Anyone Try AIR MOUSE?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by ilfn143, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. ilfn143 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Enron by the Sea
    #1
    looking to buy air mouse, anyone use it? i need opinion or better alternative. thanks in advance
     
  2. stiphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #2
    Is this the right forum to post this? Are you looking for an app that can do that? If so, check out Jaadu. I'm using it as my touchpad and keyboard on my iPhone.
     
  3. TechJunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #3
    I've been using air mouse for a while and really like it. The "gyration" mouse takes some getting used to, but you can switch it to just a touch pad, tapping to click...works awesome.

    The Gyration mouse costs a ton, and this is nice to have the keyboard included as well. My only gripe would be to hide the keyboard while just using the mouse to give you more room on the screen. But overall, thumbs up.
     
  4. ilfn143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Enron by the Sea
  5. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #5
    Anyone Try AIR MOUSE?

    There's this new app within the App Store called Air Mouse when your Touch acts as a mouse 4 your Mac even when you're not close to it...

    anyone have this?

    I'm curious as to how it works and if it's a good buy...

    I at times connect my macbook to my hdtv and not having to walk up to it while crashing on the couch would be super nice. also, does it have a keyboard???? more?

    Oh pls, someone have it!

    :apple::D:apple::D:apple::D
     
  6. jesses macrumors regular

    jesses

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    I too, would like to know. I really hope it's worth it. It looks nice.
     
  7. OnTheiTouch2G macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #7
    :eek:

    Draw me excited. Please somebody hit us with a good review. From looking at the app store it looks like it also utilizes the itouch/iPhone keyboard as a keyboard for the comp. Talk about being able to laze on the couch while having full control of the comp on the bigscreen!
     
  8. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #8
    i just checked out the vids from the website and from good ol' chris porillo.

    seems really awesome! especially with the option of using the accelameter or touch screen. lately i've been using VNC but it's slow and isn't in real time, nor does the mouse display well...or typing...

    f*ck it, i'm buying it!
     
  9. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #9
    it's great so far!

    the motion sensor is a little tough to get used to, but i can def. change the settings on that.

    the touch feature is super easy, has the keyboard and all.

    i'm about to watch a movie w/ a friend right now and will about to impress.!
     
  10. OnTheiTouch2G macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #10
    Im right there with ya i coldnt wait. I dont think the accel. movement feature is for me,im sticking with the touch pad. i actually found it very easy to get used to and control. one time, the cursor semed to freeze and woulnt respond to anything, but i juset reset tothe home screen and went back in, i was good to go

    Air Mouse, thumbs up.
     
  11. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #11
    Odd. I prefer the touchpad too a lot. In fact the mac is hooked up to the tv nw and I'm using my touch now. Works great.

    I could get used to surfing the web onthe big screen kicking back on the couch. Good purchase.
     
  12. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #12
  13. goobimama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #13
    The application is fantastic. I'm not a big fan of the gyro mode, but the touchpad thing works just fine. And now with Bonjour support it's great for multiple computer. Here's a review
     
  14. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #14
    I'm Wondering...

    ...In order to use this, is this possible using a wifi connection or like a server connection?

    I'm wondering if this will work when say i'm not within any wifi network?

    What about using Bonjour? I've never used it in my life but would Bonjour allow me to control my macbook using my Touch without a wifi network? or is a wifi network always needed? or never indeed?

    ALSO...

    Can dragging and dropping pages only work within the sensor mode and not the touchpad mode?
     
  15. goobimama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #15
    1. AirMouse needs a wifi connection. This can be a wifi network via your router, or one created by your mac (Click the wifi icon > Create network).

    2. Bonjour is a background service. You do not know what bonjour is, and bonjour does not know who you are. It was developed to be invisible, and transparent. No user interaction is required.

    3. The trackpad works like a MacBook trackpad. Tap to click, Double-tap+Drag to drag things around. No multi touch gestures yet, so you need to click using the right-click button below. The scrolling function is brilliant btw.

    4. With the new version, they've included the command, ctrl and option keys in the keyboard. And a windows key for when it connects to a PC.

    To go over it again, I install AirMouse on my iPhone. I then download the server software on my iMac. I am connected on my Linksys wifi router on both the iMac and iPhone. I then launch AirMouse on my iPhone and the mouse pointer automatically responds. Same for the PC.
     
  16. acedew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #16
    Air Mouse Server Restarted on Reboot?

    Does anyone know if you have to restart the Air Mouse Server on OS X whenever you reboot? I typically take my iMac to another room and start it up to watch downloaded shows. If I have to restart Air Mouse then I'll still need to drag my wired keyboard and mouse with it, which would totally defeat the purpose of using my Touch as a replacment...
     
  17. goobimama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #17
    No you don't. AirMouse by default starts when your Mac or PC starts up. So you are good to go without a KBD/Mouse.
     
  18. obikela macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #18
    Anyone able to download Air Mouse Server software?

    Hi
    I purchased mobile air mouse a week ago, but couldn't get it work till now. They mentioned, that you have to download a Server-Software for using it on a mac, but their website isn't running since over a week for now.
    Was anyone able to download it? If so, can you please send it to me through mail?

    thanks a lot for helping me out
    Obikela
    obikela@gmail.com
     
  19. MattyMac macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #20
    Air mouse is definitely very nice. I purchased it as soon as possible and it didn't let me down.

    The keyboard functionality is great too!
     
  20. obikela macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #21
    @andybno1: Works fine, thanks. Even got Air Mouse now running. Pretty useful!
     
  21. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #22
    i love it too! so much i kinda dont mind surfing the web this way...kinda chill.

    plus i see on their site of the updates and changes to come which sound promising.
     
  22. elchenuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #23
    Does anyone know how the ctrl-opt-command keys work? i.e. how can i send ctrl-command keys to the computer?
     
  23. acedew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #24
    Are you asking because you purchased Air Mouse and you can't figure it out, or are you considering buying it and wondering if those keys work? Goobimama posted above that they've added Ctrl and Opt keys, I just assumed that they were on the standard keyboard.
     
  24. macfearless macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #25
    Airmouse Pro question...

    Hey everyone, I was wondering If any of you had any experience with the Airmouse Pro app and the Wii. I would like to know if it can be used as a mouse for the Wii. It'd be great if it could (especially with the onscreen keyboard feature) Anyway, just thought I'd check. Thank you!
     

Share This Page