Apple_Robert

Contributor
Original poster
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
I am curious as to how many intermittent fasters we have on the forum. If you are an intermittent faster, what got you into fasting, what kind of fasting do you practice, and how long have you been fasting (years)?

I have been doing it for the last 3 years to help my body even better at fat burning (for running purposes) as well as for better mental clarity.

WildSky

Contributor
Apr 16, 2020
East of the sun, west of the moon
I do daily time-restricted fasting for an 16-hour window, typically 6 pm - 10 am. I haven't been doing it very long, but seem to be sleeping better, have no more heartburn, and generally feeling sharper. It wasn't a hard transition because I typically don't eat until 10 anyway although I have coffee before that. I'm also restricting some carbs, but if there's a day doing so makes me particularly cranky, I ease up.

Comment

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Original poster
Sep 21, 2012
I do daily time-restricted fasting for an 16-hour window, typically 6 pm - 10 am. I haven't been doing it very long, but seem to be sleeping better, have no more heartburn, and generally feeling sharper. It wasn't a hard transition because I typically don't eat until 10 anyway although I have coffee before that. I'm also restricting some carbs, but if there's a day doing so makes me particularly cranky, I ease up.
Do you plan to work towards a longer fasting time for better cell regeneration and detox? Teaching the body not to be carb dependent is hard for a lot of people because they have trained their body that way for so many years.

Comment

WildSky

Contributor
Apr 16, 2020
East of the sun, west of the moon
Do you plan to work towards a longer fasting time for better cell regeneration and detox? Teaching the body not to be carb dependent is hard for a lot of people because they have trained their body that way for so many years.