Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JDDavis

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 16, 2009
OK. Stay with me here. I've been using Ap 3 for a few months now. And on some of my images (usually horizontal shots with people) I seem to notice that Ap 3 is loosing some of the sharpness. I'm not sure I can explain this correctly but check the pics I posted. When a photo (preview of course) first loads it's not sharp at all. This was normal from Ap 2. As it loads it comes in to focus and everything looks great. Then at the last second there is a slight shift and things look slightly less sharp to me. The first pic is from as it loads (sharper) and then the second pic (LessSharp) is the final render of the preview. From what I can tell though the images are fine when I export them so maybe it's just a preview thing. I fear it leads me to over sharpen images though.

Has anyone seen or experienced this? Is there some setting I'm missing or something that is being applied in generating the preview. It's not apparent on every photo and you can only see it on the initial load of a preview. The next time you go back to that photo it will not shift. I notice it the most on photos of people where faces are out towards the softer edges of the lens.

Thanks for taking a look.

Sharper (Loading)
4984491144_462bce6611_b.jpg

LessSharp (Loaded)
4984490858_9423ef7006_b.jpg

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC
maybe it compresses the photo when previewing (while loading the RAW file), and then goes to the real file..? I haven't noticed this before. Are you shooting in RAW or jpeg? What are the preview settings at?

Also, to tell you the truth, i cannot notice a difference..? perhaps due to the fact they are both jpegs due to the internet..?

oh and that is an awesome photo!

MattSepeta

macrumors 65816
Jul 9, 2009
375th St. Y