Any i5/i7 27" iMac users playing Rift?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by robo456, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. robo456 macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Hi guys... Just wondering if any MR users have a new i5 or i7 27" iMac that they are playing the MMO Rift on? I saw a couple youtube videos, but nothing that really gave any in-depth comments.

    I wasn't really looking for FPS numbers, because mine aren't great on my i7 pc (5870 video card), I think they hover around 40 or so on ultra, but the game looks fantastic!... what I was more looking for is what resolution are you running at, what levels of details, and how you feel it looks. Is it smooth?

    Thanks for any info! If there's a thread that I missed, feel free to point it out.

    --rob
     
  2. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #2
    I'll be interesting in hearing how this runs , I'm currently boot camping rift on my early 2008 MBP , and whilst ultra is unplayable , high runs very happily at 30+ fps @1440x900 .. I'm amazed the iMac video card can't handle ultra .. But then I guess we are waiting for a refresh on the iMacs
     
  3. WickedSick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    I got a chance to play it on my i7 27' imac, and it ran really smooth. That was with the nearly everything at native res, and max textures. The only things I toned down were shadows and some AA. It was purty =D All in all though, I like the free to play MMO World of tanks better =P
     
  4. NeighborMike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #4
    so you can just buy this game pop it in and install it and it will work ok?

    sorry to sound so newbish literally just got a mac
     
  5. robo456 thread starter macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Thanks for the info!

    It's a Windows-only game, so I'd assume you'd have to install it thru BootCamp. I have played it thru VMWare Fusion, and while it does play, it's not too practical.


    --rob
     
  6. WickedSick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    When I was playing it I was in bootcamp running Windows 7 Ultimate 64x. Hope this helps =D
     
  7. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #7
    I've heard nothing about a native Mac version of Rift. If accurate, you'd have to run Bootcamp on your Mac (included with the OS) and install a compatible version of Windows on your Mac.
     

Share This Page