Carrier Anyone switched to Spectrum Mobile?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jtrue28, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. jtrue28 macrumors 6502a

    jtrue28

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #1
    We're current AT&T customers, have been for 25yrs (Cingular, AT&T Wireless, Cingular, AT&T #rolleyes). We're also Spectrum internet customers, so we're eligible to switch to their new mobile service. From my research, they're using Verizon's network to power it, plus their huge network of Spectrum Wifi.

    What happens each year when new iPhones come out? Will we be forced to buy the full priced SIM free version, since Spectrum doesn't have any carrier deal with Apple?

    $45/month/line for unlimited or $14/GB/month seems like an excellent deal. Although as we know, too good to be true, ATKOT.
     
  2. PLamarine macrumors 6502

    PLamarine

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Central MA
    #2
    First, let me express my condolences for the loss to Georgia. Although I am a lifetime Alabama fan, I feel your pain.

    Yes, I switched to Spectrum Mobile a month ago. Verizon cell towers and coverage, $14 a month for 1 Gig (I turn off almost all data when in the car and have no need for more), and zero percent financing on a brand spankin new iPhone XR. The only negative, and it is a big one for many, is that you are required to purchase or finance a phone from Spectrum in order to get service. There is no Bring Your Own Phone option. After one year of financing, you can upgrade to a new phone if the old one is in like new condition, according to what I read.

    Customer service is still getting on their feet as well. I have spoken to a few CSR that did not know what they were doing.
     
  3. jtrue28 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jtrue28

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #3
    Thanks!

    Wow...really, you can't bring your own phones? I can't see them ever getting off of the ground with that policy. Thank you for the heads up!
     
  4. tt061282 macrumors member

    tt061282

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Location:
    Nevada
    #4
    Thankfully I have moved on from yesterday. Realizing we can still go 10-2... I’m just going to next week against Tennessee.

    Anyway, Spectrum mobile is actually a great idea if you already have Spectrum. Customer Service is still getting up and running and a of that, but you get the devices at 0 APR. meaning you pay what the cost actually is.

    Also when you’re on the go the phone automatically connects to all Spectrum hotspots out of the box anyway. Verizon towers so speeds are really good when on LTE. Downfall is that there is no BYOD and you can’t pick any devices up in store. They all have to be delivered to your home.

    Other then that, I have had no issues at all.
     
  5. jtrue28 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jtrue28

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #5
    We just did upgrades through IUP, so there’s no way I’m switching to Spectrum at this point if we can’t bring our own phones. That is absurd.

    #beatDuke
     
  6. radiologyman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #6
    They are following business model of xfinity mobile and already announced that BYOD coming later. When it happens, it will be a great deal. Good deal now for those who want to use Verizon network and do not need lot of internet
     
  7. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #7
    Were you able to port your phone number?
     
  8. Otflyer macrumors 6502

    Otflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #8
    If your a Comcast internet subscriber you can get Comcast mobile on the Verizon network. $45 unlimited talk/text, $12/Gb and bring your own device.
     
  9. PBz macrumors 68020

    PBz

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    PVB, Florida
    #9
    I’m probably the wrong person to chime in but I’ve been with TMO for several years and have been very happy. Both coasts. I’ve used ATT & VZN in the past.
     
  10. tt061282 macrumors member

    tt061282

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Location:
    Nevada
    #10

    Yes.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 5, 2018 ---
    I feel like eventually they will do the BYOD, but unless you are getting the iPhone from them... it’s not worth it. Agreed 100%

    Beat Duke is right!

    Beat Tennessee as well!
     
  11. ET3SW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    Keep in mind. Once you are up for upgrade with iup as of right now you will need an account with the big 4 to upgrade.
     
  12. mthomas184 macrumors 6502

    mthomas184

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #12
    In that case, what I did, before T-Mobile was finally able to upgrade online, was get a SIM from AT&T and upgrade then cancelled the line with AT&T within the 14 day period.
     
  13. ROLLTIDE1 Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #13
    They throttle all video streaming without a way to remove it
     
  14. jtrue28 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jtrue28

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #14
    Yeah, we’re sticking with AT&T, at this point.
     
  15. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #15
    That's a bummer.
     
  16. nrvna76 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #16
    Been a long time AT&T customer. Recently made the switch to T-Mobile. Way cheaper at $120 for 2 lines with Netflix included, and no additional fees. Was throttled at 3Mbps with AT&T for about 136/mo including taxes and fees, and now not throttled at all for less per month.

