Anyone planning on getting Hitman?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Sdtrent, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. Sdtrent macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #1
    If so could you let me know how it performs on your Mac? I’m thinking about getting it but I want to hear how well it runs on Metal first. Thanks!
     
  2. EllieFeral macrumors member

    EllieFeral

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    HITMAN isn't out on macOS yet -- almost though! It'll be released tomorrow.

    In the meantime, we're doing a live stream today specifically so you can see how it runs before you decide to buy it. The live stream is at 6PM BST / 10AM PDT over on the Feral Twitch channel if you fancy a look: https://www.twitch.tv/feralinteractive Feel free to drop by during the stream with any questions.
     
  3. vkd macrumors 6502a

    vkd

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
  4. Sdtrent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #4

    Sweet man! I'll stay tuned. What specs for the Mac you'll be using?
     
  5. wubsylol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    #5
    I will be, when Apple/nVidia sort out their driver issues.
     
  6. Foggydog macrumors 6502

    Foggydog

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #6
    I'm sorry, I don't have enough bitcoins to get a hitman. But if I did, I probably would download Thor first.:rolleyes:
     
  7. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    As it happens, the Prologue episode will be available for free from today on. So you can most likely try it for yourself.
     
  8. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #8
    Still no sign on Steam 1500 UK time. Still coming today?
     
  9. Sdtrent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #9
    Hitman for Mac is now available! You can also get the first episode for free! I'll be getting it but it will take at least 24 hours for to download for me, my internet is so bad lol.
     
  10. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #10
    The prologue, not the first episode.
     
  11. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #11
    Initial impression is good, but very demanding.
    Normally, I can run games at 2560x1440 on High settings quite happily, but I'm struggling with Hitman a bit. In the Prologue party scene, walking around gives me between 25fps and 40fps on 2560x1440 with detail high, texture high, x4 anisotropic filtering and no AA.
    Running the same settings @ 1920x1080, I get 40fps to 55fps.
    Also, turning on AA even at x2 kills off between 5-10fps.
    Still experimenting though.
     
  12. Sdtrent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #12
    What are your specs?

    Ya I've gotten similar results. I'm running it on a 2017 MacBook Pro with the 2.9 ghz processer and the 560 Radeon.

    It runs pretty well though. I have it on high settings at 1020p.
     
  13. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
  14. Sdtrent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #14
    Ah my bad, I'm on mobile and they don't show up
     
  15. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #15
    What happened to demos? I'm unlikely to lay out $60 on a new (to me) franchise. But if I played a one level demo and liked it...
     
  16. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #16
    The prologue level is free. Anyway, on Steam you can get a refund if you don't like the game as long as you don't go over a certain number of playing hours. Can't remember how many.
     
  17. EllieFeral macrumors member

    EllieFeral

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Retina 5k 27" late 2015, 4Ghz, 8GB Ram, AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4GB.

    I hope you had a chance to tune in. :) If not, no worries: there's a recording up on Twitch if you fancy - https://www.twitch.tv/videos/152951035

    Glad to hear it's going well for you so far!
     
  18. Sdtrent thread starter macrumors newbie

    Sdtrent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #18
    Thanks man! Decided to buy the game, thanks for all your hard work!
     
  19. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #19
    I see what you did there. :p
     
  20. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #20
    I just got the game on Steam. Now I need to get my new iMac, 'cause my old 2006 Mac Pro won't do. :p
     
  21. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #21
    So I got the game. I haven't played it yet, but in true geek fashion I ran some benchmarks. :D
    The Mac version appears to perform 10-20% slower than the DX11 version. But this ignores some erratic, unreproducible and severe fps drops under Windows during some runs, which never occurred in the Mac version (I check this wasn't due to some other process running). At very high resolution (4k), performance is basically the same between OSes.

    Overall, good work by Feral, and there is hope performance will be even better with High Sierra.
     

Share This Page