activator 1.6.2 came out, I tried it, same problems (not as bad in some apps tho).

I emailed him saying the slide in gestures are still broken and it is very inconvenient.

he said this (generally):

Please stop emailing me about this issue. Activator 1.5.8 slide gestures are flawed.Activator is suppose cancel the event (button you may have slid over during the gesture) at the time the action is executed.

Which it does not. It works in the Phone.app, and a couple other apps, but that is it.

My theory:

Well I truly belive that what changed is for the better of the functionality of the tweak in general and probably does something good despite it breaking the slide gestures. He would rather have verything else be really stable then mke the slide gestures work like they did on 1.5.8.

The thing is........Is users don't give a sh** about the lines of code that are generally better to have.

I dont know if this is the case, but I would rather have a memory hogging Activator with slide gestures that dont activate any button i slide over then have a very well put together and localized Activator that activates any button i slide over during a slide in gesture.

What we need to do is get some kind of very large petition and email Ryan asking him nicely to please make slide gestures work like they use to. We need a mass amount of people to do this or the slide gestures will always remain useless. Who's in?
Asking nicely won't work.
Before I rant about the stupidity and godly behaviour that some of those ignorant bastards have, let me suggest an alternative to you:

I use QuickDo in combination with Activator 1.6.2.
I disabled the Slide from bottom in Activator, but enabled them in QuickDo.
Statusbar gestures work better in Activator, so I have disabled them in QuickDo.

That way I have something way better than just Activator or just QuickDo alone.

Shout if you have any other questions! :D
 

Z¡G

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
19
0
Pittsburgh, PA
Asking nicely won't work.
Before I rant about the stupidity and godly behaviour that some of those ignorant bastards have, let me suggest an alternative to you:

I use QuickDo in combination with Activator 1.6.2.
I disabled the Slide from bottom in Activator, but enabled them in QuickDo.
Statusbar gestures work better in Activator, so I have disabled them in QuickDo.

That way I have something way better than just Activator or just QuickDo alone.

Shout if you have any other questions! :D
WOW! Thank you for that. I will try that out. Does QuickDo support slide up from screen bottom-left/right?
 

Z¡G

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
19
0
Pittsburgh, PA
I am testing out QuickDo rite now on my iPod Touch 4G. Very impressed. However I am still kinda dissapointed that I need to large tweaks just use one gesture.lol.Any way to stop the little light up on the bottom of the screen when sliding up? Either, that is not a deal breaker.lol

Nevertheless, thank you for this suggestion. I had no idea there was another Activator like tweak. I have heard of QuickDo before but I had no idea what it actually did. I just thought it's gestures brought up icon shortcuts.lol
 

iPh0n3Add!ct

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2011
10
0
I am testing out QuickDo rite now on my iPod Touch 4G. Very impressed. However I am still kinda dissapointed that I need to large tweaks just use one gesture.lol.Any way to stop the little light up on the bottom of the screen when sliding up? Either, that is not a deal breaker.lol

Nevertheless, thank you for this suggestion. I had no idea there was another Activator like tweak. I have heard of QuickDo before but I had no idea what it actually did. I just thought it's gestures brought up icon shortcuts.lol
Glad you figured it out.

You can make the bar disappear by setting its color to a transparent color.

Quick Do -> Settings -> Color and Alpha -> Slide Alpha to the left to make it more transparent.
 

Z¡G

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
19
0
Pittsburgh, PA
Glad you figured it out.

You can make the bar disappear by setting its color to a transparent color.

Quick Do -> Settings -> Color and Alpha -> Slide Alpha to the left to make it more transparent.
Thanks I just discovered this moments ago. Was testing out a few things on my iPod 4G and just installed on my iPhone 4 after updating Activator.

I am truly grateful. I am seriously considering asking Ryan why QuickDo can perform slide up gesture perfectly and his dont.lol

So like........The status bar gestures? Whats up with them> Do they not work at all. I mean Activators work well, except for when you are in certain games. Like Cut The Rope for example/

Do you have to disable notification center to use slide down gesture with QuickDo?

----------

Oh never mind. I just found that each gesture area can be disabled/enabled, and I disabled everything except slide up. Sucks it activates notification center when using it. Tho Activator does do a better job with this. Just not in some games i guess.
 

Z¡G

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
19
0
Pittsburgh, PA
Wait. I figured out how to bypass the NC pulling down when you use a slide down gesture from QuickDo. Have to disable NC, then choose you own gesture. Which obviously would be center slide down. The you can use right and left for other things.lol. Activator figured that out for me I guess.