    Also, I had a couple of questions where I used their customer chat service, contacted them a week apart. Same customer service person and my old chat from a week before was still viewable. Nothing like that on AT&T.
     
  17. ericg301 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #17
    im waiting for a black friday BOGO and then i'll be in the same boat.
     
  18. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #18
    Same. I have Spectrum home internet and get a decent deal on it. So I ordered Sunday night. Phone was set to arrive tomorrow. I just called Spectrum Mobile and they are rookies. They told me to just refuse the package and they'd refund activation charges. Pretty nerve racking as it involves a number port. I'll just go to my card co. if they f around.

    I just checked Verizon's offerings and it's the same S. 480p plan, 720p plan, then $10 extra for HD. What is this, a cable tv contract? I'm on a grandfathered unlimited plan with ATT currently, and I thought I was getting robbed since data alone is $45 a month (that's what I pay for home internet) and coverage at my house sucks (1 bar LTE) so switching networks was attractive to get better LTE at the house. No way. I'm staying where I'm at. Hopefully, as long as I refuse the Spectrum mobile phone, I will experience no service interruption. Learned my lesson.
     
  19. einmusiker macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #19
    How did you get a deal on spectrum home internet??? In my experience there’s cheapest plan $60-70 per month has been the absolute lowest they offer. Rep said “go ahead and cancel if you want”
     
  20. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #20
    I was with TWC prior to the Spectrum switch. It was 50Mb for $39.99 per month. The Spectrum deal happened mid 12 month term. So Spectrum pushed us to some grandfathered plan, for $50 a month with tax. I pull 70Mb now which is plenty for my use. They have up to 300 or 600Mb plans but I would never utilize the bandwidth so I stay put. ATT is laying fiber to the prem all over my neighborhood right now and it will have gig service, but the devil is in the details. I’m sure it will be some sub $100 a month plan for full gig then after 12 months will be $199.00.

    We pay some of the highest internet costs in the world. And a nice chunk of that is super users. On the phones or cellular we pay for the super users who stream video all day. At home, same thing. The carriers then in turn make everyone pay higher costs instead of targeting the super users and make them pay.
     
  21. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #21
    I'm getting conflicting information. Can you stream video at 1080p or 4k? Nobody has any information on this. Spectrum mobile is telling me it will only throttle video resolution once you hit 20GB on the unlimited plan. Does your service buffer at 1080p? What speeds are you getting?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2018 ---
    Same question as my previous post.

    "I'm getting conflicting information. Can you stream video at 1080p or 4k? Nobody has any information on this. Spectrum mobile is telling me it will only throttle video resolution once you hit 20GB on the unlimited plan. Does your service buffer at 1080p? What speeds are you getting?"
     
  22. jtrue28 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jtrue28

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #22
    It says on their website that video quality is 480p (DVD quality).
     
  23. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #23
    Yeah I know what it says on their website and it's very ambiguous. I called support and they said 480p if you hit 20GB in a billing cycle. They said up until that point, 4k, 1080p, whatever you want to do. That's why I am trying to get information from the members who actually have the service.
     
  24. tt061282 macrumors member

    tt061282

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Location:
    Nevada
    #24
    The reports are conflicting. The truth is that until you get to 20 GB of data the video quality is still 1080p. I haven’t noticed ;K as of yet, but all this crap about 480p is rubbish. I know that by experience.
     
  25. cornerexit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #25
    I was getting slow throughput. Tested it today and last night. Almost like it was bandwidth limited. Did speed tests last night and today, and no matter what it would route through Kansas or hundreds of miles away, I mean 300-400 miles away. That is some strange behavior on Speed Test app, which I have used for many many years. Just ran my old phone on speed test via ATT and it finds a local server where I live and acts normal. I also did some testing watching my racing series which I have to watch online and the picture quality was crappier over cellular.

    I've been in the industry for 20 years (Telco) and I couldn't tell you what they are doing by they are rate limiting somehow. For ISP traffic they are routing out a few states away (Wichita Kansas) instead of local, and that means slower speeds. I pulled one of two screen protectors I have off the phone, carefully put it in the box and it's going to get dropped off at FedEx in 15 minutes. Ported my number back already.
     

Share This Page