Anyone using Moto's v600

applefan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 3, 2003
172
1
No. Cal.
I noticed this weekend moto is promoting and selling the v600 bluetooth flip phone. I'm considering buying this phone for it's bluetooth functionality and because I like moto's flip phones.

Has anyone used one yet? If so, what do you think so far? Does it work well with isync via bluetooth. It's not listed as a compatible device on Apple's iSync page. Maybe it's to new, yet the SE z600 is listed.

Your feedback is appreciated.
 

djbahdow01

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2004
568
0
Northeast, CT
applefan said:
I noticed this weekend moto is promoting and selling the v600 bluetooth flip phone. I'm considering buying this phone for it's bluetooth functionality and because I like moto's flip phones.

Has anyone used one yet? If so, what do you think so far? Does it work well with isync via bluetooth. It's not listed as a compatible device on Apple's iSync page. Maybe it's to new, yet the SE z600 is listed.

Your feedback is appreciated.

Haven't gotten the phone yet but in a few days i will be able to tell you everything about it. I won't be able to tell you about Bluetooth syncing tho as i don't have a Mac yet and i don't have a bluetooth adapter for my PC yet. According to the ATT site the V600 is compatable with Mac OS X. Not sure if that means its compatible with iSync tho. The Apple site does list a lot of phones there even Motorola so im sure eventually iSync should work.
 

0s and 1s

macrumors 6502a
Mar 7, 2004
546
15
OK, USA
i don't like moto flip phones since they tend to become loose after a couple of months, but I used the z600 on my PB without any problem at all. I'm sure it won't be a problem syncing it to a mac. You should head over to howardforums.com and ask someone there. I'm sure you'll find a good # of Mac users on that BBS. Good luck.
 

Koodauw

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2003
3,939
175
Madison
Well when you do find out, please let us know. I currently have the V400, a poor mans V600, but the V600 loks pretty darn cool. To bad its only for ATT in my area. I wish Motorola would make some smaller less feature intensive phones. I have no use for a camera in my phone, or a huge screen. I had a Motorola V8162 for Sprint back in the day, prob the best phone I have ever had. Style wise it was awesome. I wish Moto could make something similar to it insize.
 

0s and 1s

macrumors 6502a
Mar 7, 2004
546
15
OK, USA
Koodauw said:
Well when you do find out, please let us know. I currently have the V400, a poor mans V600, but the V600 loks pretty darn cool. To bad its only for ATT in my area. I wish Motorola would make some smaller less feature intensive phones. I have no use for a camera in my phone, or a huge screen. I had a Motorola V8162 for Sprint back in the day, prob the best phone I have ever had. Style wise it was awesome. I wish Moto could make something similar to it insize.
not sure who your provider is, but you could always buy an unlocked v600 phone and use it.
 

djbahdow01

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2004
568
0
Northeast, CT
Well i have used the phone for a few days and it is great. Everything works smoothly and the design is great. The only qualm i have with the phones is that they dont support pairing with another v600 or possibly any other bluetooth phone. Everything else seems to be great. I probably haven't gone through everything yet so i will update again when i work through everything.
 

Koodauw

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2003
3,939
175
Madison
0s and 1s said:
not sure who your provider is, but you could always buy an unlocked v600 phone and use it.
Yes you are this is very true. However the $$$ reguired to do so are a bit limited. If you would like to sponsor me though, I wouldn't complain.

djbahdow01, do you have any way to post some pics? I would be interested in seeing them if possible. Thanks
 

djbahdow01

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2004
568
0
Northeast, CT
Everything is really solid for the build. They seemed to put everything where it needs to be except for one thing. This problem I forgot to add earlier is that if you use the wired handsfree(or any other for that matter) in the handsfree jack you can't take pictures as the jack covers the camera. The buttons respond perfectly to the touch. All the menus are easy to read and navigate through.

As for reception i have tried it in Miami and a drive from Miami to Tampa. Miami has great reception and During the drive i had some great reception and the only time i had problems with reception was in the no service zones shown on the ATT map which from what i can tell for Florida is pretty accurate. In the next month i will be able to tell you more about reception as i will be driving from Miami to back home in Connecticut when school is out.
 

Jess Leber

macrumors newbie
Apr 13, 2004
2
0
V600 and iSync

I just purchased the V600 ($179 with 2 yr contract with AT&T) and also a Bluetooth-enabled PowerBook. The Bluetooth pairing works just fine, but iSync isn't (yet) compatible with this phone, so while I can set up the phone to be a wireless modem, I can't sync any contacts or calendar info to it. I've sent off an email to iSync support, asking them when they think they'll put out an update to support this phone, but so far there's jusst a lot of untapped potential, sadly.
 

djbahdow01

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2004
568
0
Northeast, CT
Sorry to hear about the iSync issue, i too got the phone for 175 from ATT, what a deal for a great phone. I just hope that issue is fixed by the time the new PM's come out so i can take full advantage of the phones potential.
BTW are you able to just transfer mp3's to the phone to make new mp3 ringtones or is the only thing that works is the modem capability??
 

