Airplane mode + control centre + lock screen = idiotic

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by matttye, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #1
    I was just playing about with my phone and I realised that airplane mode is accessible in control centre when your phone is locked. I have now turned off control centre due to this ridiculousness.

    Why why why would Apple allow this? It about renders find my iPhone completely useless if your phone falls into the wrong hands.
     
  2. geoffm33 macrumors 6502

    geoffm33

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
  3. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #3

    Right. Another thing that shouldn't be allowed without entering a passcode.
     
  4. geoffm33 macrumors 6502

    geoffm33

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #4
    I agree with that.

    But since it's possible to render Find My iPhone useless by being able to turn off a locked phone, there is no reason to disable control center from the lock screen.
     
  5. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #5

    I take your point!

    I didn't realise you could turn off the phone when it was locked until you said it.
     
  6. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #6
    Right but disabling control center on lock mode stops people from playing around with your phone in a safe manner. By disabling it, they have to turn it on to do anything, which means it can be tracked, except if the sim is removed I guess.
     
  7. DarkJaye macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #7
    Even if you can't turn off the phone without a passcode, you could still force restart it by holding down home + power. The fact is there needs to be a way to reset the device for troubleshooting and problems outside of software.

    As long as that exists, it will always be trivial to turn off the device or disable it if you have it in your possession.
     
  8. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #8

    The obvious solution to that would be to make it so home+power can only restart the phone, not simply shut it down.
     
  9. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #9
    That's the same thing.
     
  10. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #10

    No it's not. When the phone is turned on it can be found using find my iPhone, when it's turned off it can't.
     
  11. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #11
    You could turn it off anyway. DFU Mode.
     
  12. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #12
    Uh, why don't you just disable Control Center from the lockscreen only then?
     
  13. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #13
    You can still take out the SIM card.
     
  14. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #14

    Anything that makes it more difficult is a good thing. Someone might not have a paper clip handy if they've just stolen a phone on the street or something ;)
     
  15. Maetzle macrumors regular

    Maetzle

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Austria
    #15
    But when you restart the phone you have to enter you SIM code again. So sim code -> no cellular -> no phone tracking.

    Or am I missing something?
     
  16. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #16

    I don't have a SIM code set.
     
  17. njchris macrumors regular

    njchris

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #17
    Is find my phone related to the SIM? I didn't think so. I thought it was attached to that device until you turn it off (by entering your password) in the settings? That's why if you don't disable it when giving it to someone else they can't fully set the device up as new and use find my phone.

    Unless I'm misunderstanding something.... which happens. :)
     
  18. matttye thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #18

    Pretty sure they just mean that you wouldn't be able to locate the phone using find my iPhone if there's no SIM card in because it wouldn't have a connection.
     
  19. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #19
    The truth is that iPhones are becoming less valuable to steal, because the whole activation lock thing really prevents most anyone from using your phone to be resold. If your phone is locked, it removes the ability for them to access any important data for theft as well, so iPhone theft has gone down as criminals realize that they're stealing bricks rather than useful things to resell.
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Something that was there back in iOS 7 and similarly discussed in its early days about a year ago. It's how it is and the way to deal with it, if needed/wanted, is to disable Control Center from the lock screen.

    It would be nice that if for at least Airplane mode it would ask for TouchID/passcode before enabling, similar to how it would if you asked Siri to do it from the lock screen, but for whatever reason it's not set up like that with Control Center (even though it is with Siri).
     
  21. Donoban macrumors 6502a

    Donoban

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    #21

    You're out of control mattye.
     
  22. LordQ macrumors 68040

    LordQ

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #22
    Completely agree on turning off the phone requiring your passcode or another passcode. That should be at least an option!
     
  23. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #23
    Its useless anyway, since you can bypass that.
     
  24. LordQ macrumors 68040

    LordQ

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #24
    How can you bypass a feature that does not exist?
     
  25. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #25
    It's been a thing in jailbreaking circles for a long time. And you can bypass it easily
     

Share This Page