Am I getting charged for using aGPS ? (data use)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cudo, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. cudo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Location:
    w bloku
    #1
    Hi , is iphone using me data connection while navigating ? Say I got allowance of 1GB per month and is any , while using MobileNavigation App, of this data used ?

    or iPhones GPS is not associated with internet ?
    cheers
     
  2. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    using google maps or AT&T navigator will use data to download maps, but apps such as TomTom and Navigon, no it won't
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    You don't say what app you are using. It all really depends on whether the map data is stored locally or not. Some navigation systems rely on a data connection to download maps because they do not store the 1GB+ of mapping data locally.
     
  4. britboyj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
  5. cudo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Location:
    w bloku
    #5
    im using NAVIGON MobileNavigator Europe app, will it use data connection ?
     
  6. cudo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Location:
    w bloku
    #6
    Żarów
     
  7. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #7
    Navigon stores maps locally, so no, you will not be charged for data.
     
  8. cudo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Location:
    w bloku
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    I have to add a caveat to this. While the application will not be using huge amounts of data for downloading maps, the iPhone's aGPS system does download a small amount of data from the aGPS assistance servers to help it locate currently visible satellites. That's the "a" in aGPS. This should only be a few kilobytes, as far as I know, and should only happen once per session.
     
  10. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    Test it yourself.

    Turn off Location Services, wait a few hours for the GPS satellites to move in/out of range, reset your usage statistics in Settings, then turn on Location Services, get you position from your Nav app, and see how much data the phone downloads to update the current satellite info by checking the usage statistics.
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Using the aGPS will consume your data allowance. The reason is the the aGPS depends on server to download satellite information faster in order to triangulate your position. Once it locks you it, the chip can hold on it's own, but initially and whenever needed it will call on the server to get the right info. It's not much data being consumed, but it's worth maing note of it.
     

Share This Page