Adobe CC professionals who purchased a 2016 MBP, chime in here...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by caddison, Dec 3, 2016.

  1. caddison macrumors member

    caddison

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1
    I have a 2.9 1TB 460 15" on order that should be shipping this week, and these graphic glitch reports are freaking me out. I'm trying not to let it bother me, but I tend to have bad luck with electronics.

    Any Adobe CC power users with similar configurations out there NOT having any problems?

    While I appreciate comments in other problem threads from people who are trouble-free, it's hard to know if they're just word processing, web surfing, performing other light usage tasks... I'd like some feedback from illustrators, design professionals, video editors, etc. who are pushing the limits of their machines using Adobe CC.

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Worst case scenario: if you get a lemon, Apple will replace it as a result.

    So I wouldn't worry too much. :)
     
  3. caddison thread starter macrumors member

    caddison

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #3
    Coming from someone with a username like yours, that's pretty sound advice... ;)

    Seriously, though...

    I would like to hear from people who have been using Adobe CC successfully... not just to know if they're problem free, but if they have any other comments to share.
     
  4. runner77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    I am in the same boat and very interested about your experience with CC apps on MBP 15". I'll get mine on Monday and can report by then, but would love to hear anyones experience already.

    @caddison Yes, if you get a faulty device, Apple will take care of it. I have no doubts that they will fix this issue and adapt their production to fault free devices. No question about it. I once had a faulty graphics card that broke after 4 years and Apple replaced it for free, despite it being out of warranty for 3 years at that point. That's one reason why we pay more for Apple devices (than similar devices from other brands), their support is top notch!
     
  5. happyhippo1337 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #5
    I can honestly say that the battery on my new 15' standard model is phenomenal. No glitches anymore, close to 10 hours of real-world usage. That only happened after I did a clean install and explicitly left out Adobe CC stuff this time.

    I very rarely used Illustrator, but depend on Photoshop, Lightroom and Acrobat DC. After seeing (via Little Snitch firewall) that Adobe CC kept ~ 15 connections to different IPs open at the same time, I was baffled.

    Performance was ok on the CC Apps I used, but overall the whole system wasn't running very well. That drastically changed now. I am really beginning to see Adobe CC as a giant ******* mess that I'm gonna try to avoid as good as I can from now on (hello Affinity etc.)
     
  6. caddison thread starter macrumors member

    caddison

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #6
    Just in case this thread died early because of the weekend, I wanted to give it a bump to see if anyone else wanted to chime in... thanks!
     
  7. Rafterman macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #7
    Thats great advice - if you could just walk into any store and get a replacement. But you can't. BTO's that are "defective" (if they even are, we don't know for sure) could take a few weeks to get a replacement.
     
  8. Sohappy macrumors member

    Sohappy

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    #8
    I'll have mine tomorrow and I won't install anything from adobe and no migration since it will be my first mac. It'll be affinity Photo, Final Cut Pro, motion 5. I'll report if I have battery issues.
     
  9. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    You're not disputing the fact that you will still get a replacement. Yes it'll take a little while to wait because they've just been released, though this is no different to every other brand-new portable Mac that was DOA.
     
  10. Charcold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    #10
    Been using mine primarily with CC apps since I purchased it few weeks ago. It has been working great for me. I have had what seems like an odd issue with Adobe Media Encoder where about halfway through the fan just stops blowing and the render speed slows down. It continues to export, but the computer just starts running cool and and silent. If you have any specific questions I'm happy to answer.
     
  11. Loge macrumors 68030

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #11
    No problems so far with Lightroom, Illustrator or Acrobat. But I wouldn't say I was exactly pushing it to extremes.
     
  12. jjjoseph macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #12
    Adobe CC is not very friendly to Metal and OpenCL at the moment, and those are what OS X is pushing. I have found CUDA to be the only solution for Adobe CC. I work at a film and tv post production company, and we have tested every type for work flow possible on every OS and hardware setup. Linux, Windows, OS X, Intel/AMD, AMD(ATI)/NVIDIA.

    FOR ADOBE CC, The fastest is NVIDIA/CUDA on PC. Second is NVIDIA/CUDA on OS X then it goes down from there. I was personally bummed that Apple is sticking with AMD GPU's.. I don't want to get into an argument over it.. Its too exhausting, but working in TV and FILM for 20 years, things go up and down, but thats the state of things currently.. IN ADOBE CC that is..

