[Advice] Which notebook to choose?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jav6454, Jul 2, 2008.

1. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

Hi,

I am new to the Mac Notebook world and would really appreciate some advice on the following. I don't know in which forum to put this as there really isn't one general forum to answer my question.

I am going to buy around October [since the Mac notebook lineup is expected to refresh by that time] a new MacBook or MacBook Pro. Problem is I don't know which. Budget wise there's no problem as I've saved just shy of $2300.

My uses are for college [iWork, Office, iCal, enginnering stuff] and normal Internet usage [such as YouTube, iTunes shopping, e-mail, Web]. I also will also run Windows Vista on it [either through Boot Camp or Parallels as I need some Windows based programs running]. I also do some photo and video editing on family/friends stuff on my current Windows based machine.

My current machine is an HP dv1660se, 2GB RAM, 1.66GHz Core 2 Duo, 80 GB HDD, 14.1" Screen and no video card.

I am wanting something portable like my current screen size and laptop weight [so if I choose MacBook Pro it be the 15" one] and powerful enough to run every program I need, including dreaded Windows.

However, I was reading the Buyer's Guide that MacBooks are consumer laptops where as the MacBook Pro is more professional oriented.

I am torn which to choose. Any advice would high be useful. Thanks

2. KingYaba macrumors 68040

KingYaba

3. macworkerbee macrumors 6502

From you're described usage I would bet that a macbook would be a good choice for you, especially because of the portability.

On the other hand, if you have the money the mbp is a GREAT machine.

4. Shackler macrumors 6502a

Shackler

Agreed. Unless you do have the $$$ for a MBP

5. jav6454 thread starter macrumors P6

jav6454

Oops forgot the budget.

Well budget is $2300 USD. I have saved alot for the Mac of my dreams:apple:

6. KingYaba macrumors 68040

KingYaba