Jess Leber

macrumors newbie
Apr 13, 2004
2
0
V600 and mp3

I haven't tried yet to transfer mp3s -- please let me know if you figure it out. I'd love to use the "Dean Scream" that I currently use as my computer "error" sound as my ring tone, as well.
 

Jerrod

macrumors newbie
Oct 5, 2003
25
0
I also picked up the V600 and have a G5 with bluetooth and have had no luck getting it to sync
 

iacas

macrumors newbie
May 6, 2004
15
0
Erie, PA
v600

I too now have the v600. I don't understand or believe those who say "it works great." The phone doesn't really "work" at all with the Mac. You can pair it and... that's it. Whoopty doo.I've even tried OnSync and it's rather hit or miss (and mostly miss).

The Bluetooth support in this phone, thus, is rather crummy. The darn thing doesn't even show up in the Bluetooth menu! :p I'm trying to browse the device now - we'll see how that goes. My guess? It won't. :p

I hope that iSync is updated quickly to support this phone, if that's possible.
 

applefan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 3, 2003
172
1
No. Cal.
Sorry to hear about the lack iSync compatibility, but I appreciate all of your feedback. In fact you've convinced me to buy a SE Z600 instead. I ordered it yesterday and I expect it to arrive tomorrow. I expect the Mac compatibility and UI to be great, as it was with my T68i, and I hope I'm satisfied with build quality and reception.

Thank you all.
 

nm8rdave

macrumors newbie
May 10, 2004
8
0
I got the phone....

THe V600 is a beautiful design and sounds great. My biggest complaint is that it does not yet work with iSync, making it difficult for Apple folk to utilize many of the phones features. It is also difficult to obtain information about alternative ways to sync the phone and transfer information by other means, if indeed other means even exist. Again, the phone is very nice, but don't expect to use iSync at the present time and let's hope that Apple and Motorola get together on this one soon and add it to the list of phones compatable with iSync.

Dave
 

nm8rdave

macrumors newbie
May 10, 2004
8
0
Here's what I got from Motorola.... Not Very Encouraging.

I received this response from my simple request for Motorola and Apple to get together on this iSync problem. Here was the discouraging response:

"Dear Mr. P***,
Thanks for contacting Motorola E-mail Support Division,
Regarding your question, I apologize for the inconveniences and understand your frustration, but unfortunately at this time, due to licensing issues, our pagers, cellular products and accessories do not support Macintosh because we have not tested our phones with their accessories. You can trust that Motorola is diligently working on future products which will hopefully include Macintosh compatibility, but we do not have an estimated time frame.

If you need further assistance please dial 1-800-331-6456 Motorola Customer Care. Our operation hours are from 8 am to 7 pm CST.
Please visit our web site: http://www.motorola.com and check our new products.
Thanks for choosing Motorola.

Best regards,

Customer Service

05/09/2004 05:39 PM

When can I expect my V600 phone to be supported by Apple iSync. Without that support I end up owning a beautiful, expensive paperweight. Please get with Apple and get the phone supported by iSync soon.

Thank you,
Dave P***"
 

iacas

macrumors newbie
May 6, 2004
15
0
Erie, PA
Paperweight?

A paperweight? That's ridiculous. I'm partially glad I can't use iSync because I don't WANT 200 people on my cell phone. I've manually entered the 25 I need and I'm pretty well set.
 

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
17,889
1,478
Palookaville
JordanNZ said:
Works fine with everything BUT iSync.. I can transfer mp3s with no trouble. And contacts in my address book. But still no iSync.
Huh? How can you get your contacts onto the phone without iSync?
 

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
17,889
1,478
Palookaville
iacas said:
A paperweight? That's ridiculous. I'm partially glad I can't use iSync because I don't WANT 200 people on my cell phone.
No, but can't you set iSync to work with just a selected group? (I don't have a bluetooth phone -- yet -- but I'd assumed that has to be possible.)
 

applefan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 3, 2003
172
1
No. Cal.
That's Correct

IJ Reilly you're right. That's what I do. You create a group in Address Book and when you set up that phone is iSync, you set it up to only sync that group.
 

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
17,889
1,478
Palookaville
applefan said:
IJ Reilly you're right. That's what I do. You create a group in Address Book and when you set up that phone is iSync, you set it up to only sync that group.
That's what I figured, thanks. So I'm still wondering how someone can transfer their contacts onto the v600 without iSync. Drag and drop files, perhaps?

I'm also perplexed by Motorola's response ("due to licensing issues, our pagers, cellular products and accessories do not support Macintosh") when Apple lists many iSync compatible phones from Motorola...
 

PBGPowerbook

macrumors regular
Jan 6, 2004
160
1
IJ Reilly said:
I'm also perplexed by Motorola's response when Apple lists many iSync compatible phones from Motorola...
These handsets don't sync via Bluetooth but by USB cable. I'm guessing that's the critical difference.
 

applefan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 3, 2003
172
1
No. Cal.
I think Motorola is really missing an opportunity by not fully tapping the potential of bluetooth. I really wanted the v600. It's a beautiful phone IMO, but because it won't iSync, I chose the SE Z600.

If Moto won't support iSync soon, maybe someone will create a solution and make it available on version tracker.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.