    BTW this is for Premiere, After Effects and Media Encoder, it goes down in terms of power needs from there, for us..
     
  13. xmonkey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Location:
    CA
    #13
    No issues with Photoshop or Bridge so far on mine. Seems most of the Adobe issues are coming from Premiere/Media Encoder side (don't subscribe to those so I can't test).
     
  14. PrideHeart macrumors newbie

    PrideHeart

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    #14
    I'm thinking the same thing. As for those that say Apple will replace it, sure they will, but then it'll take another few weeks.
     
  15. carperjosh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    #15


    this video shows the lag I'm getting on Lightroom this is on the base NTB model though.
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 601

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    SELL $BTC
  17. kingjames1970 macrumors regular

    kingjames1970

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #17
    Got my 15" (2.7/460/1TB SSD) hooked up to an LG 27UD88 4K monitor and often use both screens.

    Lightroom is noticeably faster than my late 2013 iMac (3.5 i7 iMac/4GB graphics/3TB fusion drive). It zips along with no lag at all on. No issues at all with Photoshop, Illustrator or InDesign - can't really give a comparison because I never really had an issue before. I'm delighted with the performance enough to ditch my idea of getting a new iMac when they come out. The only problem is that I have to keep checking I've made duplicates of files because it happens so quick you think it hasn't worked! The SSD is insane.

    I'll be first in the queue to get the Ultra 5K and the 4K will become another screen for proofs etc. Keen to see what the performance will be like and will rethink keeping the 4K if it is poor but I needed to do work now and didn't want to jump between the old iMac and new MBP. (Slight bitch - I wish Apple would line up their ducks with with new launches - if the discount is gone because they don't go on sale until Jan, I'll just get another 27UD88. Bit like selling the iPhone 7 without the new ear pods even though you've made it a selling point.)
     
  18. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #18
    13 TB 3.3/16/512. The majority of my job is not Adobe CC but being the only IT person in my organization, I have to do a bit of everything. The laptop has handled photoshop, illustrator, premiere, after effects (small projects on each) all 2017 versions and even a quick DVD author in Encore CS6 without the slightest hiccup. Laptop is sometimes hooked to a Dell 4K via a $20 Amazon USB-c to display port cable and no issues there either.
     
  19. skids929 macrumors 6502a

    skids929

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #19
    Hopefully you made the extra investment and purchased Apple Care then. That should allow you to sleep soundly for a long period.
     
  20. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #20
    @caddison Yes, if you get a faulty device, Apple will take care of it. I have no doubts that they will fix this issue and adapt their production to fault free devices. No question about it. I once had a faulty graphics card that broke after 4 years and Apple replaced it for free, despite it being out of warranty for 3 years at that point. That's one reason why we pay more for Apple devices (than similar devices from other brands), their support is top notch![/QUOTE]

    That's atypical. Many of us had to pay for repairs on the 2011 macbook pros before they released a repair program. Applecare had expired just a little less than 6 months earlier. They didn't acknowledge it until almost 2015, when machines were failing long before that. The refurbished logic boards don't last as long in my experience.

    I have paid for replacement batteries when the old ones have swollen up and affected the trackpad. It seems a few people on here receive replacements without charges, but it isn't their default policy, and they take way too long to acknowledge certain problems.

    On a side note, out of warranty repairs are generally flat rate, assuming no user inflicted damage to the machine, so you pay around $350 and they fix anything that either needs replacement or appears to be borderline.
     
  21. webberade macrumors member

    webberade

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #21
    No issues on my 13" 2.9 / 8gb / 512 SSD with Touch Bar. I have been using Adobe CC: Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign for a few weeks and haven't noticed any issues that other people are experiencing.
     
  22. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #22
    how you liking that LG, I have it on order through B&H. Was thinking of the LG 5k but I like the idea of multiple inputs.

    Any video users here? (premiere or After Effects?)
     
  23. Kcetech1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    #23
    Video editor here. about all I can do is parrot jjjoseph up on post 12. for my production work I have flipped to CUDA/PC a few years back.
     
  24. brendanlim macrumors newbie

    brendanlim

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #24
    Haven't installed CC on purpose and been using Final Cut as a "temporary" solution. I'm waiting until updates go out for Lightroom and Premiere Pro before installing just in case.
     
  25. kingjames1970 macrumors regular

    kingjames1970

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #25
    It's very good, colour calibrated out of the box.
     

Share This Page