Admit It: You Recently Bought a Vista PC

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by pimentoLoaf, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
  3. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
  4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    What !! ..... buy a PC? :eek:

    I had 20 years of that crap ..... NO THANKS.
    i"ll stick with my Mac Pro, Mac Mini and MacBook if you don't mind. :) :)

    FJ :cool:
     
  5. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    I have (shortly will be had) Vista on my iMac, does that count?
     
  6. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    No I haven't, why would I buy a Windows based PC?
     
  7. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #7
    Ain't no mounting high enough.
    Ain't no docx low enough.
    Ain't no vista wide enough
    To keep me from Unix.
     
  8. pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #8
    I'll accept that.
     
  9. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #9
    If and when nVidia releases the 8800 or better for the Mac Pro I will installl Vista… :rolleyes:
     
  10. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #10
    My dad needed to buy a computer for his nurse, and I persistently told him to get a Mac Mini, but after my night class, I see a giant HP box with Vista in the back of the car. It's funny because he was trying to do a screen sharing conference with someone, and he couldn't because Vista's security wouldn't let him, so he did it on my iMac. :) I didn't rub it in his face, though, even though I so easily could have.
     
  11. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    You missed a great opportunity :D

    FJ
     
  12. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #12
    Indeed.

    Vista? I think not.
     
  13. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  14. barkins macrumors regular

    barkins

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #14
    Vista is horrid from what I hear. A good friend of mine works at a Circuit City and the stories he tells me about Vista shoppers.....

    Endless boot time.

    Random errors.

    Slow.

    And annoying warnings.

    Why would anyone bother getting Vista when OS X is so much better? :D
     
  15. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #15
    Perhaps, but I've converted him already; he wants to replace his tablet with a MacBook and he owns a lot of Apple stock now, too. I think he just bought a PC just to make the IT guys happy even though they're robbing him hundreds of dollars just to get it networked every morning. :rolleyes:
     
  16. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Then you are forgiven my son ;)

    FJ
     
  17. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #17
    Thank you, Father Jack. I was planning on going to confession tomorrow, but I think the most holy one (SJ) will let this go. :D
     
  18. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #18
    i've gone my whole life owning nothing but macintosh computers. i'm not about to change that now, especially not for vista. most recent mac: macbook.
     
  19. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #19
    I do sort of feel bad whenever I use a windows box because I can't remember how to use a lot of it. When I switched, I vowed to myself that I would stay current on both platforms to ensure no problems when using a PC and to maintain my status of "the computer whiz," but the Apple platform was clearly more exciting, and Mac OS X is a much more exciting, simpler, and efficient operating system than Windows.
     
  20. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #20
    The question is: what do you have to confess?



    irmongoose
     

    Attached Files:

  21. pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #21
    Well, to answer my own question...

    Yes. An HP-dv9000t CTO (Configure to Order). It has an HDTV tuner that plugs in so I don't (yet) need to get a set-top box for my antique TV's.

    Why?

    Because a good many old things I have for PC's don't run on Macs, and I didn't want to trust the beta-Bootcamp with all of it. (Games, mostly, though a bunch of things I programmed up with Turbo C++ and have been keeping current over the years are another reason.)

    As for the alleged problems quoted above? All systems, Mac & PC, have random errors: currently, I can't get Entourage on my powerBook to stop locking-up periodically for no reason except by rebooting, and Safari stops working after about an hour almost always (thank gosh for Firefox!); the Vista warnings (Unnecessary Asinine Communications) can be easily turned off; endless boot times is often due to the crapware that PC vendors load their systems with --erase it and the problem goes away; slow is true IF there isn't enough RAM or the processor is optimized for XP (say, running under 1.5ghz).

    I have Vista Ultimate and so far (2.5 weeks), it's as stable as osX.
     
  22. mustard macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #22
    Just wait you are only halfway to a problem.

    But in all seriousness - no Vista for me.
     
  23. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I have many pc's with Xp for the family and recently bought Vista 64bit.
    big mistake!!!

    shortly after purchased my first Mac (Macbook) and because this took so long to deliver my first 24@ Imac...

    Vista hasnt been booted since
     
  24. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
    #24
    Lenovo ThinkPad t60, for my dad who has to have windows only stuff to get into a corporate intranet system.
     
  25. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #25
    Had to buy 9 laptops week before last - XP Pro
     

Share This Page