Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jordannv2

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 24, 2016
California
Hello everybody, I'm new here, just decided to ask a quick question.

I'm currently a high school student, I usually use my current laptop for YouTube, light games (minecraft,LoL etc..), web browsing and school tasks (keynote, PowerPoint etc.) Portability doesn't bother me since my laptop is always at home.

But now I'm left with 2 choices.

the base model of the 13 inch with a magic keyboard 2 and a magic mouse 2.
or, the base model of 15 inch without accessories. (ofcourse I have my own mouse but Apple's magic mouse 2 is beautiful piece of technology)

So, Should I get the 13 inch with accessories or the 15 inch without? its really a simple question but I just need you guys' opinion on this.

phrehdd

macrumors 601
Oct 25, 2008
How large is the screen on your present model?

I was unhappy when they stopped producing 17" models so I tend to favour a larger screen. If you have a 13" now and are happy then either would be a good choice. If you have a 15" or larger, I think the 13" will feel a touch cramped.

As well, you didn't mention what specific models you were looking at as buying options as well as RAM desired.

eRondeau

macrumors 65816
Mar 3, 2004
Canada's South Coast
I used the 2008 13" Aluminum Macbook (non-Pro, but upgraded with an OWC SSD) for 6 years quite happily until a co-worker literally gave me her 2009 15" Macbook Pro. It had been dropped and wouldn't boot-up, she bought a new one and said if I could fix it I could have it. I fixed it. I then gave my 13" away (pay it forward right?).