Airport basestation 5.3.1 available in SW-update

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Tosser, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. Tosser macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Yup, it's a 10.6MB update.

    AirPort-baseopdatering 2008-001 inkluderer generelle rettelser og kompatibilitetsopdateringer til følgende programmer:

    - AirPort-værktøj
    - AirPort-diskværktøj
    - AirPort-baseagent

    (Airport basestation update 2008-0001 includes general bug fixes and compatibility updates for the following applications:

    -Airport-utility
    -Airport-disk utility
    - Airport baseagent)

    (loosely translated).

    Sorry if it's already been posted.
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Yoohoo! We still will probably need new firmware but its a start.
     
  3. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #3
    Anyone who's applied this update opened AirPort Utility on an 802.11n AirPort Extreme? Come on, wireless Time Machining!..
     
  4. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #4
    I agree, but Apple are not going to cannibalise Time Capsule sales.
     
  5. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Doesn't work.Sorry
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    I do. Doesn't do anything for that. We really need a firmware update first.
     
  7. shadowfax macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    I am really waiting for the Airport Disk Utility to work right in Leopard. Managing the Airport Disk is kind of a pain, compared to Tiger with the icon and the automounting.
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    No real improvement for Airdisk as far as I can tell. A failure to connect still brings the whole router down. About what I expected without a firmware update.
     
  9. blackfeathers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #9
    can anyone confirm if this update runs fine on a macbook pro c2d 2.4 ghz sr on leopard 10.5.2?

    reason why i'm cautious and asking first before installing any airport updates:
    after major issues with random disconnects during the time between the airport 004 driver update on tiger up until the 10.5.2 leopard update(when it finally and officially got fixed for me), i just want to make sure there's a better chance this, or any airport update, won't mess up my system's stability is all.

    thanks in advance.
     
  10. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #10
    Nope, although mine is close (if that helps - propably not) Running fine on an MBP C2D 2.33GHz, leopard 10.5.2.
     
  11. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #11
    Weird. The front page of MR says it's a 8.something MB update, whereas mine was 10.6MB. Language-files the size of around two MBs?
     
  12. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    According to AI there is a update for the N routers as well:

    http://forums.appleinsider.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=85312

     
  13. BigTRQ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #13
    Maybe a firmware update to the Airport Extreme is coming soon? I am really wanting my Airdisk to work the way it has been reported to work under Tiger.

    EDIT: Sadly, my USB disk doesn't show up under Airport Disk Utility, as usual. Clicking on my AEBSn in the Shared pane in Finder shows Connection Failed. I did notice, however that the icon for Airdisk has changed in the Manual Setup area in Airport Utility. Now I really want that AEBSn firmware update soon! C'mon Apple, give us the feature that you already say you do!
     
  14. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #14
    Ah, that might actually give some reason (or explanation, rather) why I received a 10.6MB and a different wording to what's on the front page of MR.

    I have to say, though, it seems rather amateurish that Apple sends out an update, and an hour later, it's smaller, and with a different wording. Does the right hand not know what the left is doing?
     
  15. baldspot07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    southampton, england
    #15
    the links no longer work is there a problem with the update, also can't find it manually on the website either???:eek:
     
  16. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #16
    It happens from time to time. Back in October/November they issued an update to fix the iMacs freezing problem and then retracted the Tiger version quickly afterwards when they found out that its was bork'ing people who subsequently upgraded to Leopard. QA needs... well... QA. Funny thing is the Leopard version didn't fix the problem anyways.

    Looks like they're doing it again!
     
  17. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #17
    Oh great!
    Thanks Spot and Cube. Although I have had no problems with this update, I have recently (the last month, methinks) begun having my keyboard/screen freeze, forcing a hard shut down. This revoking their crap this time too, makes me not downloading ever again, until I have checked and checked. My TM-back up is not good enough to give me assurance considering everything. CCC here I come.
     
  18. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #18
    CCC or SD is required anyways for a "proper" backup so until TM becomes more Airdisk friendly, I have turned mine off.
     
  19. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #19
    I only use TM with a FW/USB drive.
    What's "SD"? I only get the association Sound Devices, and I'm sure that's not what you mean, haha :p
     
  20. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #20
    SuperDuper!
     
  21. McGiord, Mar 11, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #21
    I think is Super Duper a Hard Disk cloner.
    ________
    hash honey oil
     
  22. Tosser thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #22
    Ah!! Sheesh! I had forgotten that product all together for some reason … :eek:
     
  23. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #23
    I'll say one thing for the new Airport Utility. It sure finds my AEBS a lot quicker. Perhaps I will no longer have the problem where it can't find any base stations.
     
  24. victorf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #24
    It's now possible to downgrade the firmware, even if you don't have the firmware file on your machine (as was required by older versions).
     
  25. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #25
    Interesting. maybe they are preparing for a firmware update.
     

Share This Page