AmazonPrime update 5.0.1, did this fix 5.1 audio?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Menel, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #1
    Im not home, but I see the update on my phone.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. oOMezzaOo macrumors member

    oOMezzaOo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    They are no mentions of it resolving that issue so i doubt it.
     
  3. JeffPerrin macrumors 6502

    JeffPerrin

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #3
    No 5.1 surround sound as of today.

    Amazon Prime - rockin' home theater like it's 1989! o_O
     
  4. Menel thread starter macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #4
    Yes, fixed!

    Sounds good! Just in time for grand tour!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. JeffPerrin macrumors 6502

    JeffPerrin

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
  6. PonyRidingBear macrumors newbie

    PonyRidingBear

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #6
    Nope 5.1 only works in HDR content if you play something in HD its still stereo :(
    Amazon really need to get there act to gather
     
  7. JeffPerrin macrumors 6502

    JeffPerrin

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #7
    Yeah - I'm still getting 2.0 only as well. I just assumed the update hadn't propagated to my ATV yet. (AFAICT, Amazon has no version numbering visible for tvOS, so I don't know if mine has been updated or not...)
     
  8. PonyRidingBear macrumors newbie

    PonyRidingBear

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #8
    The update was just for the iPhone/iPad. I think the issue is on amazons backend not the app
     
  9. Explorz, Dec 8, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017

    Explorz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    Looks like it is slowly propagating on mine too.
     
  10. archer75, Dec 8, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017

    archer75 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    I believe the ATV, when set to best audio available, always outputs multichannel PCM. So by default that's what receivers display. It doesn't necessarily mean you're actually getting that from a particular show/movie from the ATV.
    Denon receivers can be misleading in their display. If the front panel shows the dolby symbol and says surround it's just a 2 channel stream and it's applying prologic. Otherwise it will actually say what signal it's receiving.
     
  11. Menel thread starter macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #11
    Front panel says its receiving “multi-in”
    Yesterday it was saying “stereo”

    There is also rear sound effects separate from speech.
     
  12. IPadNParadise macrumors 6502

    IPadNParadise

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #12
    My ATV 4/connected to Pioneer receiver/Sony Bravia 2016 non-4k tv, when viewing Amazon App is still not 5.1. Any new info as to when we can expect it?
     
  13. archer75 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Yes, pro logic will do that.
     
  14. CaTOAGU macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  15. Eminemdrdre00 macrumors 6502a

    Eminemdrdre00

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #15
    Version 5.1 of the app was just released today. They trying to tell us something?
     
  16. IPadNParadise macrumors 6502

    IPadNParadise

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
  17. PonyRidingBear macrumors newbie

    PonyRidingBear

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #17
    Version 5.1 is just for the iPhone/iPad the apple tv is version 1
    I have double checked only HDR content is 5.1 HD is still in stereo :( 5.1 on my iPhone that is app Version 5.1
     
  18. CaTOAGU macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #18
    Still stereo here, confusingly though things are again marked as 5.1 surround.
     
  19. IPadNParadise macrumors 6502

    IPadNParadise

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #19
    I was just going by the fact that if I push Display on my Pioneer receiver remote, while watching Hand of God (Prime Video/ATV 4), I see ‘Input PCM 2.0 ch and Output Dolby Surround 5.1 ch’. And there are sounds being thrown to the rear speakers. Yesterday, it was 2.0 on both Input and Output.
     
  20. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #20
    Even with iTunes content, this is incorrect. It depends on the content being played, (my Harmon Kardon AVR) shows PCM 48kHz unless content has 5.1 or 7.1 channels, then it will show PCM Multichannel.

    And they did for me, and now today the 5.1 display is gone again.

    I really think it is on the backend, the 5.1 symbols have been appearing and disappearing since the app came out.

    I thought the iOS app updates would show us tvOS fixes also, but, I was wrong, tvOS app is still v. 1.0. I thought it was just ported over from the iOS app, but not necessarily.
     
  21. mmm1345 Suspended

    mmm1345

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    #21
    My 5.1 Audio hasn't worked for over a month, since the 11.02 update and at first I thought this update fixed the no 5.1 sound issue, but it came back this morning. I'm going to try and exchange my unit tomorrow. So tired of Apple these days.

    --- Post Merged, Dec 15, 2017 ---
    This isn't an Amazon Prime issue, it's an ATV issue, so the correct "slam" would be Apple TV rockin home theater...
     
  22. matrix07 macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #22
    But iTunes movies provide 5.1, how is it Apple fault that Amazon doesn’t? Keeps in mind that Amazon app for Apple TV is a port (from web app most likely), not written anew for Apple TV.
     
  23. Hoosier317 macrumors 6502a

    Hoosier317

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #23
    No...the problem being discussed in this thread is an issue with the Amazon Prime app only. If you, or anyone else, is having a different issue with the audio on their ATV then that is an entirely different discussion.
     
  24. Michelasso, Dec 23, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2017

    Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #24
    It seems to work just fine with me. I have checked with both the AVR put in "Straight" mode (which should play and show what it gets) and enabling the Playback HUD in the Developer options (one must pair the Apple Tv with Xcode). In the latter is says "qec3", "zec3" which I suppose it stands for eac3 (Dolby Digital Plus) in the videos marked as 5.1 (in Android TV. I realise now it doesn't show in the ATV 4K). But in the HUD there is no mention of the number of channels.

    When a video (like "The Exorcist", at least in Italian) doesn't show the 5.1 mark (still in Android TV), the AVR reports "2.1" channels (FL/FR/FC) indeed.
     
  25. Colonel Badger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #25
    Isn’t FL,FR,FC 3.0?
     

Share This Page

28 December 8, 2017