Any Way to Use an iContainer on Tiger?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AmazingHenry, Apr 24, 2017.

  1. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #1
    My Tiger Sierra Theme has NO ICONS in the current beta! Can you believe it? :O

    In the end, I plan to implement a .pkg that will upgrade the icons. For now, however, I'd like a temporary solution. I have an iContainer (CandyBar file) with a bunch of Sierra icons. The only thing I can get changed on CandyBar for Tiger is the disk and folder icons, no application icons. I tried the Yosemite Pack also, no luck. Is there some trick I'm missing to use an iContainer in Tiger?
     
  2. spf2, Apr 24, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017

    spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #2
    Some iContainers can be opened with Pixadex 2.0.2 . I ran into some problems importing recent icns and icontainers in the old Candybar and Pixadex. I find that importing pngs (from places like deviantart and other icon sources) into Pixadex and changing with Candybar to work. Only problem is you don't have the multiple icon sizes like importing icns.

    You can even export icns to png using commandline sips.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1060156/sipsicns.html

    Your choices are very limited with Tiger and PPC in general. Just my experience.
     
  3. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #3
    Well, I can get to the icons just fine (I have a folder of them), but the iContainer I'm using has an option to automatically change the icon for each app so you don't have to do it manually while in Leopard. Was hoping to get that on Tiger. :D
     

Share This Page