AMD Radeon HD 6970 Reviews

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Wild-Bill, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #1
    Well,

    I've seen a lot of HD 6970 reviews hit the streets today. Can we hope to see some "investigation" from Cindori & company in the near future??? ;)

    I would love to stick a modded version in my 2008 Mac Pro.

    Retail on these cards is looking at about $370.00 (Yeah... 80 bucks cheaper than Apple wants for their single-DVI 5870 :rolleyes: )

    Requires 1 8-pin and 1 6-pin power connector.
    2 GB of memory on-board. :D
     
  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Although the Radeon HD 6000 series are somewhat supported in Mac OS X, we still have no framebuffer driver for it, so no display, managing resolutions, multiple displays, power management and all that jazz.

    It would actually just suck power without providing anything useful.
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    pressure got the point

    not really much to do for me, im waiting around for a new binary to leak from apple before I can extend the use of my Zeus

    was going to do an "rom-converter" for 5870 but as Zeus cant flash it, it seemed a little unnessecary
     
  4. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    Why is single DVI so upsetting? I would rather have MDP instead of DVI, as going from DVI->MDP is not cheap, but going from MDP->DVI is pretty cheap.
     
  5. Wild-Bill thread starter macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #5
    Neither of my two displays has mini-DP. They do, however, both have DVI. I have DVI cables already as well.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    Still not sure what the complaint is about... MDP lets them fit more ports on a card, and the adaptors are cheap. Plus MDP is more future ready. It would be like someone with VGA displays complaining about cards that ship with DVI ports...
     
  7. stenackj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #7
    Probably a dumb question but it should work under boot camp though, right?
     
  8. Whaditis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #8
    yes
     
  9. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #9
    Agreed. Sadly, they still manufacture VGA ports! DVI was a fine port, but its time has come and gone. I'd much rather Apple look forward, as pretty much anybody actually buying desktops these days can certainly pony up the freaking money to buy an adapter. Especially people with a Mac Pro.
     
  10. davegregory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington, Ontario
    #10
  11. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #11
    Requires 1 8-pin and 1 6-pin power connector.
    How can you use this in a MacPro, which had two 6 pin power connectors on the logic board?
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    By a) using an adapter, which you don't need to do, or b) using two six-pin cables.
     
  13. cured.not.dried macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #13
    This kind of works, and it kind of doesn't. For me, whenever I flashed a 6970 bios onto my 6950, windows wouldn't load and the card wouldn't respond. But when I flashed it with a modified 6950 rom that unlocks the additional shader cores it booted just fine. There are scripts for both methods in the forum thread about this.

    I tried this with two different brands (XFX and Diamond) and each had the same result. Luckily the cards have a switch that lets you go back to a "safety" rom if you brick your card. :D
     
  14. Bosma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #14
    Hi

    I just bought a 6970 for use in boot camp on my mp3,1. What should I do for the 8-pin power connector? Is it completely fine to use the 6-pin cable? If so, where would I get one?

    The card came with an 8-pin to 2 molex connector and I have many molex connectors/extensions, so could I connect the 8 pin to the spare optical drive? I would rather do this if I don't have to buy anything.
     
  15. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #15
    It's fine to use a 6-pin cable. You could use the optical bay power but I wouldn't recommend that. As to where to find such a 6-pin cable… here's one from Amazon, and I'll bet Google has a few links as well. :D
     
  16. jasonxp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #16
    @Bosma

    Hey, so you got 6970 for bootcamp? does it work under osx as well? or do you use an other card for osx?
    thx in advanced

    cheers
    jason
     
  17. Bosma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #17
    I'm just using windows right now. I had the ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT also in and when I booted into OS X it ignored the 6970 and just used the 2600. It wouldn't work all by itself.
     
  18. jasonxp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #18
    Hey Bosma, have you read this http://forum.hardmac.com/index.php?showtopic=9418

    Probably its too much for me to ask for... but have you tested the 6970 using latest os 10.6.6? My Graphic card broke yesterday and i have to get a new one emidiatly by tomorrow... if 6970 works on 10.6.6 i would buy it instead of "standard" expensive apple graphic cards.

    It would be of great help for me and probably for others if you could please please please test under 10.6.6 :) please? :)

    cheers and billions thanks
    Jason

    ps: thanks for your reply aswell :)
     
  19. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #19
    It won't work until Apple decides to adopt the card. Get a PC 5870 instead, if you want a bad a$$ graphics card.
     
  20. jasonxp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #20
  21. colorkite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    #21
    OS X Lion and Netkas

    So, regarding the 6970:

    Netkas discovered that in OS X Lion there is everything we need to boot a number of these cards will near 100% functionality. I'm talking PC cards, OFF THE SHELF, WITH NO HACKING - are working on the developer preview of Lion.

    There is a way to use the kexts from Lion in Snow Leopard too. I have a 6970 on the way to do some testing.

    Let's hope this trend continues and Apple stop putting our graphics options on lockdown.
     
  22. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #22
    That's fantastic news!
     
  23. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #23
    That would be amazing! I would love to do an HD6970 in my pro box!
     
  24. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #25
    Unfortunately, the 6900 series don't work on Lion yet. Tester at netkas' forum and insanely Mac are trying to figure this out.

    However, the 6800 series appear to work nicely.
     

Share This Page