Anyone using a Philips BDM4065UC with a cMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by scotttnz, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. scotttnz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #1
  2. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #2
    My favourite local computer shop had these on "back to school" special (Not sure how it fits with the back to school thing, but I'm not complaining!)

    [​IMG]

    I'll report back after a bit of usage, but so far I am liking it!
     
  3. zickboom macrumors newbie

    zickboom

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #3
    MacPro 4.1 / Philips BDM4065UC

    Hi scotttnz,

    I decide to upgrade my two MacPro 4.1.
    I'm waiting my new Philips BDM4065UC.

    I read a lot of thread about this and I didn't found the answer.
    Which graphic card to have 4k@60hz with ?
    With GTX680 or 980, there were some who works fine and other who works only at 30hz.
    It seems GTX750 or 970 not enough...

    Is there someone who knows which one work fine ?

    Regards.
     
  4. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Saw from your signature that you are using a 4,1. Are you able to get 4k @ 60hz on this monitor?
     
  5. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #5
    I have an Asus GTX760 (not flashed) in my Mac Pro. It runs the screen at 60Hz no problems. You just have to use display port 1.2. Although if you wanted to game at 4k you would need something better.

    I have been playing some Diablo 3 at 2560x1440. it looks great and is very playable, but it's not particularly graphically demanding.

    I'm still loving this monitor!
     
  6. zickboom macrumors newbie

    zickboom

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #6
    Thank you for your quick answer.
    I'm not a gamer.

    I'm a little disappointed.
    The GTX760 is not an exceptional graphic card.
    I thought GTX 680 or 980 needed to get 4K@60hz.
    You have no problem with, blurry ?
    Do you need an extra electrical connexion ?

    Regards,
     
  7. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #7
    I am a screen real estate junky. I just like to have lots of windows open and visible at the same time. (Using Divvy to arrange the windows nicely.) I upgraded from 2x19" 4:3, and 1x23" 16:10 screen to this so that I could free up desk space (Yeah, I got a 40" screen to free up desk space!) while not sacrificing screen real estate. I had been looking at the 34" ultrawides, but the screen space to price ratio put me off.

    If you are not going to game then you don't need a particularly powerful video card to drive 4K. My display is perfectly clear and sharp with display preferences set to "Default for Display" 3840x2160. And scrolling and navigating around OS X and applications is smooth.

    The only gaming I have done is a bit of Diablo 3. At 2560x1440 it looked great, and ran fine on my GTX760. 3840x2160 looked awesome, but it was a bit jerky just walking around the camp, so I didn't try any actual game play. You would need a better card to play at 4K or more demanding games.

    The ASUS GTX 760 has a single 8 pin power connector, and comes with a 1x 8 pin to 2x 6 pin adapter, which I have connected the 2x6 pin on board supplies to. So no auxiliary power supplies are needed. It has been running like this for 6 months or so with no problems. Many of the GTX 760s I looked at had a 6 pin + 8 pin setup, so I avoided those cards to be safe.

    But I bought the GTX 760 about 6 months ago, if I was buying now I would definably look at one of the maxwell cards, 960, 970, or 980 depending on budget and if you want to play games. Just make sure you get one that has 2x6 pin power connectors max so you can run it safely on internal power. I may grab a 970 or 980 at some point, depending on how my gaming habits develop, but the 760 is more than adequate for non gaming uses.
     
  8. rdav, Mar 27, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015

    rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #8
    Uniform Brightness?

    Some of the reviewers noticed darker corners on this monitor, which is apparently quite common with VA panels. Have you observed any such problems? The specs state a maximum of ~9% luminosity variance, which seems quite high. They also said that dead pixels are quite common and more noticeable (being so large). Thou overall it seems to be a worthy UHD option at a decent price. And big enough that HiDPI scaling may not be needed. (Great).

    http://www.trustedreviews.com/phili...c-review-image-quality-lag-and-verdict-page-2
    Quote: "The size of the BDM4065UC’s panel means it’s tricky for Philips to maintain consistency across the entire screen. This is most evident when analysing the backlight’s brightness levels. The screen gained a few percentage points of brightness across its middle, with a maximum gain of 4% on the right-hand side of the panel – but this didn’t continue to the top of the screen, where the left- and right-hand corners dropped 7% and 13% respectively. It’s a similar story at the bottom, where the left and right corners lost 10% and 7% of their brightness."
     
