advice on vista 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by babsvii, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. babsvii macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    i need someones advice... i dont know much about computers when it comes to drivers and all this crap im going through concerning installing windows vista 64 on my iMac.... so im wondering if i should keep the vista 64 and just trying some how to figure this out. or would it be in my best interest to try and take the vista 64 back and get vista 32 or windows xp??? when i call the place i got my computer from they just tell me there is no way i can put 64 on my imac... now i know from other threads that this can be done... before i got my mac i came on this site and asked what i should get... i got lots of ppl telling me to get vista 64, but no one mentioned that i would have to find all the drivers manually... now where are those ppl who suggested i should get this, and can they tell me how to do this... like i said i dont know much about this i really need someone who can walk me though this...i think i wouldnt have too much problem if i could figure out how to get the internet working which im sure consists of finding another driver.... im sorry if i sound like an idiot. i really dont know what im doing.

    what is the difference between 32 and 64 bit?

    help pls. :(
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Go with 64-bit. Its much more stable and also does not cap at 3GB of RAM.
     
  3. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    so i cant take back the vista 64 so im stuck with it... now i really need help :(
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    All the drivers you need for 64-bit Vista are in your Leopard recovery disc that came with your Mac. No need to look for them all over the internet. You are not necessarily stuck with Vista 64-bit. You can return the whole thing if you wish, but I don't know the return policy on opened software, most likely no.
     
  5. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    i cant take the 64 back i called.... i really want to keep it but its not as easy as getting the drivers from the mac disk.... the mac disk doesnt have the 64bit drivers... when i put the disk in it tells me that its not supported.... unless u know something i dont...
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  7. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    how did u get the windows 64bit drivers?
     
  8. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    i have the newest one... 24" 3.06 with the ati card.
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Then it should be capable of running them. Hold on, let me check something.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Just found this little article on Apple's site.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1846

    It says basically that only MacBook Pros and Mac Pros are 64-bit supported. Now, that is bull crap. Your iMac is capable of running 64-bit software. Here, I'll give you the instructions to find and run the correct drivers using Vista.


    EDIT ----

    here ya go!!

    In the Windows Vista Start Menu Type “cmd”, then right-click on the program that appears and choose “Run As Administrator”.

    Then enter;

    D:
    cd "Boot Camp\Drivers\Apple"
    msiexec /i BootCamp64.msi

    This will bypass the apple lame-brain that says that the new fully capable iMac cannot run a windows 64 bit OS. (not true)

    Be advised, this is the same procedure to install 64-bit on a MacBook, so look out for differences.
     
  11. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    thanx i think you have been the most helpfull... i wish i was at home so i could try this... but when i get home from work ill try it and see what happens... after that will it allow me to download the drivers?
     
  12. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #12
    You don't have to return your 64-Bit version of Vista in order to get a 32-Bit edition, if you really want to do this. Your Vista license allows to choose between the architectures, and you can order a 32-Bit installation medium directly from Microsoft if you need one. It'll cost around 20 USD/EUR. And no, this is not a new license, just a new Vista DVD.

    On a machine with 8 GB RAM or more, 64-Bit Vista really blows the other operating systems (including Leopard) out of the water. On a 4 GB machine, the differences are probably not that spectacular.

    Apple does not support 64-Bit Vista on iMacs, but you can manually install the missing 64-Bit drivers from a Mac Pro Boot Camp disk which are floating around the Internet. In any case, you should download your graphics drivers directly from the ATI or nVidia webpage and install their drivers -- their newer and faster than the drivers provided by Apple AND they will support 64-Bit Windows.
     
  13. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    i want to stay with the 64 its just getting it set up that is being a pain... the internet on the windows side isnt working so downloading the drivers is not working out too well for me... im going to try what the other guy suggested... hopefully this will help me out so i can get everything working.
     
  14. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    It will allow you to use the drivers found in the Leopard disc.
     
  15. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    really? sweet... that sounds so much easier then what i have been reading from other ppl! i really hope this works. u are a life saver... ill let u know when i get home how it goes!!! thanx a million :D
     
  16. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Like I said before, its a method to bypass the check. However, its not 100% guaranteed because this is how we bypass the check in the new Al MacBooks.
     
  17. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    ok well i really hope this works... it seems alot easier then everything else i have been reading... once i get home from work i will try it and see what happens. :)
     
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Good luck:cool:
     
  19. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #19
    I already have 32 bit Win 7 RC1 installed on the same Mac as Babs, I'm going to see if I can load the 64 bit version with this tip.
     
  20. idreaminbeige macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #20
    my vista64bit install has worked when i found the 64bit bootcamp driver (2.1) on the leopard dvd.

    only trouble was the refusal to install 'keyagent' and 'MacHAL' which I understand has been an ongoing issue. (if i clicked ignore then the install went on to complete) Without keyagent the function keys on the keyboard wont allow me to eject disks, change volume etc. which i can live without.

    MacHAL seems to be more serious though as it means Windows doesnt communicate well with my ATI card, leaving me with no 16:10 resolution options except the native 1920x1200.

    Has anyone else found this?
     
  21. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    I'm not getting this to work? Do I type it exactually how u show it???
     
  22. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    I think I might have gotten it to work fingers crossed!! :)
     
  23. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    I had to ignore key agent and mac hal. What do these things do for me? Should I try and find the
    Drivers for them somewhere else??
     
  24. babsvii thread starter macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    Damn it this isn't working how do I get the drivers? I'm getting fed up with this ****!!! I got the disk to work and I can see the 64drivers but they won't install!!!
     
  25. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #25
    I just followed it exactly and got all my drivers installed. Thanks again for posting that. Is their any extra drivers for the GT120 GPU? I tried installing the correct ones off of Nvidia's website and the install wouldn't complete.
     

Share This Page