Activator updated to v1.5!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by THE dAY, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. THE dAY macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #1
    Adds a new features and uses less memory and less CPU.
    New features include ability to open/use Default/AppStore apps from Lockscreen!

    For me this is a big plus, we can now add quick gestures to open the Camera app quickly on Lockscreen, no need to buy 3rd party Cydia apps to get same feature.

    Also can set up whatever flashlight app you have to open up quickly on lockscreen too.
    Typing this from my phone so my post is not as comprehensive as would have liked.

    Great update!
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    I was trying to figure out what was updated. Thanks!
     
  3. IMADV8, Jan 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011

    IMADV8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #3
    Look for SpringFlash in Cydia. It'll let you use Activator to turn on the LED. No need for a separate flashlight app. I've got it set to turn on when I hit both volume buttons.
     
  4. QuarterSwede, Jan 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011

    QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    +1 SpringFlash is an excellent add-on. It comes in handy a lot more than I thought it would.
     
  5. crovian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #5
    do you mean springflash?

    if so, I installed that but it doesn't work when the phone is asleep.
    I set holding down volume button anywhere in activator to initiate springflash but it doesn't work when my phone's asleep.

    definitely needs an update to include usage when the phone is in sleep.
     
  6. THE dAY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #6
    Thanks, just checked it out in Cydia, funny, for some reason I always thought it was a paid app.

    Anyhow, I already have a great flashlight app that I got free from the Appstore with a beautifully designed interface and strobe feature but thanks for the tip!
     
  7. shakeman0 macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #7
    Cool! Thanks for the heads up. Now I can access my Camera and Flashlight from the lockscreen!
     
  8. THE dAY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #8
    There is a new "Menus" option, underneath it says "Manage custom Activator menus". Does anyone know how this works?
     
  9. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #9
    I can't seem to get the camera to activate on the lockscreen. I'm trying to use the "hold status bar" gesture but it only seems to work on the homescreen.

    When I go under "At Lock Screen" there's no option to select the Camera app. If I go under "Anywhere" it's there but only works on the homescreen. I'm sure there's an easy way to do this and I'm just missing it. Would anyone help? :)
     
  10. THE dAY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #10
    Do you have the new Activator v1.5.0 updated today?

    What you're describing is the same issue I had previous to this new version.

    Hmm, just tried "hold Statusbar" on Lockscreen to open Camera app and it works.

    With the new version, under "At Lock Screen" there now is option to select Camera and other apps.
     
  11. IMADV8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #11
    Yeah, dunno where I got the "to" from. Edited my original post to reflect this.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Thank you. I just installed it.
     
  13. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #13
    Yes, I have version 1.5 and for some reason the System Apps don't show up if I go through the "At Lock Screen" menu. I can get the apps to show up in the "At Home Screen" and "Anywhere" menus.

    I just reinstalled it and it's the same thing. Is it because my phone is using 4.1 and not 4.2?
     
  14. THE dAY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #14
    Hmm, in the change log it does say added support for 4.2 but I'm on 4.0.1 (iPhone 4) and it works for me. 4.1 should work fine as well.

    When I was on the previous version I had the same scenario as you where I could see the Default/Appstore apps in the "Anyehere" menu but still could not access those apps on the Lockscreen. Also I was not able to see those apps in the "At Lock Screen" menu.

    I thought maybe a reinstall would fix the issue for you but you already did that, I don't know what else to think of?
     
  15. noiceT macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Catalina Wine Mixer
  16. THE dAY, Jan 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011

    THE dAY thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    SFV California
    #16
    Does anyone else have an issue where if you use gesture from the lockscreen while phone is asleep and aftewards go to homescreen, the status bar clock is missing.

    Putting phone to sleep and entering homescreen again brings back the clock.
     
  17. choice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #17
    +1 iPhone 4, 4.1

    Same problem here. I don't believe it can be done.
     
  18. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #18
    Why "more strict API use"? It broke ScreenDim :(.
     
  19. Brownski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #19
    I'm having this exact issue. What other JB apps/tweaks do you have installed? Maybe we can sort it out between the two of us.
     
  20. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #20
    Going down the list in Cydia (leaving out toggles, fonts and themes)...

    Activator (of course) :)
    AppInfo
    biteSMS
    BytaFont
    DefaultFlashOff
    FakeClockUp
    file:// for MobileSafari
    iFile
    Lockscreen Clock Hide
    My3G
    OpenSSH
    PrivaCy
    Remove Background
    SBsettings
    SnapTap
    WinterBoard

    Activator 1.5.1 was released but didn't help with our problem.
     
  21. Brownski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #21
    Ok, figured out my issue at least: if you have a passcode lock, you can't launch apps from the lock screen. I disabled that and was able to set my camera to launch at the LS.
     
  22. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #22
    Yep, that's the same thing I discovered. If you disable the passcode, you can assign the actions to the default apps. Once you turn it back on, it disables the ability to launch those apps. I hope the developer will change this in a future release.
     
  23. rs4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #23
    Thanks for the heads up for the activator update and springflash.

    Works well for me on 4.2.1
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  25. fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #25
    Well that's an easy enough fix. I'm keeping my passcode lock though. [Soup Nazi voice]No lockscreen camera for me....Next![/Soup Nazi voice] :D
     

Share This Page