  9. zickboom macrumors newbie

    zickboom

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #9
    Hi,
    it's right. The corner are a little darker.
    It's not a dell or lg UHD.
    Difficulties to find the good color settings.
    If you work on a 30 at 2560x1600, it's really near.

    Anyway it's a fabulous screen for price for me.
    Usually worked on an apple cinema 30 eight years and a dell 3014 one.
     
  10. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Very interesting that you are able to get 4k @ 60hz on a cMP. I thought this wasn't possible without hacks and 10.10.1?
     
  11. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #11
    4k sst works fine at 60hz, on nvidia at least.

    980 mac edition even gives you nice 4k@60hz boot screen.
     
  12. teeck2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #12
    4k SST works in 10.8.5 with nvidia 680 and web drivers too!
     
  13. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #13
    Yes there is a bit of light drop off in the corners, but not enough to bug me. I probably wouldn't recommend this screen for professional photo editors or for other colour critical work, but for more general use it is great.

    And yes it does run fine at full resolution and 60Hz over display port 1.2 at least with my Asus nvidia 760gtx on Yosemite. I haven't installed the latest security patch yet because I heard it an cause issues with nvidia drivers and I haven't had a chance to look into it before I upgrade.

    I'm still loving this monitor!
     
  14. cgmaster, May 8, 2015
    Last edited: May 8, 2015

    cgmaster macrumors newbie

    cgmaster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #14
    Just got one of these to use with my nMP D700 (10.10.3) machine. I get "no video input" when connected via Thunderbolt (and I've tried multiple cables and ports to rule that out as the problem). HDMI is immediately recognized and works, but I'm not going to keep it if I can only do 30Hz.

    Anyone else with a nMP have this working?
     
  15. iigsie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #15
    Out of interest, did you try the displayport connection? I've been researching this and read that certainly on some of the other brands cheaper units 60Hz is only supported on DP and not mini DP.
     
  16. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #16
    Did you enable Displayport 1.2 in the monitors menu? I don't know why it isn't the default setting, but it isn't, and if you don't enable it you will never get 60Hz.
     
  17. nickmilitello macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #17
    I just got this monitor. I am having the same issue with the nMP. Tried 3 different thunderbolt cables to the Mini DisplayPort with no signal. Tried a Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort cable to the monitors DisplayPort connection and I get a 4K signal but only when I set the monitor to dp 1.1. If I set to 1.2 I get nothing on any DisplayPort. More than annoying. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  18. zickboom macrumors newbie

    zickboom

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #18
    Use this monitor with cMP OS X 10.8.5, 10.10.5, 10.11.1 with a GTX980 in 4K
    ONLY with nvidia driver and Philips display DP1.2 cables
    Each time the lone problem was the nvidia driver when updating system, needed to have a second screen to update Nvidia.
     
  19. cgmaster macrumors newbie

    cgmaster

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #19
  20. zimago macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #20
    Dear Scotttnz, I'm also considering this Philips monitor, I have a 2013 MacPro (6,1), basic version with AMD FirePro D300 2048 MB, and wondered if it would run at 60Hz right out of the box if I use a Thunderbolt (MacPro) to either Display Port or Mini Display Port (Philips) ???

    Thanks in advance for your input on this !

    Z
     
  21. scotttnz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #21
    Sorry, I have a 4,1 not a 6,1 so can't offer any insight. Have a look,at this thread, he seems to have it working with the right adapter:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/philips-bdm4065uc-nmp.1879894/
     
  22. Jordan1990 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    #22
    Im looking into this monitor, i have a 5,1 with an R9 280x, will i be able to get 60hz at 4k?
     

Share This Page