Anyone using VelociRaptor in Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by calaverasgrande, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. calaverasgrande, Dec 19, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  2. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #2
    The VelociRaptor is too thick to fit in a MBP.
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Indeed, it is. I believe it's 14.5 or 15mm thickness, while the MBP can only hold a 12.5mm at most.
     
  4. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #4
    That and a Momentus XT is only 120 for 500GB + faster load times in most cases.
     
  5. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
  6. calaverasgrande, Dec 20, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
  7. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #7
    Understatement of the year. This is not a laptop drive. This drive will not physically fit into any laptop, but more importantly, this drive will fry itself, and your logic board too if you attempted to put it into a laptop. This drive is not for ANY laptop! It makes a massive amount of heat (2x or 3x any laptop drive) and requires active cooling.
     
  8. calaverasgrande, Dec 20, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    calaverasgrande thread starter macrumors 65816

    calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York.
  9. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #9
    You would have to cut a hole in the bottom and have it rest on the HDD, not something you want to do, especially with a 10k drive.

    It's probably in the laptop section on Newegg just because of the 2.5" size, not because it's actually meant for laptops, which I can assure you that it is not. It would vibrate and make noise and heat like no one's business, something you really don't want in a laptop.
     
  10. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #10
    55c for a hard drive is pretty hot. In itself 55 may not be a problem but that is probably based on desktops with better air circulation and therefore a cooler surrounding air temp. In a laptop, the drive would get hot faster and probably would run hotter given the smaller spaces and fact that there are numerous other items in that small space that also make heat. Also, the parts that surround where the HD is are designed to withstand the temperatures of the stock system or less. They probably would not withstand the heat of the VelociRaptor. If nothing else, the hard drive sits directly under where you rest your hand and 55 degrees Celsius on your hand would probably suck.

    If you aren't considering the hybrid drive (which most people seem to really like and give great reviews), would you consider a full SSD? The limiting factors are price and size, but any SSD would blow the 10k Raptor away. For the price of the drive you are considering, you can get one of the better 120 GB SSD's.
     
  11. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
  12. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #12
    I just saw that the most power efficient VelociRaptor uses around 7 watts of power continuously so even if you could fit it, how would that impact the system as a whole given the standard hard drive is much less? Obviously, it would nuke your battery life but would it actually impact the computer's performance by using up too much of the available power?
     
  13. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #13
    ? Link?
     
  14. DarkVinda macrumors regular

    DarkVinda

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    The velicoraptor is a 3.5mm case - its a 2.5 drive in a 3.5 covertor that keeps it cools and stops rattling - i sure as hell wouldnt put one in my macbook pro

    the whole idea is the fins help cooling etc and i THINK there's shock pads in there aswell...

    dont do it - as removing the drive from the caddy will void the warranty and this aint no cheap drive!

    im looking at an XT as my replacement for my 320gb...

    Vinda
     
  15. calaverasgrande, Dec 21, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  16. vant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #16
    You can forget about that idea. The vibration will annoy you to death before you even have a chance to reach the 55C (which it will) temperature threshold.

    You are better offwitha ssd or a 7200x2 raid setup.
     
  17. calaverasgrande, Dec 22, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  18. vant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
  19. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #19
    Raid 1 mirrors the information, not halve it. It will be just the same because it is writing the same information to two different drives so it would depend on the speed of the drives.
     
  20. calaverasgrande, Dec 23, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  21. DJ Spyker macrumors newbie

    DJ Spyker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #21
    WD Velociraptor 600 GB inside My Macbook Pro

    Check my pics :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  22. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    I have a VelociRaptor that I could never find a use for… maybe I can put it to use finally.

    So I've tried it before and it turned out to be too thick.

    How did you get it to fit?
     
  23. DJ Spyker macrumors newbie

    DJ Spyker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #23
    How i got it 2 fit

    You should put it inside the original optibay.
    But youll have to scrape Away Some of The edges on The left and front Side of the disk and the corner between those sides. And youll have to let it rest on The bottom of The unibody inside The optibay but there is another issue cause this disk will not work only on 5v it needs 5v and 12v so for that youll have 2 fix something aswell Grtz
     
  24. macchiato2009 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #24
    running a mac with a bottom case removed is not a good idea :( :eek:
     
  25. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #25
    theres no way id run my macbook with the bottom case off. screw that its not worth it. ill just pay for a ssd. its better anyway.
     

Share This Page