Anyone tried this RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Ifti, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. Ifti, Jun 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012

    Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I waiting for the new Mac Mini update hopefully later this year before I look to buy the server version, which I want to use as a HTPC, connected to my Synology NAS, and a general server that I can access remotely etc. I'll pick up the best CPU available, considering this can't be upgraded, but the lowest HDD and RAM options.

    I'm slowly purchasing the bits I'll be upgrading the system with - I already have a Vertex 3 120GB, which will be the system drive, and a WD 1TB HDD, which will be the secondary drive. This is more then enough storage considering I have another 7TB free space on my NAS at the moment.

    I'm now looking for the RAM I'll be putting into the system. I tend to just buy Crucial RAM, although has anyone tried Corsair Vengeance RAM? It's not much more then the crucial RAM, but am wondering if I will see any benefit to having this option? Looking to build the speediest system while I have the cash, and am looking to keep it long term.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B006EWUO...de=asn&creative=22206&creativeASIN=B006EWUOL8

    Here is the Crucial Option:
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=37F4CFE3A5CA7304&cpe=uk_googleps

    Finally there is the Kingston HyperX option - although I'm not sure if they will fit too well due to the heats sinks on the modules??

    Which is better?
    Price is not an issue as they are all around the same.


    On a side note, would I get better performance from the 1866mhz CL10 option and would the ivy bridge mini support it's speed??
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-CMS...1_7?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1339848890&sr=1-7
     
  2. Hede macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    I´ve got kingston hyperx 2x4gb 1600mhz the grey ones in my mid 2011 mini and they fit fine. I hope kingston upgrade there hyperx series so they have 8gb sticks soon :)
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
  4. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #4
    The Corsair works fine. (Edit - strike that, I hadn't realised the question was about Corsair 1833MHz ram. I don't know whether that will work or not, but I can't see why not.)

    Not sure whether you can really notice any of the speed differences if I am honest. Maybe from 1333 to 1833 you might spot it, but I went from 8GB at 1333 to 16GB at 1600 and I can't tell the difference.
     

Share This Page